We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiy vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a last minute trip for 14 people (3 families) , decided on this great hotel for our annual family vacation. We stayed at the Royal Villas area, the rooms were very nice, large, wide and clean.
The service was absolutely great in all areas receptions, dining room, cleaning staff, pool staff etc, everyone were very responsive to any issue that came up, like a request to keep the room for late departure on the last day!!!.
The variety of swimming pools is amazing in addition to a great beach area, one of the most nicest things in that hotel is that it was fully booked but you don’t feel it.
I would definitely return to that hotel but next time I’ll chose the all included option instead of HB.
On the down side WiFi speed &coverage and the variety of TV channels could be better.

Room Tip: Ask for the Royal Villa Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

After 20 years of holidaying with our children my wife and I decided it was time to venture on our own once more. It was 26 years since we were last in Crete and we decided to return to recapture the old magic. We searched online for a 4/5 star all inclusive resort and we're immediately drawn to the Knossos Royal at Hersonissos.
Having booked for seven nights we arrived at the resort. I must say that Crete Heraklion airport hadn't changed at all and is still a very painful experience at busy periods however the long wait for luggage and passport control was worthwhile once we arrived at our hotel. Check in was ok helped by a vast open area however one slight criticism of the reception staff was in their efforts to check in 3 or 4 different families together. Choose the next person in order and finish with them before moving on to the next.
I am however being critical and if that's the worst I can say then it's not a bad hotel to be at. The remainder of our experiences were wonderful. The location is superb set on the beach and consists of accommodation which resemble individual apartments as opposed to hotel rooms. These 'rooms' contained everything that we needed and the little touch of kindness in the complimentary bottle of wine and water was pleasant. What struck me however was the cleanliness not only in our room but throughout the complex. The ever present and extremely hardworking cleaners are the backbone to this hotel, and throughout their brushing sweeping and polishing they always had time to look up, smile and to greet us with their usual 'kalimera', nice.
An area that I was conscious and weary about was the food. Whenever we have been on all inclusive packages previously, we have found the food to be tasty but laborious, with the same dish being served day after day. I had no reason to be concerned, the varying choice of swordfish, tuna steak, shark, prawns, beef, pork, chicken, quail, rabbit, duck,, veal and an amazing selection of vegetables, fruit, salad and sweets made the dining experience a pleasure. It was by far the best food in quality and choice we had experienced.
All of the staff around the complex were polite and eager to help, they were on their toes and closely monitored by strategically positioned managers who without any fuss were able to issue commands with a mere glance and a nod of the head, it was very efficient. The grounds were also stunning and immaculately maintained, palm trees and manicured gardens made the stroll down to the beach a pleasure. It's not often I return to a hotel but this will be an exception, we loved it, the pools were large and clean the accommodation was superb as was the food. The holiday was capped by friendly and highly efficient staff. We will return soon.
I end with one note of caution for the less mobile of people, I'm not sure what is advertised in respect to wheelchair access but in honesty it isn't suitable at all for those in a wheelchair or for people who have difficulty with stairs. Other than that..superb.

Room Tip: Rooms were well positioned. Many have sea views however those with garden views were also delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a last minute trip and after having two previous trips to Crete at different destinations, decided on this for the all inclusive convenience and 4 star rating. We upgraded to the VIP rooms with the private shared pool which was a very good move because the main pool got really packed from what we could see. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly, the restaurant food was lovely, of high quality and with plenty of variety and choice. Other chefs and waiters were all lovely, in particular Odyse who was always lovely, smiling and helpful. A real star in our opinion. Yekaterina in the main bar was absolutely lovely and always remembered what we liked to drink without us having to order. The pool bar was very conveniently situated for us and Rula who was in charge there was delightful as were her colleagues. On the minor gripes side, despite an upgrade to VIP rooms, the actual room wasn't the most luxurious or spacious we've ever had. The bathroom was adequate but not special. The balcony was absolutely tiny, just enough room for a small table and two chairs and that was about it! The rooms were very quiet and relaxing and the towel and mini bar service was perfect - except for the fact that it wasn't made clear how we changed the VIP beach towels and therefore we had the same towels for 4 days before we made enquiries. Some of the other guests were rude to waiters and didn't understand the concept of queuing for food on the restaurant but these appeared to be the Russians or other similar countries rather than British (we were in a minority). Animations team seemed lovely although we didn't really experience anything apart from the beach party which was fantastic! Absolutely loved this holiday on balance and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

i would like to thanks all the management and staff of aldemar knossos for the extremely professional and carefull attention they had on me as on all the other guests! being in knossos for only 10 days regenerated my soul and fullfilled me of positive energy!!! thank you very much for the great service and the love you TRANSMIT!!! thanks to the maintenance, housekeeping, restaurants, fantastic barteneders and great animators...ALDEMAAAAAAR

Thank rosigno e
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel, thank you to all the staff who looked after us, Maria and Georgiou were amazing, the VIP Rooms were lovely with the private pool the rooms were always cleaned to a high standard, the food was excellent. It was worth paying the extra for the VIP for a quieter location in terms of music and activities of which we would have done many years ago when our children were smaller. We were made welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left we will return in the not to distant future. The only down side was people coming off the beach who were not part of the package using the facilities and leaving the mess for others to clear up and also the constant smoking and spitting of the Russian Contingency who were part of the package. It was they only downside in the restaurants also on the outside trying to eat your meal with a lung full of someone else's secondhand smoke,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July and had an amazing holiday. The hotel is immaculate and the food was absolutely delicious, with an amazing choice. We stayed all inclusive and felt we had excellent value for money. Our room was spacious with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space and 2 balconies with views of the sea. The maid service each morning meant clean sheets and towels every day. Our 2 children aged 9 and 11 had so much fun in the pools,and our 11 year old passed his Padi scuba diving with Evangelas down at the beach! We also took out a Katermaran and visited the local waterpark. The staff were all helpful and the entertainment team were excellent. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody and are probably going to book for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jaynusmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have just returned from a week at this hotel which is excellent. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and found several nice restaurants to eat at night although we used the main restaurant on our first night. The charge for this was 30 euros each which was a bit expensive although there was a large choice of food. Breakfasts were very good with again a large choice but I was amazed how many of the guests wasted so much food by being greedy. The downside to the holiday was the return flight. We were picked up at the hotel at 18.20 and our flight was delayed so did not depart until 23.25. Heraklion airport is so busy and chaotic. Too many flights for the staff to deal with efficiently. All in all a good holiday and I would recommend the Aldemar Knossos Hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank E1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#35 of 174 in Hersonissos
1,016 reviews
48.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 177 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £92 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing