We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #14 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at KRV-amazing one week-in 2004,2007,2008,2009,2010.Friendly staff and very helpful.Great pools,good restaurants.Great value for money.Lovely clean and well located place to stay.Glad to be back in june and september 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raducocea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

This was our 10th year at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge, safe, tv with sky. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful setting with great food and service from all staff then this is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently situated with either a short walk or trip by taxi to Hersonisos with it's bars , restaurants and shops. We have got to know many of the staff at the hotel and are always given a warm welcolm when we return. I would highly recommend this hotel. We have already booked to go again in June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

we had a pleasant experience during our stay at the aldermar knossos royal. I travelled with my 5 years son who had a wonderful and enjoyful stay especially with the attention the staff gave him. Mrs Afroditi (our Afroditi as he says) is our lovely of the hotel's staff. The hotel was very clean, the food was very tasty and there was the best waterslide.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex2011k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

nicely designed building well mainted gardens every thing else very average staff excluding
the maids looked unapproachable .large contingent of russians during our stay iam sorry to have to say i find them rude and abnoxious.pool was freezing cold and manager decicded to turn off air conditioning halfway through the holiday .brouchure described
beach as sand in fact it is fine shingle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is always truly helpful and we have taken everything you mention under our serious consideration.

Please find below our response to your comments:

• Russian guests are not more than 25-30% of the total guests of our hotel but since most of them are on AI basis they certainly move a lot around the hotel and make their presence obvious.
• In Aldemar hotels & spa we care for well trained and experienced staff which we keep for many years in our hotels. The staff team is enough for the needs of the resort and is used accordingly in every department of the hotel any time of the day.
If you are so convinced that our staff is negligent I would like to refer to all the previous comments of the other guests that you can find yourself in the internet who also share their opinion especially about the staff of the hotel. Moreover, guests’ rates in our questionnaires always exceed the 90% satisfaction for our staff.
One of the main reasons that our repeated guests visit constantly our hotel is due to personnel and the wonderful relationships built between them all these years.
• During October, one part of guests prefers heating while the other part prefers cooling. However, our system is central and we are not able to satisfy both parts at the same time. I am not sure, though, which exactly was your preference.
• Regarding our pools, although you do not mention which one, I would like to inform you that none of the outdoor pools in our hotel is heated.
• Our beach is awarded by the “Blue Flag” as it complies with the criteria of the program: Management of the beach, clean environment, safety, care of the natural environment, quality of bathing water. Sand is all over the beach as well as inside the sea, however in some parts there is shingle which is neither bothering to enjoy swimming nor puts guests’ safety under question.

Finally I would like to thank you once again for your remarks that help us improve ourselves and our services. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

we had a lovely experience during our stay at the aldermar knossos royal, we travelled with our 1 year son (michalis) who had a wonderful and entertaing stay especially with the attention the staff gave him. the hotel was very clean, the food was very tasty and there was a vast selection to choose from (our stay was an all inclusive). The staff were extremly friendly and always tentative to our needs. The grounds were beautiful with plenty to do,see and explore, especially if you travel with children. The animation team were fantastic entertaining us throughout the day. would definately recomend this hotel and would definately go back. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and we asked for a possible upgrade, without expecting one, to our surprise we were upgraded to a sea view private villa with a communal swimming pool which was like a luxury mini apartment. thank you so much aldermar we shall hopefully visit you again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginageorgiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed here mid October for a week half board on a tennis holiday. I did not feel that the hotel or service were worthy of 5 stars.
I had stayed in the Royal Mare earlier in the season & thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, finding nothing to fault (apart from bar prices.)
We were moved to this hotel at very short notice on my second stay and it was very disappointing.
I felt that most of the staff were indifferent in their attitude. We were rushed away from dinner table (when as a group we'd prefer to stay and chat) - the food was ok but atmosphere very lacking in the self service restaurant (harsh lighting.)
The room did not compare at all to the Royal Mare - the balcony was tiny, no bathrobe or beach towels/bag in room - shower gel wasn't replaced when had run out (& quality of products was inferior to RM) - the a/c didn't work - the mattress was like sleeping on concrete. No wi-Fi in rooms.
It is very hard to believe this hotel has the same grading as the Royal Mare, the service I experienced just didn't compare.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail14UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is always truly helpful and we have taken everything you mention under our serious consideration.

Please find below our response to your comments:

• First of all, I would like to inform you that Knossos Royal and Royal Mare are two different hotels although they belong to Aldemar Hotels & Spa, each hotel has its own character which is described analytically in our website and in any Tour Operator’s brochure. Indeed, both of them are 5* category, however, the services and operation are different.
• In Aldemar hotels & Spa we care for well trained and experienced staff which we keep for many years in our hotels. The staff team is enough for the needs of the resort and is used accordingly in every department of the hotel any time of the day.
If you are so convinced that our staff is negligent I would like to refer to all the previous comments of the other guests that you can find yourself in the internet who also share their opinion especially about the staff of the hotel. Moreover, guests’ rates in our questionnaires always exceed the 90% satisfaction for our staff.
One of the main reasons that our repeated guests visit constantly our hotel is due to personnel and the wonderful relationships built between them all these years.
• Our Restaurants and Bars operate specific hours as described in our brochures. Though, our hotel provides many choices of bars and wonderful surroundings you could visit after your dinner in order to chat and enjoy the evening with your partners.
• At Knossos Royal, there are several types of rooms as well as different types of balconies. The same holds in Royal Mare. In case you preferred a bigger balcony, you could contact us and we would gladly allocate you in a different room.
• Bathrod and beach towels are only included at VIP Service (Sea Front Sharing Pools Bungalows). Obviously, you did not have this type of room.
• As mentioned in our brochure, there is no WIFI in rooms. However, WIFI is at the lobby, at the veranta of Main Bar, at the main pool and at the conference center.
• During October, one part of guests prefers heating while the other part prefers cooling. However, our system is central and we are not able to satisfy both parts at the same time.

Finally I would like to thank you once again for your remarks that help us improve ourselves and our services. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

What a great place totally let down by the service. Lovely location right by the beach, with nice gardens and facilities. My room was really clean and had a sea view.

However, I did not feel as if the staff were trying to make the guests feel welcome. They were generally inhospitable and everything seemed to be a trouble for them. The service in the restaurant in the evenings was almost non-existant. There was also very little information in the rooms to let you know what services were available, for example where you could get beach towels, what was available from room service, the treatments available at the spa or something as simple as laundry charges.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaxChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krv_9, Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us in tripadvisor. Be sure that everything you have mentioned is appreciated and taken under serious consideration.

If, for some reason, we failed to reach your expectations, we apologize, but it would be unthinkable for us to minimize your satisfaction in purpose. We were mostly surprised to read your comments on our staff which remains loyal to our hotel for many years and is famous among the guests for it’s efficiency and politeness. Please do take some time to read other posts as well in various social sites and you will see that our staff receives the most flattering comments by the majority of the guests.

The schedule of the various departments and services is placed in the different info boards in all common areas and the reception staff informs the guests about everything upon arrival, at the same time the guests also receive the check in folder where all necessary information can be found. All the information you have mentioned in your comments can be found in leaflets in the rooms we are surprised that you haven't noticed them. Furthermore extra announcements about unexpected changes or news are placed in the rooms so that the guests are informed accordingly it's surprising that you haven't seen anything from the above. In any case you could have always asked at the reception or the Guest Relations for anything you wished.

Closing we would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your holidays. We will be happy to welcome you once again and offer you an authentic hospitality experience.

Kind regards,
Alexandros Somaras
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £95 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing