We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING VALUE FOR MONEY.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acropolis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acropolis Apartments
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING VALUE FOR MONEY.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Acropolis Apartments on a short business trip. The apartments are located just a 5 minute stroll from the seafront, and is perfectly located for shops, markets and restaurants. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. My apartment was to the rear of the building overlooking the pool, and was very peaceful at night. It provides everything you could expect from a budget hotel, hence the 5 stars. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    32
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
58
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My family stayed here and I have to say I am surprised at the bad comment. We found the staff couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
The place was basic but spotlessly clean and we had great value and a great location.
The pool area is small but at least it has one and it’s always in the sun!
We had the pool all to ourselves all week which was amazing for my 3 children
The owners kindly gave us a gift on our departure so I guess people treat you as well as you treat them. :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJoPublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My Wife and I live in Hersonissos and our Son, daughter in law and three children came to stay. Acropolis had a very large room to accommodate them all so we booked it for them to stay for a week. They loved it there, it is basic Greek but, it was spotlessly clean and well maintained. They were overwhelmed by the hospitality of the owners who bent over backwards to fulfil their every needs. Our family are returning next year and will be staying there again. Recommendation enough we think.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonroblewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

its cheap its central its teen holiday worthy however they will try and claim you broke doors that you didn't, stole stuff that you didn't, charge for extra guests that were never there! Now we are fully aware we are no saints however to pay 300 euro for things that were basically just made up is a little excessive. As four girls in our twenties we were quite intimadated when the owner and the security man screamed in to our faces for half an hour in a language we did not understand and refused to give us back our passports three hours before we were meant to fly home! so just be careful kids! oh and if you like swimming pools choose another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carls101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Went to Hersonnisos at start of June for a small post exam break with 3 lads and 2 girls and stayed in the Acropolis Apartments.

THE GOOD
Apartments were clean and tidy and bedrooms had air-con. There was a supermarket right next door that sold a bit of everything. The pool was small but never really anyone around. Acropolis are adjacent to main strip in Hersonissos so if you are lazy like me its perfect. Weather is unreal! Defo recommend going to Star Beach for a day, has a bit of everything there-drinking, go karts, beach partys, foam partys, bungee jumps, footie pitches etc. Price of drinks and food was quality, if you can find a big fat Turkish man selling Doner kebabs in the street id highly recommend getting one, ya dont even have to be drunk to enjoy them. Would recommend Players Irish bar for a really good night and make sure ya get a tshirt!

THE BAD
Very small balconys and very dangerous if staying on the inside part of the complex. The night porter is very sleazy and never takes his eyes off the girls but not in a security way if you know what i mean. Hersonissos itself is a kip, the smell on the main strip just cant be ignored. The lack of a beach close by is a problem if you like beaching it! the locals arent that friendly, one barman threatened to throw a English lad of the balcony for breaking a glass which believe me was a complete accident and if the waitress hadnt of intervened the guy could have been going home in a coffin. The street right outside the Acropolis is very dangerous, the Greek drivers dont really care if they hit you due to different laws than in England/Ireland. Driver has right of way always so just be careful! Although i didnt see it personally i heard a good few stories of peoples[especially girls] drink getting spiked so dont leave your drink down anywhere. Dont mess with the Police, they are vicious!

All in all it was a good week, if ya are looking for cheap, basic apartments close to the nightlife it is perfect. Wouldnt recommend to families at all.18-25 only. If they only sorted out that smell on the strip it would have made alot of difference.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in varied types of accommodation from hostels/campsites to four star hotels and the Acropolis is without a question the worst place I have EVER stayed.
I stayed with 3 of my friends all female and the week could not go fast enough.
The night porter was very very creepy and rude, he would sit at the reception desk and watch as you walked to you room leering I think is more the word.
The was constant harassment about the noise levels from the porter. when they was no noise being made
just conversation in the evening time after the day at the beach.
The pool is tiny and Dirty. The apartment was filthy dirty and the window was broken and never fixed even when I asked several times.
Just don't stay here is all I can tell you because the list of problems really is endless.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPACR, Owner at Acropolis Apartments, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
We want to inform you that from april 2010 the
management and all the staff have changed.
There have been many improvents in the
apartments and the swiming pool area.
We really hope this old review won't
discourage any of you that has read it
to stay in our apartments and see for
yourself how different everything is.
However your reviews really helped
us improve everything so thank you
very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2006

I went to the Acropolis Apartments in July with 3 of my girls and we had a ball. Dont mind what theyre saying. I read that before i went and i was thinking oh my god!but when we got there they were grand.Yes there basic but so is every other holiday apts when your away. About the pool,ye its very small but not many people do be at the pool so youll always get a spot.At least there is a pool,most apts in Hersonnissos dont have pools.

The night porter is lovely. He looks like a creep but hes not at all.Get to know him and then you can do what you want. We had parites every night and we only had hassle one night because some fella kept opening and closing the door .And we stayed on the ground floor in 005 near theReception.He loved us! The only thing is he doesnt like you bringin people back but you can compromise with him. The reception guy during the day is a bit strange but you dont see him.

Everybody always had there music on all day and all night.Its was brilliant!The food in the apartments is lovely and the waiters are real friendly plus your only around the corner from the strip. Had a great time and im going back next year to the same apartments. Great place, love it. And if anyone is going back tell Vessilles(the night porter) the girls from 005 from dublin say hello!

Helpful?
11 Thank Shaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#14 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#22 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#36 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Haris Apartments
Hotel Haris Apartments
#105 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Apartments

Property: Acropolis Apartments
Address: 11 Dimokratias, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#17 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Acropolis Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For many years in a friendly environment we have hosted thousands of visitors. Our pleasant services will be memorable from your holidays in Hersonissos Crete. Acropolis Apartments consists of 30 apartments. With peaceful surroundings you can enjoy the Cretan hospitality. We are located only 150m from the sea and 150m from the town center. In Acropolis Apartments we offer our clients an all inclusive package with meals in our cafe - restaurant which is located right next to the main beach of Hersonissos. In Acropolis complex are also available to use for our clients, an internet café-corner, billiards, PC & TV games, Photo Shop Express and a market shop with souvenirs from Hersonissos and Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Acropolis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing