We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just returned from our 13th visit to this hotel and it gets better every year. If you want a relaxing break in wonderful garden surroundings with good food and excellent staff then this is the place for you and you get the sunshine thrown in as well! We have got to know a lot of the staff over the years and we always received excellent service from them. A special mention for Georgos Michalakis (restaurant maître), Bella in the breakfast room and Michael Gasparis (Hotel Manger) for looking after us so well. There are swimming pools, private beach, water sports, entertainment, children club, mini golf, shops, restaurants and much more all in the one complex.

Room Tip: All accommodation is in two storey blocks (unless you book one of the villas). If you choose a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    537
    174
    69
    25
See reviews for
809
729
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have just got back after a 2 week holiday at Knossos Royal and would go back tomorrow. The room (308) was in a good location and was always cleaned to a high standard. We requested extra pillows which arrived shortly afterwoods. We also asked for a bed as opposed to the camp bed provided for our 22 year old daughter and it was delivered within the hour. The food was excellent with a great choice {too much acyually} and the fish was always amazing at lunch and dinner.The desserts and fruit choices always varied. The staff were super friendly throughout and could not do enough. They were so courteous! My very best thanks go to the animation team who were all brilliant. They chatted tom guests all the time and did not try to push us into activities. Thanks especially to Chiara for aqua gym,ga and aqua fusion, Maria,Marina and Agatha for soft gym etc. Also to Mara, Alex and particularly Eddie for all the laughs. The shows were amazing. Will be back again! The only negative is that the shower was a hand held attachment 6 inches above the bath wich was very hard to use and even though we complained nothing was done although other guests had a hook on the wall to hold the attachment. If you do the Spinalonga trip which is very good be prepared to be on a very small crowded beach with no shade for 1.30 hours, best to return to the boat.

Room Tip: Room 308 has a garden view and sunshine until at least 7.30 pm. Not far to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was a last minute get away before our first child arrives later in the year.

We arrived just before midnight and got rushed to the snack bar by the reception staff to get something to eat, but there was no food left and the snack bar was supposed to be open for another 20 minutes! It wasn't the best start.

We booked a VIP sea front bungalow but ended up in the 'villas' section. The room was a good size and we had a small shared pool right by our patio doors which was great but not sea front. The setting of the hotel is very nice. We got the VIP goodies but its a push to call them that, paper slippers, a couple of flowers in a vase, a bottle of wine that 'vanished' the next day, a mini bar with 4 cans of soft drink that never got replaced and a bag of crisps.
The air con in the room never worked, we kept reporting this to reception and engineers kept visiting but they never managed to get it working.

The major downside to this hotel was the food, it was not 5 star, we had better food at a 3 star hotel in Cuba. The choice was very repetitive and at times we struggled to find anything we wanted to eat. You do get to eat 3 times at the other restaurants on site but the 2 night time choices have set menus and the day time beach option is the same food as the main snack bar. When we spoke to a member of staff about the food choice we were told "if you don't like it, don't eat it!"

We've stayed at plenty of different hotels around the world, ranging from 1 star self catering up to 5 star all inclusive. Last year we stayed in a stunning 4 star hotel in Skiathos, Greece, when we compare this hotel, to the hotel we stayed in last year, there is not a chance this can have a higher rating.
If it wasn't advertised as 5 star and I hadn't paid 5 star prices I wouldn't be as bothered. When you say your 5 star you expect top quality not middle of the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank twelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guest,
First af all we would like to thank you for taking time to post your comment regarding your accomodation in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your accomodation in our Villas since we do realise the importance and your need for comfort and relaxation, specially in the specific period of your life.
During your stay, you were provided with all the described VIP service as you very well mention, which consists of water (daily refill) and wine, upon arrival, mini bar (the first use is free of charge), flowers and many other services. However, are terribly sorry about the air condition misfortune, even though our personnel went beyond their way to replace the disfunction. Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience.
Regarding the food options, it is a pity that our restaurant choices didn’ t meet all your expectations.
Our target is, with the diversity in our buffets in the main restaurant, offering three different theme nights, Greek, Asian and Italian and the choises of our different restaurants, from Snack to Beach Restaurant and from Taverna Artemis to Fontana Amorosa (with live music), to satisfy our guests culinary preferences.
Nevertheless, as we are always looking at ways of improving, your comments are taken under consideration.
We are longing for your next visit in one of Aldemar’s hotel facilities, a company with values and philosophy in great hospitality services.
Yours sincerely,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This so called 5 star is at best a 3 star. If you however like blaring music, chaotic meal times, lack of tables for the numbers of guests and facilities not sufficient for the numbers of guests, then you may disagree.
The hotel due to the lack of sunbeds for the numbers of guests it required everyone placing towels at the crack of dawn.
The food was basic and edible but very much the same every day.
Having stayed in 5 star hotels the world over, the rating of this hotel should not be advertised at this level, 3 star at best.
We paid 5 star prices for a 3 star and it was very disappointing, will not be going back.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shewh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guest,
In our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5* there is always sufficient and qualified personnel that goes beyond their way to provide our guests with the best service. Our professionals, are available for personalised service according to each guests needs, fact that is the key to our success towards the satisfaction of our guests on an international level.
Also, the green gardens in combination with the water element in the hotel premises -counting two (2) main pools, two (2) pools for children, two (2) private for guests on the VIP Sea Front rooms and seven (7) private for the Villas zone- create a relaxing atmosphere.
The beach of our hotel has been repeatedly awarded during the last years with the “Blue Flag” as it complies with the criteria of the program: Management of the beach, clean environment, safety, care of the natural environment.
There are not many hotels that provide such variety and number of pools, so it is with our great surpise that you mention that our guests could not find any available space.
The service that we provide and the well being of our guests is the major concern of our management and we would like to make clear that all the information advertised in our website is absolutely true and followed by rule.
Our hotel has an international clientele, with board ranging from BB, to HB and FB, as well as AI supplement.
Regarding the food options, it is really unpleasant to hear, that our restaurant choices didn’ t meet all your expectations.
Our target is, with the diversity in our buffets in the main restaurant offering three different theme nights, Greek, Asian and Italian and the choises of our different restaurants, from Snack to Beach Restaurant and from Taverna Artemis to Fontana Amorosa (with live music), to satisfy our guests culinary preferences.
Best Regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I spent a week here 1/2 board though the place is really set up to cater for all inclusive. We enjoyed our time there.
The good:
The place is in a beautiful setting, kept v clean and the weather was brilliant.
The buffet food was generally excellent (beach bar food was yummy and loads of it) with plenty of choice.
The entertainment, bar and buffet staff we got to know were friendly, v hardworking and helpful.
The room was good, we were on the upper floor of a sea view bungalow (I thought a bungalow only had 1 floor!) and was nice with comfy beds, a small balcony (enough room for a table and 2 chairs). It had plenty of wardrobes and cupboards and a good bathroom (see below).
The not so good:
The morning and afternoon entertainment in the upper pool could be annoying as it was v loud and can be heard in the lower pool.
Nothing much close by.
Areas of uncut grass (being cut the day we left) which appeared to have been uncut for a few weeks (not areas accessible to the public but unsightly).
No white wine for half board customers in the bar (they had it in the restaurant).
A bottle of white wine in the speciality restaurant which was and then wasn't available ( got the impression there was little choice available).
A couple of things we complained about:
Water was leaking from under the bath when we showered which didn't get fixed.
The external corridor light which didn't get fixed - we were at the end of a corridor so not so good for getting the keycard in at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Got here at midnight on Friday, hungry etc and was just told "everything is finished", then taken in a golf cart & dumped at our room......welcome to your 5 star resort.!
We booked a vip seafront bungalow. The room is ok, the private pool is lovely and the view is beautiful. At the moment we just will write about the service and will write a full report when we get home.
On the hotels website and in the brochure , the package was supposed to include a bouquet of flowers/none....slippers/none...fresh fruit replenished daily/none.....vip bath set/none.... A gift on arrival none...
We went to reception on the Saturday and explained what we had booked, to our horror they were very confrontational and said we were confused with what you get in their villas???
Another problem is the shower is fitted to the wall at tap level. When we complained at this the staff just shrugged their shoulders and said the shower was ok.
Met our Jet2 rep Nikki,who spoke to the manager who she says apologized and that all the vip entitlements used to be available (when we booked ).he is also sending a technician to see if he can fix the shower.
For a so called 5 star hotel, in a vip room, we shouldn't have these problems.
Will finish this report when we get home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimmyJohnstone007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

As usual, we had a great holiday in our second home…We are a big family …
And then, for the following reasons, we strongly recommand this hotel :
 Well situated with a wonderful view on the bay of Hersonissos
 Friendliness of all members of the staff
 Very nice rooms
 Excellent food and varied
 Wherever you are, you feel safe
In one word, it’s paradise.
Once again, thanks a million to all of you for so amazing holiday.
The only bad side is when time comes to say good bye…
In September, we'll be back :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#24 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
7.8 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Property: Aldemar Knossos Royal
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing