We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday, Excellent Food, Lovely People.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #14 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed end of June 2014 at this hotel. Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful food at all restaurants, lovely gardens and beach. All the staff make a huge effort and are very welcoming especially George in the main restaurant. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning next year without a doubt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Not usually someone who complains but after reading as many positive reviews I was expecting a lot more. Arrived to a dirty pool. It then got closed for 3 days. It opened but wasn't its original colour. After filling it with chemicals and refusing to drain it (which was clearly needed) it then closed again for another few days and was still closed as we left. This time they emptied it, confirming to everyone it hadn't been clean for the days it reopened but they still allowed people to swim in it. The pool was closed for more of our stay than it was open. No apologies from management. Reception staff were quite rude and not very friendly in comparison to the other staff in the hotel. Rooms are basic. Air con incredibly poor. Animation team are excellent. Theos in restaurant is very friendly and efficient. Paola in the main bar was also extremely good, always smiling. The location of the hotel is beautiful. Food is average - you wouldn't starve but quite repetitive. Unfortunately the pool situation ruined the holiday for us. The smaller pool quickly became pandemonium with people racing to get beds and throwing people's belongings from the beds. Sitting at this pool wouldn't have been the relaxing environment we had paid to be in. The fact that management didn't care that guests were let down and had wasted so much money was disgraceful. I wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank 103Anonymous103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests’ opinion, be it positive or constructively critical, is always valuable to us.
We strongly believe in the value of personal contact with each of our guests. Our Customer Relations department and of course myself are always available.
We would kindly like to inform you that all our efforts were spend in order to resolve this matter the soonest possible.
In the meanwhile we had alternatives using the rest of our pools which were all available during this period.

We are feeling sorry that your vacation was not as expected but we do hope in the future to have a chance to host you and to convey from your holidays only positive emotions.

Best regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week in August, very good facilities available, all of the staff are very nice and friendly, there is also a good mix of different nationalities all of whom can speak very good English. The day activities are especially enjoyable with a wide range on offer with a different schedule each day. The reps who run these activities are all excellent people who speak many languages and are not shy of confidence. They are all very funny and enthusiastic about their work. I very much enjoyed taking part in volley ball and water polo with Elena, Davide, Luca, martin and GIANmarco who were just a few of the excellent animation team who work their. The pool is a good size for the water sports and the volley ball court is good quality. The food was brilliant and the rooms were very nice. The beach is also very good and is right at the back of the hotel so it is located well. All in all it was an excellent holiday and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a holiday in Crete.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan_Newbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a fabulous week here in July 2014. Everything was perfect. The staff are so welcoming and want to ensure you have the best holiday. Theo served us in the restaurant every evening and made it a very memorable occasion for our evening dinner. We will definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoanBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed 2 weeks from August 3rd 2014 with my daughter and two teenage Granddaughters. We enjoyed most of the holiday but some faults. The main pool was closed for 3 days, peak holiday time, hundreds expected to share a small pool, no explanation as to why, horrid green colour. We had to get to sun beds by 7.45 as management allowed towels to be left & in some cases overnight. Allowed beach shorts and vests tops to be worn by men at the evening meal despite notices saying "not allowed". Animation team pleasant & hardworking but for most of the day music was played very loud by the main pool, team kept coming to our sun beds all day to ask us to join in, they didn't get that we were on holiday to relax & would join in if we so desired - quite annoying and sometimes we just wanted to relax without any music or shouting. Food was very good at all meal times, something for everyone, plenty of it and very hygienic. Beach Taverna bar staff were excellent and lovely people. Not very good that all the bars close at 5.30 for hour or so which is when you would like to relax with a drink before getting ready for the evening. Hotel & grounds were very, very clean and well kept. We found all the hotel staff very polite & helpful except the pool bar girls who were surly and acted as though they didn't really want to be there. We had two garden bungalows which were very nice, large terraces, beds comfy, bathroom nice but for on an all inclusive holiday for a 5* we would expect bottles of water, beer, soft drinks in the fridge for free and small bottles of short drinks to pay for if we fancied, also coffee & tea making facilities in the room as you don't always want to walk to bars etc. This hotel had so many good things going for it and it would not take too much effort to make it excellent but having stayed at many 5* hotels all over the world this is in my opinion not 5* but a 4* plus.

Room Tip: If you can afford a VIP room with a sea view or a villa that would be best as the pools, restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank diane69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am currently staying at the Aldemar Knossos Royal and I must say that I have never seen such dirty pools.
The main pool was closed for 48H when we arrived at the hotel for a "temporary problem" : actually the pool was green and crazy dirty. This is purely unacceptable for any kind of hotel, even a 2* or a 3*, imagine for a so called 5* hotel.

They do not clean pools every day that is for sure.

They re-opened the Main Pool yesterday it is a little bit cleaner but after spending some time in, my boardshort was green. Still not clean water.
I will extend my review when I finish my vacation there, but so far it is very disapointing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Matluq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests’ opinion, be it positive or constructively critical, is always valuable to us.
The Customer Relations department have tried to contact you because we strongly believe in the value of personal contact with each of our guests.
We would kindly like to inform you that all our efforts were spend in order to resolve this matter the soonest possible.
In the meanwhile we had alternatives using the rest of our pools which were all available during this period.

We are feeling sorry that your vacation was not as expected but we do hope in the future to have a chance to host you and to convey from your holidays only positive emotions.

Best regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Kids club is baking hot. Needs some sail or other type of shade. Was put in a room with shared pool which was excellent. Would not want to fight for a bed at the main pool. My son did not like the water slide which was really disappointing because the water was so salty he could not bear it! Food is average and very repetitive. Lovely staff in the bars. Entertianment guys are too up themselves! Location is not great because you need taxis everywhere. Old herssonnossis is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldemar Cretan Village
Aldemar Cretan Village
#18 of 172 in Hersonissos
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £86 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing