We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Villa”
Review of Golden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Villas
Ranked #10 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good villas with friendly staff, located on mountain, perfect see view, 10 min to hersonissos.Two floors, private pool. It's a good idea to ask staff for car renting - price would be cheeper. A lot of mosquitos (common for Crete may be). As hersonisos doesn't have good beaches, the closest one is in Malia (by bus/car quad). Villas has it's own quite cheap bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Golden Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Golden Villa is about 30 minutes drive from the Heraklion airport. Our Aegean flight from Athens was massively delayed. We arrived after 1:00 am. It costs €50 to take the taxi from the airport to Hersonissos where Golden Villa is located. With good luck Budget rent a car happened to be open and Dimitri hooked us up with a great deal. The staff are super friendly, polite and very entertaining. I opted for a mountain view and it was fantastic. Next time we come, I'll definitely book an ocean view.
I highly recommend this place to families with teens. My teens enjoyed their stroll in town as it's very lively and people are friendly and helpful at giving directions especially when you're a tourist. The manager/owner of Golden Villa is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellepamplona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for a week. At first when we arrived they told us that the hotel is fully booked, so for 1 night we were sent to other all inclusive hotel and later we were upgraded to a villa with shared pool (we had booked a sea view apartment). We liked everything about our villa. the view is breathtaking, and the peacefulness is so romantic. Suggest to rent a car and travel a little around the island. Hersonisos old town up the hill on the right from the villas is wonderful to walk around in at the evening. The staff is great, breakfast is good. One problem: small ants in our villa, so needed to be careful not to leave any food on the table. when sun goes down the pools light up and it is so nice so swim, for abt. 2 hours, later the lights go down and it is not allowed to swim during the night.
We will came back for sure!

Room Tip: Not a very big difference between villas with shared and private pool. With private pool, you still...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngridaKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice place to stay with children, because of quiet and calm atmosphere. Our suggestion - to rent a car, to walk to the beach you need 15 min.The continental breakfast is OK, you can have a dinner 12 Euro per person. Monday and Friday evenings sometimes life Greek music.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Lonely planet may diss the whole north east coast of Crete. Ignore that.
With Golden Villas you get your own private villa with a pool and a great view.
You get privacy,parking at your door,two bathrooms,a working fireplace,a great breakfast,convenient location,a private chapel,a Turkish Steam room and more. All for a reasonable price. Lots of travelers will say that a hotel's staff were friendly. In many cases this sometimes can be a bit fake or for monetary reasons but I believe the manger/owner of Golden Villas is a genuine nice and good person.
The villa was a great place to use as a base to visit Heraklion and pretty much most of central and eastern Crete.
Even in October the weather was great.
" It was Golden"

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at golden villas and the location was lovely. You have
Your very own private pool which is amazing because it is nice and quiet. You do not have to worry about getting down to breakfast or lunch or dinner. I loved it so much and it is so nice and quiet because you have your own nice private pool and sure it may not be big but it is good enough to have a fabulous holiday. We went in 2007

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Excellent villas, bit of a climb to our villa at the top of the road,that is the only negative point i have, the place is stunning, stayed april out of season. we walked to next town every night i think it was called Koutalafairi spelling may not be right! which is stunning. all in all great palce we would return.

Room Tip: All are good shared pool are larger.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,111 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
1.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Villas

Address: Drapanos Hill, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: £10 - £852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Golden Hotel Hersonissos
Golden Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing