We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place warm people”
Review of Maragakis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maragakis Hotel
Ranked #66 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Glascwm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place warm people”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we spend couple of days as the other resort up at the mountains were not so good we moved by our traveler in this so sympathetic clean small hotel . In the heart of the town , by the sea . all time open cafeteria and snack creperie but the Half Board supplement worth the price as the food was tastefull and the various ecxelent ! we will directly close again for next year . close to the heart of the action . all shops , bars close but not loudly place to sleep nice. we were sleeping and hearing the waves of the sea ! try it its recomended ! Cheers !

Room Tip: the north side has THE SEA VIEW !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 818Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    61
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
70
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A stone's throw from the main party area of Chersonisos, this lovely family-owned hotel offered a quiet haven, excellent, always friendly service and generally good value for budget half-board. Wifi occasionally didn't work in the room, but always in the lobby. Recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hotel was clean and well laid out .The girl on the reception Emanouella was nice and speaks very good English.
At the time of booking I had been upgraded to a garden view room but this was overlooked and I was given one of the noisiest positioned rooms possible. I hardly slept throughout the entire stay at the hotel.
I have to say that although there was different meals daily, the meals do not suit the palate of British guests that might stay at the hotel, although I was told that not many British people have stayed at the hotel In the past. The food that is served is more suitable to Eastern Europeans. I myself could only enjoy tomatoes and feta cheese the entire week. My son and partner also ate very little which cost me additional cost for food that I needed to buy outwith the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laniedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went to maragakis beach hotel for 5 nights..it was wonderful expirience..the stuff was great and the food was tasty too..i recomment it to you for sure.. the view from my room was too beautiful..the room was always clean! Cafeteria balconi under the hotel was good..and the stuff..every morning used to go there and i drunk or ate something for 10% discount only for us..(guests at hotel maragakis)!!! Wonderful expirience.. i want to go now again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oksanaoksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

we spend 2 weeks and we use to be there 3 times and after of 5 years absence we have to say that the food was really upgrated the last time we visit and we definately take hb everytime now ! tastefull home made cretan cusine !! realy nice thank u !

Room Tip: north rooms are sea view just in front of the sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed this hotel in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. The location is good, close to the town and seaside. The view from the room is excellent. Staff members are very friendly and helpful. Though the room is small, it is clean and the view is excellent. The breakfast is acceptable. A lot of eating places are nearby - within a very short of walking distance. Also within a short walking distance is the taxi station and supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Me and my best friend we spent for 10 years our holiday in Maragakis Hotel and we always have a great time. Friendly people, clean rooms, good food. Having a room with see view means that you listen to the sea all day long. Great! Especially for young people the hotel is interesting because it is very close to the bars and clubs of hersonissos.
For me it is like "coming home" every time. Thanks a lot to the team!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudi1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#32 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#51 of 171 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adamakis
Hotel Adamakis
#68 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahlua Boutique Hotel & Beach Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maragakis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maragakis Hotel

Property: Maragakis Hotel
Address: 17 Minoos | Opposite Police Station of Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Viva Island Hotel)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maragakis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maragakis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maragakis Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing