We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst Holiday Experience ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Island Hotel
Ranked #93 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Worst Holiday Experience ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When we arrived at Blue Island Hotel, 17.00 the 4th of September, we were told our room is "just around the corner". The receptionist walked us to our so called room which looked nothing like shown on the pictures. He said this is a part of Blue Island Hotel. After some research, we found out that this was in fact a lie and the "hotel" he put us in is FLORAL HOTEL, officially rated as a none or one star hotel (comparing to Blue Island Hotel which is rated a three/four star hotel).
We returned to the receptionist and said he must have made a mistake, because we booked Blue Island Hotel, and not Floral. He said he will call the manager, who was currently asleep. After over one hour, the manager arrived and told us that the hotel is fully booked and we have no other option than to stay in Floral. We complained (obviously because this was not what we paid for) and eventually he agreed on letting us stay at the correct hotel the 5th of September and onward.
We, however, have experience working with a travel agency and know that when such a mistake is made (over booking), the client should be compensated with something of equal standard, or better, and not be downgraded without any compensation.
The manager refused to help us, so we first contacted Alstor (your agent in Crete) and asked for guidance. They said there is nothing they can do, because the island has no other hotels available, and she hung up the phone. We searched the internet and found many free rooms in different three star hotels, and when we redialed to Alstor, the woman was screaming to us that we are going to stay in Floral.
Continually, we contacted (at high expenses), LMX-touristik and asked for help. You advised us to contact Alstor, and when we explained the situation you said there is nothing to be done. We asked you to cancel the booking and we wanted to change hotel completely, but you said the money would not be returned (or if, then after several days/weeks).
Now the time was about 22.00 and we had lost one half day of our vacation, struggling to get a decent place to stay at. The manager said that we either settle for Floral, or he will throw us out from the hotel and we will sleep on the street. Tired as we were, we went to sleep in the sunken hotel.

When we returned the next day to Blue Island, the manager had a paper waiting for us to sign. The short text said following: I am upgraded from a standard room to a superior room at Blue Island Hotel, as a composition for a night in Floral Hotel. I am fully satisfied for this compensation.
We asked the manager if we could compare this room to a standard, and he responded by tearing the agreement and our voucher in pieces and to get out from his hotel. Then he shouted a stream of various insults and threats, such as:
- We have only come to his hotel to make problems
- He has passports and our home address and we will have serious legal consequences
- Our booking is illegal (he referred to your company and said you illegally have his hotel as an offer instead of the original price, and this is nothing he ever agreed with)
- He will not allow us even a standard room and we will not get any refund
- If we explain what happened to anyone on the island (or that Floral is in fact not a part of Blue Island Hotel) he will involve the police and we will be send of the island, and get legal problems

We found no way of communicating in a peaceful way with the manager, so we said we just want our room and the discussion with him will be over, and we will contact you after the trip. He gave us a room which did not meet many of the promised criteria when booking. We had no TV, no internet, no hairdryer and the room just in front of the main street which was noisy 24/7 (we had room 108). Further more, the cleaning staff walked in without knocking, even when the "Do not disturb"-sign was on. Having credit cards, money, laptops, mobile phones etc. in the room, we had the "Do not disturb" sign only during breakfast (30 minutes) before we cleaned locked them in the safe. Luckily, nothing got stolen, but our credit card information could easily have been copied, and we worry every day that our bank accounts will be emptied.
Another remark on the hotel is the lack of something to drink to the dinner (not even water was served).

During the rest of our hotel stay we were constantly hiding from the manager, and felt very uncomfortable and afraid to stay in his hotel. He kept giving us very hostile looks and we did not stay in the hotel more than 6 hours every 24 hours.
On our last night, the manager suddenly said we "look very sexy" and "he can not understand how he could have a conflict with such attractive girls". Also, the receptionist (at another point) said one of us "looks very hot" and placed his hand on her waist, and also stroked her cheek. This made us very uncomfortable and we knew they had the key to our room so we did not sleep the whole night. this is our experience at this hotel and

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fashiony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
9
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I actually booked this hotel by mistake, I checked on trip advisor and it brought up some other blue hotel which had really good reviews so imagine my horror when i booked the holiday and realised it was a completely different hotel ! , after reading the reviews that were on here i was dreading getting to the hotel. But I should not have worried, we eventually got on the correct bus and was disturbed at the coach driver stopping the bus shouting the hotel name, dropping people off in darkness in the middle of nowhere and then just driving off we were laughing with fright i think, we eventually arrived at the blue island being dumped in the middle of the street which was rather funny as we had no idea where we were going we asked the bus driver and he just pointed down the road, we began walking down the road and was greeted by the hotel barman/receptionist as we must have looked very lost and confused. He showed us to our room which we were dreading , again no need the room was nice and clean and the view was the hotel swimming pool, it was 3 oclock in the morning when we arrived still on a high we went and sat in the cafe downstairs and had a drink we talked to the barman and he said that they never close the bar ! talk about a graveyard shift ! , We eventually went to bed and slept like a log. We were in room 122 which i presume was a refurbished room when we woke in the morning there were no unpleasant sights to greet us, the room was fully airconditioned and we did not have to pay extra. We stayed all inclusive here and did not regret it once, the food here is excellent the breakfast is continental but hey ho you are in crete and not in england so dont expect english food !, The Greek yoghurt and honey was to die for ! Lunches were as good always something for everyone the feta cheese salad were again amazing, our favourite were the kebabs and cucumber yoghurt dressing mmmmmm. Dinner again the food was always edible and we had no complaints whatsover. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive and the dishes were all kept filled up nothing ever ran out. The hotel when we were there was full of mainly russians, germans and polish so being ignorant brits who cannot speak another language we generally kept ourselves to ourselves. The hotel is on the main street but this was not a problem as we were at the back of the hotel, being on the main street only made nights more interesting people watching whilst having a drink in the bar. The hotel is a short walk to a rocky sea but there are pebbled beaches and sandy beaches within easy walking distances. There is a short walk to many restaurants along the sea front all of which serve pretty much the same things at the same prices, give or take a few euros . We hired a buggy and a car for two days to explore the island and really did not have enough time. The island is beautiful and picturesque and we will be definately be going back as there is lots more to see and do , we visited the caves which were lovely although the trek to get to them was exhausting and now understand why they have donkeys at the bottom to give you a lift up ! Well worth the 15 Euros if you find it hard walking up inclines. Overall this is a lovely hotel with lovely friendly staff who all work long hours and still keep smiling. Dont read these other reviews on this hotel as they are old and out of date. The only critisism is that the sun loungers around the pool are a bit worn but hey what do you do with a lounger? put your towel on it so no real problem here, Change the shower curtain it was a bit pink, the sink was cracked but this was done by one of us ,a guest ! , Its not home dont expect it to be perfect. On our flight back we were not flying until 1.30 am check out at the hotel was 12 noon so we asked if we could have a late check out this was not a problem and we paid 50 euros to stay all inclusive and keep the room until we left the hotel at 12 midnight it was well worth paying the fee. Overall we had a great holiday and would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone dont be put off the other reviews they are old and out of date the rooms from what i can gather have been refurbed and the pool has been repaired. A great place :) Thank you Blue Island :)

Room Tip: We were in 122 at the back of the hotel by the pool , this had new furniture and was clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CRU101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have just returned from a week long stay at Hersonisos at Blue Island hotel and I feel very happy that I chose to spend my vacations at this place at this hotel. Me and family had a warm welcome from the helpful manager and had directions to enjoy the life at this joyfull, vivid place. We were very satisfied from the service of this friendly hotel which was very clean and well located. We also enjoyed hotel's qualitative breakfast and dinner which included delicious home made pizza and local specialities...soutzoukakia,mousaka and other...
The rooms are spacious with a/c, hot water all day, large led tv, balcony and a smart card lock at the door. Furnishings are simple, but absolutely fine. The pool and the bar also offered us some refreshing hours when the temperature was high.
I would love to come back again next year, and would recommend the Blue Island to my friends!
Thank you Blue Island!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Estrella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I didn't like so much write a hotel's review, but this is the worst hotel I've ever been, and if it's useful to someone else to avoid my experience, here it is. This B&B is really ugly, really poor rooms, old wood, basic forniture. There is not shutter at the window and the curtain was orange and thin.. at 5 am we have sun in our bedroom.. how somebody is supposed to sleep?? The reception's manager was rude and unpleasant. In summer obviously the B&B is full of teens that party all night long, move the forniture around, listen house music, sing & cry out loud.. even with earplug we couldn't sleep at all. Besides, we can hear people walking around and climb up the stairs at the end of our wing... this structure has serious reverberate problems!!! At 8 a.m. we pack our suitcase and went somewhere else. The worst thing is the unwelcoming feeling we get. The room didn't have A/C or safety box or hairdryer.. We asked for it and the rude man says we can have it.. 7 euros at day for each one!!!!!! When we try our breakfast, the bread was old, so I asked if they could at least warm it or grill it or something. Yes they can, 7 euros extra, please. Are you crazy??? this is not how you treat clients, this is robbery. To tell almost a nice thing about this hotel, the clean lady was nice and the room was clean enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpha_969, Manager at Blue Island Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Our hotel has undergone a full renovation and problems of light ennoyance and sound isolation have been resolved. Air-condition is now included in the rates offered by our tour-operators while breakfast is and was totally free of charge,rich in variety and freshness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melpo
Hotel Melpo
#54 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
47.0 mi away
Limas Apartments
Limas Apartments
#102 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#49 of 174 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#77 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#116 of 174 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#45 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Island Hotel

Property: Blue Island Hotel
Address: 150 El Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Island Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing