We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. No wow factor. No reason to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Average. No wow factor. No reason to return.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have very mixed feelings about this holiday. Travelled with husband and three youngs kids.

positives - vibrant, some nice staff (matteaus), large family room, lots to do in village including go karting, para sailing (all at additional costs however). Waterpark with a couple of fun rides but no more.

negatives - stay off the beach side of this hotel if you have young kids. Littered with party goers and all else that you wouldnt want your kids watching.
night time entertainment is limited and boring.
reservation manager is very rude. A quad bike was driven into hotel doors straight into my baby in his pram and all she did was shrug her shoulder and say 'what do u want me to do'....clearly more concerned about damage to hotel property - no interest whatsoever in my baby's welfare.
food was horrid with strong salty taste. Enjoyed one dinner only when Chinese food was on offer.
worst all inclusive experience ever.
kids enjoyed the entertainment laid for them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmyboyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    220
    74
    43
    39
See reviews for
523
89
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned from our 10 nights holiday , my wife and I were very happy with the apartment,
We had a side sea view, the all-inclusive was excellent, there was always a choice of sunbeds around the pool, on the beach and at the waterpark (included in our package) , Wifi internet was free (with no password) everywhere (room, lobby, pool) working very well.
The hotel buildings were nice and the rooms large. (The rooms were cleaned every day and so the towels.)
The food was everyday different and good choice. (the restaurant staff were lovely and friendly)
Thanks to all the stuff of this hotel!!!!!!( the staff what i saw and he always said hello with a smile)
We really enjoyed this 4* hotel together with the good price,
so we really had an excellent stay and we will definitely return to it in the future!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SVARNAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I really enjoyed my holiday, I had a great time and after ten days of staying to Star Beach Village, I am not only looking forward to visit again Crete but also Star Beach Village to stay. We were delighted with the food and the services, the staff were really polite and smiley with us, we had a great time, the Water Park was really great and free to use as "All Inclusive", we also enjoyed our meals due to the fact that the menu has great variety of dishes, clean and comfortable rooms for which make your accommodation even more beautiful. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thodoris1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is our 2nd year at Star Beach Village and it was even better than last year! We always vowed we'd never visit the same place twice but they make it so easy to return as it's hard to find anything better anywhere else once you've been.
The hotel all round is exceptionally clean, modern and tasteful. The gardens are kept beautiful and every hour of every day you will see the gardeners and maintenace guys hard at work keeping it that way. You'll always see a couple of guys around on the golf buggies transferring people to and from their rooms with their luggage.
There were 3 of us (my husband and I with a 5 year old daughter), our room had a stunning sea view with a balcony and like last year, the rooms are modern, airy, immaculate, cleaned every day and clean towels when you want them. The air con is brilliant and this year your safe is free, you just leave a 10E returnable deposit. We had 3 twin beds but when the cleaners realised we had pushed 2 together they then rearranged the room the next day to make it more of a double set up and put on double sheets etc - we were gobsmacked at the attention to that detail.
The All Inclusive is really good, I have read reviews saying the food is bad, it is NOT! The breakfast has something for everyone, and a fab range of everything, it's not just bread, it's around 10-15 different types of bread. The main evening meal can be eaten in the main Minos restaurant or the beautiful by the sea Cretan Star but you need to book the day before for that which is worth it as it's much quieter than the main restaurant and is right by the sea. However, there is more choice of food in the main restaurant as it's larger. There is something for everyone food wise, if all your kids will eat on holiday is chips well thats your problem, my daughter likes to try different foods and particularly enjoyed the fresh pasta they do each evening. You choose the pasta you want cooked and with what sauce and they cook it for you. Huge thanks yet again to Mike the head chef at Minos who will gladly take you to his recommendations each evening and the Cretan Corner where there are some traditional Cretan delights - be warned, my husband stunk of garlic every night after eating from the Cretan Corner ha ha !! A highlight for me has to be the little cakes they do - delicious. The restaurants are very clean and the Minos restaurant even has a little enclosed play area outside where the kids can play while you finish your meal in peace.. the staff work full out to clear your table constantly and even complain if you try to help them by stacking your plates, they were adorable with the children. As part of the All Inclusive at the hotel there is a pool bar and stunning reception bar with views over Star Beach - again, all the staff are amazing, especially the guys at the pool bar, be nice to them and they're very nice to you ;)
As well as drinks at the pool bar you can get pizza, salads, toasties, chips and ice creams up to 6.00pm.
There's a lovely pool at the hotel which isn't too deep and a smaller splash pool with a slide etc for the little ones - the sunbeds are comfy and clean and if your up early enough you'll see the cleaners first thing cleaning the beds and pool area. There was a little bit of an issue with towels being put down very early in the morning which was upsetting when people didn't appear until after lunch to use them but if you can't beat them join them so we did the same 2 mornings, the rest of the time we spent at Star Beach. Star Beach is one of the reasons you will return to Star Beach Village, it's about half a mile of outstanding childrens pools going from ankle deep to just deep enough for my 5 year old to touch the bottom. Each one of the pools has slides, again varying in excitement for children. At the end of the 'Family Area' there's the party area, beach hut bars, music, bungy, foam partys, and the big slides !! This year a new bar was built for All Inclusive guests of the hotel only and sun beds in these areas are now free to hotel users so this saved us money from last year. Yeh ok the lager on the AI is not Mythos but if your desperate for a Mythos then buy one at a bar or buy some from the shop, thats what we did if we fancied a little change from the AI lager. The whole area from family to party has hundreds of sunbeds, you will NEVER struggle to get on and we never struggled on the beach either, again the beach sunbeds and parasols are free to hotel guests, everyone else pays.
Some reviews mention noise - the music along at the party end of Star Beach doesn't start till 4.00pm and finishes at 6.00pm except for the couple (I think it was 2 or 3) nights where they have clubbing nights with DJ's - these nights finish at 12 and didn't bother us one bit, in fact we enjoyed watching all the coming and going of the party goers from our balcony. There's sometimes some music from neighbouring appartments but some friends that were nearer those complained to the Star Beach hotel reception and the music stopped immediately.
The hotel is in a fab location as you have the beach on your doorstep and it's a short walk to the main strip of Hersonnisos where there's shops etc and also the beachfront of Hersonnissos where there's gorgeous beach bars and restaurants. The local bus service is great to get to Stalis and Malia just up the road and we also used the local taxi's and went up to Old Hersonnissos and Piskopiano which are beautiful traditional little Greek villages with very narrow streets and a great atmosphere.
The Animation team were a massive improvement on last year and it isn't too full on. There are Channel, Ed and Sevetta ( I guess I got the girls spelling wrong sorry girls) - there's plenty of activities like football, water polo, billiards, darts, exercises etc and for the little ones a beautiful little club house where you can draw, colour in, make clay, make masks, amongst other activites during the day. At night times there's the m m m m m mini disco at 8.00pm then entertainment or quiz etc from 9.30 - this varies each evening, the Dancers are brilliant, as are the Greek Dancers, all great fun and very family friendly. The Animation team try really hard to mix with the guests up to 11.00pm - the kids at the hotel love them all. I only have 1 little niggle here - one I'd like to see a little bit more money put into the Animation programme, for example a new polo goal instead of them having to use chairs and new paints, crayons, craft accessories etc.
The hotel has a wide range of nationalities we met some lovely people - and some quite rude ones but you always will.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday yet again and will take some beating - thank you to all of you xx

Room Tip: Last year we stayed in Block 6 which are family rooms with a partitioned wall and ground floor has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank guttedtobeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Two main weak points:
(1) Parties at the beach park (next to the hotel) are loud and may go on until midnight. Rooms closer to the beach would not completely block the noise. We found it bearable - but some people may not tolerate it.
(2) The dining room
(a) It does not try to develop any specific taste or style. Certainly not Greek.
(b) Often vegetable products were not very fresh.
(c) Other things, such as the Yoghurt did not feel fresh.
(d) Cooking quality was questionable. Badly made scrambled eggs, over or undercooked
ingredients. I read some of the reviews in TripAdvisor and I have to say to anyone who
recommended this dining room - they should try some real Greek meals to realize how far
behind is this place. It is not about budget at all - they use expensive and high quality
ingredients - they simply ruin them.
(3) The dining room and the pool and beach bars serve only one type of local bear - "ZORBA's"
that is far from being as good as better known Greek bears (e.g. Mythos) or other types. You
can't even see it in the streets. What is it with the bear?
(4) WiFi and line- Internet service is TERRIBLE. Very slow and mostly inaccessible unless you
are at the main hall. Even there - very slow.
(5) The fitness room is rather small (For such a large place) and has only one thread-mill .

Strong points:
(1) The water park and the beach have many facilities, rides, bars, water pools, beach-walk etc.
(2) The exterior of the village is kept at top quality. Everything is new, well taken care of.
(3) The staff is VERY friendly and pleasant. Always smiling. They make you feel it is important for them that you have a good time.
(4) Excellent service (For example - they let you shower, and dine even after you checkout if your
flight leaves later on the same day).
(5) Rooms are convenient and functional. Some rooms have old TV sets and bad TV reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

An excellent hotel for families! Very clean, great quality of food, a fantastic water park included in our package. The all in is very good with 2 very nice restaurants, 3 bars, free internet, free beach towels and free sunbeds & umbrellas! Our kids had a great time at the water slides and the pools. For sure we will suggest it and perhaps we will come back as we are normally going every year to another place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Katrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff was very nice, the only remark we have is that the waitress refused to serve water to the kids at 2245 (the bar closes at 2300).
We were in room 1201, we asked to change due to the noisy environment and because the airco wasn't working.
The family pool was disgusting (close to the “Dionyssos” Pool-Snack Bar)
The kiddie pool is nice but is very noisy due to the constant party racket on the "adults" side of the pool.
The all inclusive doesn't apply in the aqua park except for the “Café Del Mar” Pool-Snack Bar situated at the far end of the park. The “Café Del Mar” Pool-Snack Bar didn't even have a "frappé". We had to pay for it in another bar. Snacks served are only fries, pizzas, ice cream and toasts.
Don't go there if you are looking for a Russian free hotel.
The food in the main building is not Cretan, nor Greek (My wife is Greek). The only Cretan dish we found was in the Cretan Star Taverna. You have to reserve a table at the reception the day before. The Cretan food at the Taverna was excellent.
The Greek night,with the dancers was very nice and impressive. The dances were traditional as my wife can attest.
The town is a trap for tourists. One shop on top of another. The waiters at every restaurant try to dupe you into their "authentic" cuisine. Also, the town is filled with disrespectful and vulgar Russians.
Last but not least, don't go there if you want to spent a relaxing family holiday, go to the Southern part of the island. If you like to party, drink cheap booze and meet Eastern girls then this is heaven on earth.

Le personnel était très bien. La seule remarque négative que nous avons est que la serveuse du bar a refusé de servir de l'eau aux enfants à 2245. (Le bar ferme à 2300).
Nous "dormions" dans la chambre 1201. Nous avons demandé de changer de chambre à cause du bruit infernal et aussi parce que l'airco ne fonctionnait pas.
La piscine familiale située près du “Dionyssos” Pool-Snack Bar était très sale.
Les pataugeoires situées en bord de mer sont très bien mais sont très bruyantes à cause du bruit provoqué par la disco du côté "adultes" de l'aqua park.
Le "tout inclus" n'est pas d'application dans l'aqua park si ce n'est pour le “Café Del Mar” Pool-Snack Bar situé au fond du de celui-ci. Le “Café Del Mar” Pool-Snack Bar n'offrait même pas un "frappé", nous avons dû en boire un dans un des bars payants. Les snacks servis sont uniquement des frites, des pizzas, des croque-monsieurs et de la crème glacée.
N'allez certainement pas au Star Beach si vous chercher un endroit sans Russes.
La nourriture servie au restaurant principale n'est ni Crétoise, ni Grecque. (Ma femme est Grecque). Le seul plat Crétois que nous avons trouvé était servi dans la Cretan Star Taverna.
Pour y accéder, vous devez réserver, la veille, une table à la réception. Le plat Crétois à la Cretan Star Taverna était délicieux.
La soirée Grecque, avec les danseurs Grecs était très bien et impressionnante. Ma femme m'a confirmé que les danses étaient traditionnelles.
La ville est un piège à touristes. Les magasins sont les uns sur les autres. Les serveurs des restaurants sont très agressifs dans leurs manières à vous inviter à goûter à leur cuisine "traditionnelle". Aussi, la ville regorge de Russes irrespectueux et grossiers.
En résumé, n'allez pas à Hersonissos si vous cherchez à passer des vacances relaxes en famille. Allez plutôt dans le sud de l'île. Par contre, si vous aimez faire la fête, boire de l'alcool bon-marché et rencontrer des filles de l'est, alors vous êtes au paradis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gusdestave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,972 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
732 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Beach Village & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village & Water Park

Property: Star Beach Village & Water Park
Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#41 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village & Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star Beach Village & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village & Water Park Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing