We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Ranked #26 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice welcome at reception, directed to our rooms. Late arrival due to flight delays missed AI (all inclusive) bar, but a meal was thankfully saved for us. Only AI drinks wine brandy oozo beer; fizzy soft drinks. Cocktails extra €2. Roof top bar, beer only, in AI. Food fantastic and plentyfull. Room clean tidy quiet, some noise from roof top bar. No bottle water. Is close to beach, but payment is expected per sun bed. Shade limited. 2 pools. Would be nice if the smaller less shade top pool was made adults only. Get up early to place towel on sun lounger..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank twynhamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived home yesterday having spent a lovely fortnight at the Arminda Hotel. The staff were all friendly and we were made to feel very welcome- we would particularly like to mention the ladies at reception- we felt as if we'd made some very good friends-nothing was too much trouble. Every evening we spent time in the Roof Bar-we went up on our first day to have a cocktail, made by the wonderful Stavros and to look at the amazing views. Every evening after that we went up to have a selection of cocktails-Stavros was able to make whatever cocktail was asked for and had invented some of his own- a delicious SS(? can't remember the rest) once I'd tasted this I had one every night and have been given the recipe so that I can try to make my own at home. The only negative about the holiday was nothing to do with the staff at the hotel- the Thomson / First Choice reps were a total waste of time Matt and Jess (why 2?) we saw them on day 1 at the welcome meeting but after that if we wanted to see them we had to go to the hotel next door-they made us feel like the poor relations. We would love to return to the hotel but we will NOT be using Thomson

Room Tip: All rooms seem good but it might be quieter away from the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We visited Crete for the first time, a place with lot of sun, nice beaches and full of history. We choose Arminda among a numerous hotels of Chersonisos because it seemed to offer a friendly and relaxing environment, in a central spot of Crete and we found exactly what we were looking for and much more! A perfectly organized hotel, with tasty food and amazing staff. We would like to thank everyone for our stay there and of course recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Arminda for 2 weeks arriving on the 19th June. Cannot fault the place. Excellent cleanliness,plenty of food and drink. The staff on reception were extremely helpful. A short walk down to the beach (beds were €5 each and umbrella the same) there is a little walkway. Busses stop outside the hotel regularly - €1.60 each to go into Herrisonis where a taxi would be €7.00 one way. A short 10 min walk to Stalis where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. If you find stuff to complain about here you must be very difficult to please.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank DEIANOSIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed one week in June. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great choice of food. Quiet hotel and lovely atmosphere.Great base to see this part of crete. I would highly recommend it.A lot of entertainment very near if you want it.Three lovely villages nearby with great range of restaurants.Huge amount of beaches nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank niall6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In short the arminda hotel is a little gem in crete staff are always smiling and saying hello. We booked with first choice and our rep sophie was fab! anything thing you wanted to know no matter how silly the question she had the answer and on the rare occasion she didn't she'd do anything to find out for you!

Rooms!
Our room 732 one door down from the roof bar I didn't bother us as its only if your dead silent you can hear every word and later in the night the bar man plays mellower songs so its nice to drift asleep. The room was lovely and spacious even though when looking round it looked like we had one of the smallest rooms, all seem to be decorated with a beach theme starfish on walls shells from the roof-lovely touch!.
Beds are so comfy and defiantly ensure a good nights sleep!
However the walls are paper thin and if your neighbours begin to make "Noise" at five in the morning your gunna hear it! especially if they move to the balcony!- bring ear plugs just in case or complain to reception.

All Inclusive
Food wise the hotel can not be faulted lovely food.
Breakfasts- always same crepes, pancakes, cereals, toast and jams, bacons, hot dog sausages, chips, eggs( Fried, boiled and poached beans) and porridge.
Lunch and dinner- different every night always a pasta though and some sort of veg but I would suggest trying different things as it may surprise you (chicken in cream sauce winner every time).
Desserts table always had ice cream ( chocolate, vanilla, strawberry and banana) again different every night but some of our favourites are profiteroles, chocolate brownie and the cakes!
Snack bar- always some sort of pizza, burgers, and ham and cheese sandwiches which can be toasted.
drinks- drinks wise it could be better all pop machine included but not branded pop its crete's own version of them-lemonade is beaut! Beer is a local beer on tap tastes like san Miguel. and the wine is lovely however very strong ! no cocktails or international brands included 5 euro minimum a time for them! ouzo raki and brandy are on bar free to use too.

Pools- The hotel has two lovely saltwater pools the lower pool also has a small kids pool next to it and I mean small so many kids in lower pool, plus the animation team are round every half hour trying to get you to do something and theres music playing at this pool too not bad music but can still be annoying if you want a siesta in the sun. the upper pool is much deeper than the lower pool and the upper is an adult only pool however the hotel needs to enforce this rule as too many kids go in to this pool and splash you when they try and dive in again even though it says no diving! The upper pool is right next to the snack bar and the animation staff don't bother people up there.

Location
location wise its basically stalis! about 50mdownthe road there is a sign saying welcome to stalis!
Takes 10mins to walk to stalis where as takes 30 to walk to hersonissos and that's not even looking in the shops! the beach is not even 2 mins away but is only small and the walk to both towns is a rocky coast line until the centre. Buses run from outside hotel but seriously its a lovely walk. some hills on way back from both towns though so elderly or physically challenged people may struggling and I wouldn't want to do that hill with a pram either.

All in all the arminda is a lovely hotel perfectly clean staff are lovely and polite rooms and the view are wonderful I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat

Room Tip: Rooms 723 to about 719 are really close to roof bar so on a night expect to hear music clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Herbsandtings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is good located, close to the beach but also to the main road (great public bus connection) but still very quiet. After a warm welcome we went in a wonderful, spacious room with a terrific view to the sea, which we discover next morning. The restaurant was kept open for us and some other guests who came also late. People there know what hospitality means. In general we had great time!Everybody was friendly, so we felt very welcome. For sure we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.0 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 172 in Hersonissos
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 172 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#41 of 172 in Hersonissos
832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arminda Hotel and SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arminda Hotel and SPA

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £73 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arminda Hotel and SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters from the nearest beach, Arminda Hotel and Spa is an all-inclusive 4-star hotel located in Hersonissos, Crete. The complex features a variety of water elements: 3 large salt-water pools, 2 separate children's pools, a small water park as well as a splash area. The two types of rooms (double and family) are all equipped with A/C units, 32'' Flat-screen satellite TV, safe, kettle set, refrigerator and a balcony or terrace with pool, Cretan Sea or land views. Each private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer and a bathtub or shower. Guests at Arminda can enjoy meals in buffet style, at the main restaurant. A variety of drinks and snacks are served at the pool-side Snack bar or at the Votsalo bar. Sport facilities includes tennis court, mini-golf courses, beach volley court, giant outdoor chess, billiards, table tennis as well as a renovated fitness room. A playground and a kids club is also provided for young guests. Massage, nail, face and body therapies, hamam, sauna and hydro massage tub are available at the SPA center, as well as an indoor Jacuzzi pool. Arminda Hotel and SPA is located 2 km from the center of Hersonissos center and 30 km from Heraklion Port. Nikos Kazantzakis International Airport is at 27 km. Free private parking is available at the premises of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arminda Hotel and SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arminda Hotel Hersonissos
Arminda Hotel And SPA Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing