We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, stunning view and loads to do...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorteen

Gorteen, Best view in Ireland from 4 rooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorteen, Best view in Ireland from 4 rooms
Cosy relaxation, read those books reserved for the holidays Ocean view from the front door & 3 rooms,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Gorteen, Best view in Ireland from 4 rooms
Cosy relaxation, read those books reserved for the holidays
Ocean view from the front door & 3 rooms,
Fully equipped Kitchen cum diningroom to cook your favourite dishes
Outside dinning, reading or chatting with friends or family in spectacular setting
Sleep sound
Safe swimming  Derrynane  Beach voted 2nd in the Tripadvisor Traveler's top 10   in Ireland in 2016
Derrynane Harbour close by for watersports, sailing, fishing, surfing
Derrynane Blue Flag beach and sand dunes for safe swimming & windswept  romantic walks
Experience the magic of the  Wild Atlantic Way
Gaze at the stars,area designated as an Amazing Dark Sky Reserve for its pristine skys
Small beach with safe swimming nearby
Surfing the broad Atlantic
Ancient stone fort at Staigue 3 miles
Walk on the Kerry Way marked walking trails, through forest, coastline, hills & valleys
Ancient Ogham stone at Derrynane
Changing colour of the majestic mountain range and landscape on the Ring of Kerry
Majestic Ring of Kerry Views.
Fresh baking every day nearby
Toilet facilities suitable for a wheelchair user
Lowlevel shower
Entrance suitable for a wheelchair
Suitable set down point for a wheelchair user
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomas T
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, stunning view and loads to do and see”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was very impressed with the value I got for my money: the house is overlooking the sea from almost every room, it is well-equipped and, all in all, just ideal for the perfect getaway! There are at least two pubs within walking distance which we had never had before! Killarney National Park with its breath-taking landscape and beautiful trails is just half an hour away. Killarney about an hour (probably the closest for bigger shopping).
Try not to get to Gorteen when it is dark as the dirt road up to the house is not that easy to find and quite challenging if you do not have a four by four and if the car is fully loaded.
We have already booked our next stay there in 20 weeks from now and look very much forward to that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Gorteen. We are delighted that you found both it,its location and the whole South Kerry area has much to offer and made your stay such an enjoyable experience. My apologies about the access road,the heavy rain in recent times has made maintaining it a challenge. Meanwhile I have already taken steps to have improvement works carried out on it. Thank you for booking a return visit and we look forward to meeting you again in May.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2014
Your review of Gorteen is really appreciated,thank you. We are pleased that you found it had much to offer that made your holiday a relaxing and enjoyable experience. As we know this was not your first visit,we look forward very much to meeting you again.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Gorteen. We are pleased to know that you all had a great time there and that you found so much in the area to enjoy.Your recommendation is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and space
Liked least: The showers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sorcha001
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house and location from heaven”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A really great house to rent and plenty of space.The dog had plenty of room and made himself feel at home.
It was so lovely with a real fire place and one night when we had rain it was lovely to look out the windows and be so cosy inside.
The view from the house was out of this world.Great walks in the area and lots of nice restaurants.
We would rent this house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Bad tv service(lack of tv stations) and no wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter G
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice views and great location on the Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My favourite thing about this house was its location. It's up off the main road. We felt like we were fairly secluded. There are very nice views of the bay. (Though you can't see the whole bay due to a small hill at the other side of the road.)There are several beaches nearby, but unfortunately it was too cold to go swimming. It was also too cold and rainy to go on long hikes. We stayed inside a lot and enjoyed the cozy fireplace. The house is the perfect base to explore the ring of Kerry. There are several restaurants, pubs, and shops nearby.

The house itself is nice, and it's very clean. The only negative is that it feels old and doesn't have much character. But it has everything you need: nice kitchen, two bathrooms, bathtub, fireplace, and a pic-nic table outside.

Josephine is very welcoming, helpful and flexible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: Old, bland house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jezvic
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property in fantastic location.”
Reviewed 2 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We are a large family of 4 children including 1 wheelchair user and a 10 month old baby, we found Gorteen suited us perfectly, it is in what must be the best location in Ireland with stunning views from most rooms of the sea and mountains beyond. The house is very well appointed and had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean on our arrival.
We had some lovely weather during our stay and spent lots of time on Derrynane beach (5
mins drive) and the smaller beach 2 minutes walk from the house, both these beaches are beautiful and clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 2 days of damp weather!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing