We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday with our 5 year old.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #14 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

we are back a week after our 10 day holiday in Crete looking at the Aldemar website wanting to book a return holiday later this year. We will try another hotel but our stay here at the Knossos Royal was wonderful. i want to run through each area starting with reception. The staff are really professional, service quick and efficient, nothing too much trouble. The food in the restaurant wonderful and really fresh. The hotel was quiet during our stay with lesiure visitors but the hotel caters for conferences and there were a couple arriving throughout our stay which made things busier in the restauarant but it would have been too quiet without the extra guests. The waitresses were good, sometimes a little slow but this depended on where you sat. you are offered bottled wine at the table as part of AI which to be fair was local but quite nice. Kids could have cartons of orange and the food was really nice for the kids, if they eat only pasta which a lot tend to opt for when on holiday this is great as theres a choice of 3 or 4 different sauces and variations of pasta. The kids love the fresh pancakes also made every mealtime. The hotel main bar service is pretty bad (especially if you have your AI wristband on as paying customers tend to jump the queue, even though AI have already paid up front). One thing that did stand out one night was we had ordered cocktails on our AI wristbands and they didnt look anything like the cocktails being served to another couple parting with 16 euros at the bar which was disappointing to see. entertainment was good and was delivered nightly by the animation team. the animation team work really hard and are very professional. The team always smile and love the kids. Edgar is the leading team member and is really great and Andrea is also really good. The rooms are really nice and have everything needed. Housekeeping is the best we've had in a long time. The kids club wasnt good at all. The facilities are all there its the staff that need training that causes the problem. The booking in and out system isnt rigourous enough. Theres a table of activity daily that doesnt seem to be followed all the time and if collage and colouring is your kids thing then thats fine. We felt we couldnt leave our 5 year old for more than a couple of hours. the staff speak all launguages and are good with the children but theres no real structure as the staff double up as reps for the animation team and share the childcare day responsbilities on a rota it seems. The hotel is about a half hour walk along a costal path into the town. the town is expensive to eat and drink, reflecting hotel bar prices. if you were to go away as a family i cant imagine how anything other than an AI option is the way to go with drinks reaching 5 and 6 euros and lunch in the town starting from around 9 euros pp. The hotels facilites are good but the beach is shingle and quite small. The pools are saltwater and the pool bar service is excellent - all the bars are good around the complex apart from the main bar which is terrible. The spa isnt located in the hotel Knossos Royal but you can arrange a minibus to take you to next door where its located - this surprised me as i believed i had booked into a hotel with spa facilities. We were told our 5 year old wouldnt be allowed to the spa with us to swim in the pool, no children which wasnt the case at the last spa resort we stayed. We didnt think the hotel was 5 star it was more like a decent 4 star but i think thats what you tend to get in Greece. We wouldnt hesitate returning again if a good enough offer was advertised and would recommend the hotel. Just one last point the gym and indoor pool is situated in a building which also contains the nightclub. The gym is fantastic with loads of equipment but the indoor pool is awful and really old fashioned.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttercupluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,324)
There are newer reviews for Aldemar Knossos Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend for about 12 days all-in, standard room and we had a wonderful time.

First of all: language was not really a problem during our stay. If you know English, then you're fine. Try some languages and find out what works for you with the hotel staff.

Reception was quick,helpful and polite. We arrived quite late and asked if we could have some snack or anything. We were immediately escorted by a bellboy to our rooms with a hotelcart and then brought to the Ouzeri (small, late evening bar) where we could still eat something (buffet style).

Standard room was comfortable and tidy, altough the furniture a little outdated (80's look). Rooms get cleaned every day. There is a small safety vault for personal stuff, jewelry,... There is also a small bathroom with bath + shower and a toilet. We received a small set of bathroomequipment, a bottle of wine, some ouzo and mineral water. We had a terrace with sideways seaview (so not really seaview, but ok).

Hotel terrain was quite enchanting with lots of gardens and nice places (fountain, fishpool,...) and is kept very well (gardening, cleaning).

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the main restaurant (buffet style). Everything was up to standard and lots of choice, but after 1 week to 10 days everything starts to be repetitive. Also the dishes were not always clean enough (broken dishwasher?) and the looks of the restaurant are again a little outdated (80's style). Luckily you get 2 vouchers for menu (cooked) dinners at the theme restaurants: Taverna (greek style) and the wonderful Fontana Amorosa (international style). The staff in both the main restaurant and the themerestaurants are very helpful, friendly and efficient. Impeccable service!

There are several bars at the hotel grounds, but we prefered the main bar, which is quite modern, has a wonderful view and a great barstaff (we'll miss you, Katerina!). All-in drinks are better served than in most other hotels. We liked the cocktails very much (and from what we saw so did everyone else). In the evening there was mostly something to do (a band or something). Music that played otherwise was soothing and atmospheric (for the guy who called it strange: it's LOUNGE, for gods sake).

All the pools are salt water pools (which was strange since the brochure said differently)
so that is something to get used to. Seats were not realy a problem during our stay, though in high season it gould get ugly. At the main pools there is a waterglide, so that was really excellent for the kids.

The animation staff is great. Their enthousiasm goes a long way. A lot of activities, shows, etc spring from their young, wild minds to please old and young. Thanks again to all of them for a great time and especially to Edgar, the Latvian salsa man (who showed me some nice tricks).

We hired a car at our agency at home, which we freely parked. There is a lot to see on wonderful Crete, so get some information up front too!

One point I do have is the all-in system: it should be explained to the guests upfront AND in detail! The vouchers with information should be kept up to date. example: voucher says tennis = FREE. We go to guest relations to hear where we can get the rackets and then we hear we have to pay 5€ for the equipment and we have to pay for hiring the court/hour. That was not what it said in the voucher.

Anyways, thanks again to all the staff of Aldemar Knossos Royal Village for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lMaNDoSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. There was plenty to do like all of the pools, the beach and the amazing animation team. The all inclusive was bettter than all hotels I have been to with a wider range of drinks. The animation team was very busy with lots of activites, but sometimes there were a few to many activites. All the staff where polite. On the hole a beautiful hotel and i wish to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessmygirrafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Was staying there for a conference and have to say: they try to make it good. However they often fail: nice ocean view from the hotel room, if it wasn't for the ugly bar building just before it; nice plants, but loud gardening all early morning and midday long, also on weekends; nice bar but really expensive drinks and way too loud, strange music. I think there are nicer locations on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything about it was top notch, very friendly, helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms with air conditioning, fantastic facilities for kids,brilliant pools( and the beach on your doorstep). I really don't know what else they could have done, I felt like our every need was catered for.

The food is amazing, no pizza and chips but my fussy 9 year old never went hungry, there were a couple of times when we struggled to find a table but we blamed ourselves for going at the most popular times, the staff did everything to help.

The entertainment group (animation) are absolutely brilliant, there was always something going on for both adults and the kids.

The guests are very cosmopolitan which we liked, all there on family holidays like us.

Facilities in the area are sparse which may disappoint but for the first time ever, we were more than happy to stay in the hotel. The beach is great and Hersonissos is 20 min walk along the beach ( we thought the walk better than the place).

The water park nearby is a fantastic day out.

All in all, I can't praise this hotel enough. People that have had a bad experience must have been very unlucky or very picky!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Travelled to this hotel for my husband's birthday. Emailed the hotel in advance notifying them of this and he was presented with a lovely cake and dining room staff singing Happy Birthday! We received a free upgrade to an upper floor room with a sea view too ~ much appreciated. The hotel is located at the bottom of a long hill but right on a man-made beach. Plenty of umbrellas/palapas and sun beds on the beach and around the pools.
Reception area large, spacious and clean and check in was efficient. The receptionist was friendly and pleasant explaining that our room was not quite ready (we arrived very early afternoon) but she directed us to the bar and approx 15 minutes later came to find us and we were taken, with luggage, to our room in a golf buggy. The room key failed to work but she used her staff key and the buggy driver drove straight back to reception to get new keys and brought them back within 10 minutes. The room was fairly spacious but the balcony with table and two chairs was very small however there was a great view of Dragon Island and the coast area. Complimentary ouzo, water and a bottle of wine provided in the room and there was a small fridge. The fixtures and fittings were modern, well maintained with plenty of hanging and drawer space.
The large grounds were very well maintained with a small crazy golf area, two table tennis tables (under cover) and modern children's playgound. Pools were VERY cold but large and clean.
The hotel is set in a "village" style with lit walkways, tiled pathways and plenty of trees, plants and bushes. Not particularly suitable for those with walking difficulties though as there are quite a lot of steps and slopes.
We booked all-inclusive (and glad we did as the drinks were not cheap) and for our week stay we received two vouchers to eat in the a la carte restaurants as well as being able to eat in either the restaurant or various other food places at almost any time of day. We found the food to be plentiful and freshly cooked (altho not always piping hot) ~ breakfast with cold and hot selections, in the evening the selections of salad, cold meats, cheeses, breads were excellent and the hot dishes always ranged from pork, lamb, fish and chicken (at least three of these every night) to various pastas, sauces, fresh vegetables, different styles of potatoes (no chips thank goodness!) ~ we worked out that we could have stayed two weeks and not repeated a main course. Unlike the previous reviewer we never had a problem finding a clean table out in the "balcony area" of the dining room and found that the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a bottle of wine with every evening meal and it was always brought to the table in an ice bucket ~ nice!
The main bar is situated overlooking the sea and pool with pretty good entertainment most evenings but while we were there it was windy and very cold so we recommend taking a jacket at the beginning and end of the season. The bar staff (especially Lauma) were under a little pressure from the volume of customers but always had a smile.
It's possible to walk into Hersonissos (takes about 30 minutes) but there is very little else in the area within walking distance. If we were going to return to Crete we would stay here again.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a good one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I would not recommend this hotel to any one can l just say that we booked the hotel thinking this was 5 star this is the biggest understatement l have ever read. The dining experience of this hotel was the most unpleasant we have experienced in all of our holidayswe have taken. It was like a big canteen where the staff looked so miserable. In the 10 days we were there on only two occasions were we able to take a seat at a set table.This was at breakfast, dinner and evening meal. We were walking up and down the room just trying to find a table to sit at. The staff did not care. The rooms were no way near a 5 star. The indoor heated swimming pool was not heated and was in the same room as the nightclub ! The food was not bad and the animation staff were very friendly.
I think the managers need to look at ways of improving their guests dining experience after all we work very hard to pay for our holidays and when we book a 5 star hotel we get a better dining experience the restraunt was clean but very dated and no nice displays just unhelpfull staff who did not care.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARWENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,096 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldemar Cretan Village
Aldemar Cretan Village
#17 of 171 in Hersonissos
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £90 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing