We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rush, rush, we need your table !!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nikis
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Genova, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rush, rush, we need your table !!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

After being literally "chased" by one of the waiters we decided to have dinner at the restaurant of this hotel, which offers a nice veranda facing the sea. At first, we spent a while explaining the maître that we were only two people, as he thought we were together with other three people looking at the menu at the same time. The maître looked a bit disappointed after that, yet showed us our table.
Another waiter came immediately and, after having understood we were Italians, welcomed us very warmly speaking in our language and introduced the menu. After a short time, another waitress went taking the order for drinks and said "...and of course you're not ready yet to order the meal...". We answered politely that, yes, we needed a few more minutes to check the menu and she went away we the same disappointed face. Up to that point, however, we did not pay too much attention to that: we were on holiday, the place was nice, so why boring.....
One minute after, the second waiter came again to take the order: we said we wanted to have bruschetta as appetizer and chicken souvlaki and as main course, but he looked at us like saying "Are you mad?" and suggested instead to have seafood and fish. As we already had fish and seafood the evening before, we said we wanted to go for something else and asked for suggestions. We ended up ordering the bruschetta and two gyros plates; in the meanwhile, for a couple of times the waiter stopped suddenly talking to us to answer requests from other customers or to help serving other tables.
The bruschetta (awful, indeed.....) and the gyros (acceptable) were served simultaneously, so that while we were enjoying our "appetizer" the rest of our dinner was getting cold.
Just after we had finished our main course, the waiter came and said "now I guess you are done, so would you mind have our dessert or coffee while seating at the bar table at the other side of the road ?". At that moment, we were at the restaurant by no more than 20 minutes !
My wife was quite astonished, yet we accepted to move to the bar and had quickly our "complimentary" ice cream while our table at the restaurant was promptly assigned to a group of other four people.
After less than 30 minutes (including the time for paying the bill), our dinner was finished.
I never felt treated this way except in fast-food restaurants at rush hour, but at least their prices are considerably lower.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_b2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My partner and I went to Hersonissos tonight as we are staying just outside. We went in search of a couple of restaurants in the top 10 but unfortunately couldn't find them. Weary and hungry we went passed Niki's and were given a great sales pitch. Come in, free drink, table looking at the sea etc. we decided to try it being hungry. We were given a table near to the tables with a sea view and told to wait for the couple sat there to finish so we could have their table. No such luck, after we got our drinks and my partner nearly ended up caked in ketchup that fell off a shelf, we were asked to move. I thought so they could clean up but apparently it was so they could sit someone else on our table - a table of 4 they had promised a sea view to too. We ordered pizzas which were bland and anaemic! I had to cover mine in mayo to eat it. We ate them, had our drinks and left, telling the "salesman" what we thought. Please don't go here if you are looking for anything more than mediocre (at best). Hunt out the better restaurants and allow yourself a nice meal and ambience. The one decent thing they had going for them was they had a live band playing greek music. For this reason I would give it one star!

Room Tip: Don't eat in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dev2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Very basic but cheap hotel, the hotel staff is wonderfull and very friendly. Nikis hotel is above a restaurant/bar which is closed after 23.00. Location is exactly between the strip and starbeach. Free wifi and good food

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
318 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We ate at Nikis one night and were very impressed. We were given very quickly a table next to the sea where we had a great plate of food to share to start with and I had a Greek plate for main course. One disappointment was my mother had BBQ spare ribs. She asked if they came in a sauce which they said they did but when they arrived they were dry and when asked for sauce we were given a bottle of HP BBQ sauce! We were then given two complimentary Rakis and asked for the bill. As we left, the waiter stopped us to ask if we had had a free drink? We were a little confused as we had drank a bottle of wine? He then invited us into the bar and we were offered a free drink for all of us of our choice! The other good thing with Nikis is they have live music every night which makes it a fun atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

When you need place to make breake from hectic life - you chosed a good one. Perfectly located, clean cosy rooms and very hospitable staff. Yep, ok, its two stars only, so dont expect the lukshery. A bit old and spartan environment, no hairdryer and fridge in the room, but it fit to each coin you payed for. So when you are looking for a place to sleep while explore the island - this is one of the best one. And hotel have an excellent tavern which never looks empty :) but the hotel is not noisy. I get a room with direct view on tavern but even with open balcony it wasnt disturbing. Sounds of the waves will sing a lullaby for you.

I remember tavern and hotel from my last visit and when I looked for a place to stay this May - there was definitely no choice:) I love Niki`s. And even i was guest there first time - it feels like home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienka_Samara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Proof that good does not have to be expensive!
For every recommendations!
Cute, small, family hotel, located in pedestrians zone where are all the cafes and clubs but far enough from them, so you can have normal sleep. Only waves and you :)
As I saw, this hotel have the restaurant with most visitors, so ... it`s a proof that they have excellent cuisine!
Room are bigger or smaller, so are terraces but it`s not a problem when you are on such an Island, ... you won`t be much time there. It`s clean and that whats important!
Good, friendly staff ... ask them for anything and you`ll get it!

Room Tip: Sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We came yesterday from Hersonissos and we were in Nikis hotel.All I can say that we are very satisfied with this hotel,staff is more than great,friendly,food(dinner) is very good and you get alot,so you can't stay hungry :) We also had lunch in their tavern,we tried many kinds of fish and it was all good,and you get a discount because you are a guest in their hotel.Rooms are nice,I like the fact that they are cleaning every day,and changing towels every 3 days.If you get a seaview room,like we did,you will like it more :) The barmen at the hotel is making good cocktails and you get a good price,better than in clubs or some other places in town.
I must say the location is great,you are in front of the sea,very close to all clubs and main street but also far enough that you can sleep well.
I recommend this hotel for those people who are looking for something nice but not so expensive and no luxury.
I miss Hersonissos,Nikis hotel,and all the staff in the hotel,we will come back again some day! :)

Room Tip: Rooms that are not looking at the sea are more quiet,but its nice to have a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dragana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Dimitra Hotel
Dimitra Hotel
#89 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#47 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#46 of 178 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anatoli Apartments
Anatoli Apartments
#24 of 121 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nancy
Hotel Nancy
#19 of 28 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andromeda Apartments & Studios
Andromeda Apartments & Studios
#48 of 121 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikis

Property: Hotel Nikis
Address: 12 25Is Martiou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nikis 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Nikis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikis Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing