We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Golden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Villas
Ranked #9 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2009

What a delightful holiday! I stayed for 7 nights at Golden Villas(Hersonissos) during May 2008 and I had a great time there. The maisonette  with shared pool( for two maisonette),wich I booked,was incredible comfortable and quiet. The place is beautiful,more beautiful than I saw on  "Internet", where I discovered it. Go to Golden Villas and you will be subjugate by its excelent location and charming simplicity! Everything was O. K.-the rooms were clean and all the needed appliances were there(fridge,plates...). By the way... you will need a car-the complex is outside of Hersonissos- and this also gives you, lots of opportunities to visit Crete inland, what is 'a must'.Overall,great place to stay,good price and ideal location!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2008

stayed two weeks at villas very enjoyable 4 star views amazing built on quite a slope but we found it no real task and we are in our fifties but young at heart if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday book now believe me its great some reviews i have read complained about breakfast i wonder what they get at home so much to see and do in crete you will not be disappointed look at the photos what you see is what you get stephanos (renia looklike) what a lovely person will certainly look after you thanks again see you again soon from your irish friends

Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hemanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Had a pleasant stay at the Golden Villas.

Location
You need a car!
Found lovely village koutaloufari 5 mins away by car and ate there most evenings it was really nice.

Villas
clean, basic, very nice. Got everything eg hairdryer, kettle, toaster
maid service - daily around noon time.
bit strange about the sheets though, she put a folded sheet (sometimes yours sometimes clean) everyday on the bed, so you make it yourself. Oh and we didnt get hot water in a morning for 3 days only on the evening. its all solar powered. no back up system.
Tv - one channel occasionally had english film or programme usually 7 - 9pm

Private Pool - Freezing
husband went in once because i dared him, it was too cold for me though, oh and there not exactly private as all pools joined on to each other. but very nice all the same.
Hill - very tiring, try and get on the first level.
Staff - friendly

on the whole we enjoyed the hol, it was a peaceful retreat.
shame it rained for first couple days though.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustsummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Really enjoyed our stay at these apartments, the staff are so friendly and helpful, They could not do enough for you, Nikkos really handy for great tips for places to go and places to eat. Apartment are very spacious and virtually noone uses the pool so very relaxed around the bar and pool area. Restaurant serves great home cooked food. Also close to Koutouloufari which is a great place to eat and is very pretty typical greek town. Would defnitely go back. The hotel is set out of town and is about 15 - 20 mins. walk so a car is recommended. A great place for couples looking for a relaxing greek holiday, not a place for those wantng to be in the middle of a lively all action place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gazbWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We have just returned from Golden Villas, Hersonissos. What a great place. We had an apartment and were a little worried when we read the reviews and most had said get a villa not an apartment. We had no need to be worried they were great. We had two good size rooms one with a kitchenette, complete with oven and hotplates, kettle, coffee maker, fridge and a toaster. The rooms were clean and sheets were changed on a regular basis. Breakfast was OK, with fruits/cake/fresh bread and sliced bread. There was also omelettes, bacon, sausages (hot dog) and beans. The only problem with the cooked breakfast items was that most mornings they were only luke warm and the beans were cold.
We loved the pool and because were in the apartments we had the pool to ourselves most of the time.
The villas and apartments are a good 10 minute walk from the main road but we cut across the wasteground in front of the villas and that took less time.
You could walk into Stalis in about 20/25 minutes but not to be recommended in the day (Its hot!!!!). Or you could catch a bus from outside Nana Beach Hotel and it cost just over 5 euros for 4 people.
The beaches in hersonissos are very rocky, so we found the best beaches are in Stalis.
We had a few good meals in The Tarentella Taverna which was a 20 minute walk towards hersonissos.
The meals in the restaurant at the villas wasn't too bad - a little bit too much salt though. The bottled drinks can be expensive but it is not too bad if they have draught on.
The staff there are all brilliant and very welcoming and the Greek night was really good with great food and was reasonably priced.
Overall we had a fantastic time, we went with friends who stayed in one of the villas as there was only one apartment available when we arrived and they equally had a great time. We would definately go back and a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shortheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

We stayed at the Golden Villas for ten days in September and we would have liked to stay a lot longer. The villas are spacious, clean and well equipped. Each has a patio, a balcony and a small pool with your own sun-loungers - you will need the sun-loungers after climbing the hill to the villa! The complex is outside Hersonissos so you do need a car (useful for getting up the hill), but this gives you lots of freedom and opportunities to visit the surrounding villages, rocky coves etc. The villas are run by Niko and Poppy and from the moment we arrived they couldnt have been more helpful - including arranging an emergency visit to a dentist and a departing gift of a bottle of Ouzo. We learned some Greek from Niko on our nightly visit to the bar as well as gaining lots of information on Crete and where to visit etc. As the villas are built on the side of a rocky hill you get great views from the balcony - this is a great spot for relaxing and exploring Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Golden Villas, and enjoyed it very much. We had a villa with a pool which was shared with another apartment, but as the other apartment was generally unoccupied we had the pool all to ourselves. There are 3 tiers of apartments, we were at the end of the centre tier. The villa had a fabulous view, and gazing over it while floating in the cliff-hanging pool made you feel like a millionaire. The villa itself was very spacious, with a shower/wc on both floors. The previous reviews make much of the climb to the villas, but a 2 minute steep walk is worth it to enjoy the view (and the air conditioning!).

Breakfast was simple but perfectly fine and better than most Med places we’ve been to. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner, it was very quiet when we were there (at the close of the season) but the one dinner we had was delicious and very cheap.

The staff were all very happy and friendly, especially Nikos who was extremely charming, knowledgeable and helpful, and the glamorous Miss Poppy.

We hired a car, which we would advise as the Villas are a good half hour from the fringes of Hersonissos where the nearest restaurants, bank and decent supermarkets are. Also, car hire is very cheap, and exploring the inland areas of Crete is essential (the busy Hersonissos is not representative of the island). That said, there is not enough space here to describe the interesting and challenging Cretan driving experience.

We generally ate in the villages of Old Hersonissos, Koutouloufari and Piskopiano above Hersonissos, which are picturesque and make for a more rewarding dining experience than the main town. Take a taxi up, and walk back if you’re feeling energetic.

All in all, excellent.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank architectboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.6 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Zorbas Village and Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Villas

Address: Drapanos Hill, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: £34 - £746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Golden Hotel Hersonissos
Golden Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing