We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN AUTHENTIC GREEK-ISLAND CUISINE.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epineio

Epineio
Ranked #39 of 109 Restaurants in Tinos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“AN AUTHENTIC GREEK-ISLAND CUISINE.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Visit this lovely restaurant with an authentic Greek-island cuisine.
It's in a little square just along the port with a Dolphin statue. The owner and the staff are
extremely friendly and English spoken and the hospitality is great.
You have to try the typical Cyclades island dishes : tomato balls and zucchini ( or courgette) balls.
They are excellent as almost all its dishes : the smoked eggplant( or aubergine) salad, the eggplant Imam and everything that includes the famous local cheese ( Tiniako) like saganaki ( fried cheese or 4 different cheeses) so tasty-a lot of calories though.
The house wine is fine and they will treat you a complimentary desert with this scented version of ouzo the mastich brady. Very good value, indeed !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DINOS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disapoints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We have been in Tinos for 4 days and will stay 8 more. Because of tripadvisor we decided to go to Epineio. Total disapointment! Food was heavy and salty! The worst restaurant 'til today. Best was Nautilus in ormo Isterrnia (fisher place) and 2nd Porto Raphael (hotel) in Iuoannis, with true family Greek healthy food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZootAlors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AT LAST A REAL GREEK RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have just returned from Tinos(A real Greek Island)and found a most wonderful greek restaurant called Epinio.now to find it is look for the little square with a Dolphin statue,tip.look at the outdoor cafes call LeeCafe they are at the end of waterfront going towards the new port, and between them is a little pathway which comes out in the little square,Epinio is in front on the left,they other one is fine but this one has the edge,the food all fresh and very tasty,we had a few meals there and we could not fault it.The owner called Grigoris(Who speak very good English) I might add,could not make us more welcome,He gave us a little starter whilst we waited for our food,the wine is great we had the house wine very good it was too,we had to have the large(well you are on Holiday) It is just somthing about Tinos and the People who are so warm and friendly as Grigoris was,it makes your Holiday,we did go to quite a few restaurants,only sad thing was we only managed to find Epinio late in our time on Tinos,But I must say we are coming back to Tinos and plan to spend more time looking around the island,and anyway it is a good excuse to spend more happy evenings in Epinio Restaurant.
I hope I have spelt it right by the way,couldent remember if it is spelt Epinia or Epinio but anyway you will see it on the left of the square on Taxiarxon Square(look for theBlue Dolphin Fountain(not working)Oh well it is Greece,go and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osbourneWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best of Tinos-Chora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Excellent Greek cuisine, wonderful staff, THE place to go to for lunch or dinner when you visit this lovely island. But: don't tell anybody and let's keep it a secret, ok?

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tiniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extremely good Greek Restaurant/Taverna within Tinos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A very good Taverna-like restaurant within Tinos.
Highly recommended for very good traditional/island Greek cuisine. One can visit it on an everyday basis. Outside sitting area is very pleasant both for lunch and for dinner.
All plates are very good (try for example barbecued octapus or aubergine salad), and the service is first class. One can have a very rich meal with around €12-15 with house wine.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AdrienAdrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epineio also viewed

 
Tinos, Cyclades
 

Been to Epineio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing