We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAR BEACH HALF TERM FAMILY HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“STAR BEACH HALF TERM FAMILY HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This pretty much had all the makings of a perfect family holiday. We travelled with my mother-in-law, and 3 children aged 10, 8 and 4. It was a magical place. So friendly on arrival. There was so much for the children to do on site with pools and mini-parks, and then in the water park opposite, for all ages. Beach is gorgeous, and being guests at the Star Beach village you don't have to pay for loungers. Water was crystal clear.
The animation team, especially the fantastic Giuseppe, were wonderful with the children. My 8 year old, Bea, cried when we left she adored him so much! They also had fun at the kids club. Very relaxed, friendly atmosphere, gorgeous gardens and a nice big family room with separate kids area.
Nice mix of all nationalities, none dominated.
The only reason this is a 4 not a 5 is that this hotel needs to decide what its target market is. Half way through our holiday we were inundated with more than a hundred Dutch teens celebrating the end of high school. They were drunk, all the time, and pretty much all over the place. It seems the waterpark is a big attraction for the teenager and young adult market, not just families, so Hersonissos can be a very lively resort, and the drunk teens did disturb us in the night.
However I gather that we just were unlucky and that at other times of the year it is just families. If it had just been a small number of drunk youngsters then we would hardly have noticed, but the numbers allowed to presumably block book this lovely hotel did spoil it for us a bit. But we would definitely go back again, as it was up there with the best places for a holiday with children we've ever been.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    181
    66
    40
    37
See reviews for
433
84
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family and myself were having a holiday at the Star Beach Hotel.

The hotel is amazing and the staff is very caring. We wanted to mention especially Costa who made sure that each meal we had was an excellent experience and Slovana who saw to it that everything was perfect.

The hotel is situated 10 minutes from the town and there are a lot of activities for the children who enjoyed the pool and water park immensely.

I recommend this hotel with all my heart.

Thank you,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rottem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your feedback
Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at the Star Beach resort with our 2 young children over the May half term break.... We had no idea what to expect but were blown away immediately by the service on our arrival..... It was a midnight arrival and as we had missed our evening meal the restaurant had been made available with some cold food. The apartment was huge, spotless and was right next to the pool and bar. Although the evenings could be noisy from the music and entertainment it was not all detrimental to our stay. The Animation Team were 1st class..... Enthusiastic and so entertaining for the children and adults... Never a dull moment. They truly looked like they were having a blast!!
The food was brilliant, lots of choice and beautifully cooked. across the road was the all inclusive tavern which we were advised to book if we wished to eat there..... a gorgeous restaurant overlooking the sea.... staff were amazing and although we did book it was not necessary, however it might be a lot more busy in summer season!
The waterpark was a luxury to have so close by for the children (9yrs and 13yrs)..... I can honestly say it was the best family holiday we have had and I would 100% recommend it to family and friends and anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with everything catered for.... All inclusive here truly meant ALL INCLUSIVE!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room next to the pool steps...... perfect for young families. A little noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loobylou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived on 23rd May at 11pm – a family of 2 adults and 3 children. We were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner and were offered food even though the restaurants were closed. We were taken to our garden room in a golf cart by Manos (who was also our courteous transfer driver from the airport). After we had booked the hotel, through OnTheBeach.com, we discovered that Star Beach Water Park is the ‘biggest nightspot in Europe’! This is adjoining the Star Beach Village Hotel so we contacted them directly and asked for a quiet room. It was a nice room with two toilets and a separate room with twin beds and then the main room with double and a single bed with plenty of room. We did have a problem with noise at 5.50am one day. It was from the adjacent apartment block, but we called reception and they called the police who put a stop to it and it didn’t happen again.
The only pool within the hotel area itself was where we spent most of our time. It was quiet – without any need to reserve sunbeds – and 1.4m deep. There was a shallow area at one end with water features and ‘showers’ for the little ones. The poolside was spacious and quiet and very relaxing. The pool bar was nice with seating in and out of the sun, and a small playground, with 3 pool tables too (2 euros a time) and a table tennis table. The bar played great music all day, from gentle music in the morning, getting more energetic towards the evening – and you could only really hear it if you were at the bar and not all around the pool. There was a football pitch close to the pool, but tucked away behind the gym so again, keeping the pool area nice and quiet.
The animation team were great. We have never got involved in this kind of thing before, but Mario, Luca and Saskia were fab – friendly, professional, fun, always ready to have a chat if you wanted and not ‘in your face’. If you didn’t want to take part in things they left you well alone. They organised a morning stretch, yoga, darts, water polo, football, ping pong and of course the mini-disco at 8.30 (mainly aimed at toddlers) and then the main event at 9.30 which was different each night and a bit of fun – nothing too heavy, just a bit of fun after dinner. In fact my husband was pitted against the previous reviewer in the Mr Star Beach competition (and lost!).
Every member of staff at the hotel from the Managers (who were always visible, checking up on the staff) down to cleaners and gardeners were very friendly and professional APART FROM the guy in the poolside snack bar who was miserable and rude and his food was rubbish (but that made it really funny because he stood out like a sore thumb!!).
There are 2 restaurants included in the All-Inclusive package – the main one in the hotel, and the Cretan Star (bookable each day for no extra cost) which is on the water park, overlooking the beach – such a lovely setting, and smaller and quieter than the main restaurant. The food in both restaurants was amazing! SOOO much choice every night with at least 4 chefs (again friendly) cooking food to order on different sections – pasta; Asian; meats; pancakes/profiteroles etc.. and a HUGE salad selection and Cretan Corner with local delicacies and bread to die for! We’ve never eaten so well.. The wine was foul, but we don’t drink much so weren’t really bothered.
The Star Beach Water park is included in the AI package and there are 2 bars/snack bars in there for AI customers, but as it is open to the public there are others which are chargeable. This is the noisy bit (which you can’t hear from the main hotel) and there is a foam party in the day (which we joined in with!), but has nice sunbeds, more pools, grassed area and some small shops, and overlooks the beach. Sunbeds and parasols on the beach are also included and the sea is lovely and clear. Further over there are chargeable watersports (50Euros for a 2man jetski).

In all we really liked this hotel and would go back for the right price.. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - the sea view rooms on the 2nd floor face onto the Water Park Nightclub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The12Powells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in a very big family room, 2 adults plus 3 children ages 8, 6 & 4. Spacious enough with a nice terrace in front, so our stress for the balconies was away! It is ideal for families! Good Animation, many pools, water slides, playgrounds etc. The food was excellent. Good Greek cuisine plus Asian and Italian every day. The Staff was very polite and friendly. We will seriously think to return and for sure will suggest it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Πίκος Α
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just arrived back from our stay at Star Beach Village and waterpark and this is the first time I have ever put a holiday review on here so here goes!!

We went to star beach for 12 days on the 23rd of May and my first impressions when pulling up outside the hotel was good. The Lady working on reception was very helpful, she called a little greek man with a buggy and off we went to our room.
Myself, my wife and our two children aged 7 and 5 were travelling. We booked a twin room which done the job, Two single beds and two sofa type beds for the kids. The room was clean and everything worked fine. We kind of had a sea view if you positioned your head in the right place which was nice. We booked the hotels purely on the amount of water based things for the kids to do! If they are occupied it leaves us time to Sunbathe!!
The swimming pool at the hotel was fine, its got a little round pool for the kids about a foot deep with lots of squirty things for the kids and next to it was a bigger deeper pool which was used by both.
We were also allowed the use of the water park which was a 2 minute walk and had 3 more bigger pools with lots of water slides and climbing frames for the kids. The only problem with using these pools was that the only all inclusive bar was a 5 minute walk from these pools and trying to juggle 4 drinks back was a challenge in itself. These pools were better but not very convenient AI wise.
Now for the food, the main restaurant called Minos was the bigger restaurant and had a good selection of food. They tried there best to mix it up and didn't do a bad job. The waffles and Pancakes were goooooood!! The Cretan star was basically the minos restaurant in a better location( by the sea) with exactly the same food but less choice. Now for the poolside snacks!! The chap serving the food should have been a passport control man cos I don't think he enjoyed his job one bit and was proper miserable!! The food was not good and definitely something that needs improving! You could have fries( super salty) Pizza( one kid size slice at a time and just cheese and tomato) or a cheese and ham toasty which my 5 year old could probably make look better!! Also butter and salad was not existent in the sarnie that was made for my wife. You can use the Main restaurant at lunch which makes up for it.
Drinks included were greek beer which I swear was non alcoholic but tasted good, the usual soft drinks, slush puppies for kids, local spirits and basic cocktails. Marcos was the main bar man and seemed a good bloke.
Now before we booked we were not expecting to much from the animation team but we were pleasantly surprised. Giuseppe, Luca and Asia were the team and tried there best to keep everyone entertained. They tried to get people involved in daytime activities like darts, football, water polo and table tennis. In the evening they done a mini disco at half 8 every night apart from Sat and done various music quiz and Mr star beach contests. We also had a quick change magic man and some dancers who probably would have got 3 red buzzers on BGT but were ok!

There were a lot of teenagers but mostly keep apart from families in room locations, none were an issue and they were manly Dutch. Russians were the usual, not polite and no regard for queuing.

All in all, Hotel was just above average, food was good at restaurants but very bad at poolside, Animation team were a good laugh and great with the kids, pools were very good and room was ok. Would I go back?? If I got a good deal yes!!

Hope this helps anyone thinking of going!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from star beach village after 2 weeks there travelling with a 5 year old, a 3 year old and a 1 year old! I can't thank them enough for a fabulous holiday! Free water park, great food, fantastic staff and no hidden costs! We paid £2000 for 5 of us for 2 weeks and we timed it brilliantly, as a lot of young groups were arriving as we left ,however star beach almost separated you from the other aspect of the hotel (the foam parties , dj's etc..) we never experienced any noise, were given a beautiful garden room, ground floor (highly recommended)! The staff were extremely helpful and made a fuss of the children and the animation team were great! A fabulous European resort for families who do t want to always be surrounded by boozed up British and want their kids to have 2 weeks of pure fun!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katieandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
3.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#36 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Beach Village & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village & Water Park

Property: Star Beach Village & Water Park
Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#41 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village & Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Beach Village & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village & Water Park Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing