We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular launchpad for Ring of Kerry”
 Westcove House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Westcove House
Aerial winterview of Westcove House and  The Stables tken in winter a long time ago! Westcove House from walk to harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Westcove House
Aerial winterview of Westcove House and  The Stables tken in winter a long time ago!
Westcove House from walk to harbour
Westcove House and terrace in winter
Pier Cottage from the terrace of Westcove House
Hall
Guests relaxing in Westcove House Sitting Room
Bar with an open fire and music centre
Dining Room
Westcove House Kitchen
View from Dining Room
Master bedroom with 6 foot double bed
Bedroom 2 with 5 foot double bed
Bedroom 5. Small single with views over the sea..
Games room in The Stables building
Derrynane Beach
Seals on nearby rocks
stcove House ground floor plan
Westcove House 1st floor plan
Westcove House, The Stables and Garden Cottage site plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annelP737...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Spectacular launchpad for Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018

Westcove is a perfect spot to enjoy Ring of Kerry splendors away from other tourists. When you finish watching seals on ocean rocks (we counted 17 one morning), you can walk up the hill to get on the Ring of Kerry trail. There breathtaking views compete with sheep and wildflowers for your attention. (Don’t miss St. Crohan’s Well, marked only by small sign on telephone poll). A four-mile hike along the trail brings you to Derrynane, home of Daniel “The Liberator” O’Connell, with house tour and good cafe. Five minutes from Westcove in a car and you’re at the doorstep of the Blind Piper Pub, a comforting old Irish watering hole where you can mingle with locals and often enjoy live Irish music. The location is also convenient for day trips to Skellig Michael, Killarney National Forest, Avoca Mills in Moll’s Gap (don’t miss sheep dogs herding sheep while you’re there), Famine Village artists colony, and many other attractions.

Come home at days’ end to a warm fire on the hearth or drinks on patio overlooking ocean. House, stables, guest cottage will have you living “to the manor born,” —if you were born in the 1700s. The house and grounds are filled with nooks, books, and crannies for personal downtime. Place can sleep 25 (including rooms with baths in guest cottage and stables), so it’s a great location for family and group gatherings and weddings.

We look forward to our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Stayed for 6 days with family and friends visiting from USA England and Ireland to celebrate my cousins very special 50th birthday. First impressions WOW... what a beautiful old Irish country home (castle I believe back in the day). It truly felt like home with all the home comforts.A group of 28 we used all 3 dwellings, house, cottage and stables. Days spent driving and walking around the stunningly beautiful wild atlantic way, I had forgotten just how beautiful Kerry is. We re visited the quaint little villages of Valentia, Portmagee, Ballinskelligs , Waterville, Catherdaniel, the busy bustling Kenmare, the beautiful postcard village of Sneem, all the while drinking in the seas, cliffs, mountains, and beautiful fresh air. We drank and ate local Delishious home cooked food in the pubs, sang and danced to the music. We re gathered every evening at 7 for pre drinks and delicious canapés on the terrace overlooking the bay before dinner was served by Katherine and her little gang of Merry women.. we were truly spoilt all week with their home cooked delights. One night they prepared a lovely bbq despite a little down pour mid cooking the lovely ladies still managed to deliver. One evening we held a special party in the stables for Janet’s 50th, we had a Ceili band play, sing and teach us old traditional Irish dances... great fun had by all. This is a house built for ‘a gathering’ And that’s exactly what we did. To say it was enjoyed by us all is an understatement. Westcove you are beautiful, I really hope to visit again soon. Katherine and all the ladies huge thanks you made us all so welcome and spoilt us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2018
Thanks so much Janet...Westcove is very special to all our family too, and it's just lovely to know others like you can be there to enjoy it when we're not able to be there ourselves!...Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
“A memorable week with friends and family”
Reviewed 16 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My husband and Family were recently so lucky to be invited to join our special friends and their family to celebrate a special birthday The week we spent at Westcove exceeded all our expectations and we had a fantastic time here enjoying every minute of Westcove and the surrounding areas.

Our friends rented the House, the Stables and the Cottage. We all enjoyed the accommodation which for our group size of 28 was very comfortable,clean,spacious and had all the amenities you would wish for! We were all so very happy we did not want to leave! For our group everything was just perfect, we all gathered together in the dining room for breakfast, dinner, and the living room with a bar in the evenings for drinks, games, songs and story telling. One night, we had a ceilidh in the games room in the Stables which was so much fun! A local group played for us while we danced and made the most amazing memories we will never forget! I

The staff at Westcove are amazing so friendly and full of advise and recommendations if asked! The meals prepared by Katherine and her staff were lovely and always tasty great to return to on some nights after a busy day exploring the wild Atlantic way.

We had a busy week enjoying the surrounding areas including parts of the Ring of Kerry, beautiful beaches, trips into Killarney, walking, golf, shopping, a trip over to Valentina on the car ferry , visiting the local restaurants and amazing local pubs with local music and more.

An amazing week at Westcove with the best friends and Family we could wish for enhanced only by the beauty of this place! We would return in a heartbeat.
Till we all meet again .. Thank you xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica H
1 review
“A week at Westcove”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful views, full amenities and a comfortable place for a big group. I stayed here for just under a week with my study abroad class and loved how ‘at home’ I felt. While the location was somewhat remote, it was central to various places if you’re willing to put in a few hours to drive (i.e. Dingle Peninsula, Bunratty, Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry). Thank you to Catherine for the hospitality and all the help. I absolutely recommend the Westcove Estate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Thanks for this kind review....you seem to have spent a lot of time driving long distances though....do come again and explore our local area ..there are many beautiful historical sites within an hour of Westcove!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danica A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the stables as part of pre wedding celebrations. It was a lovely stay, relaxing and beautiful views all around. Would definitely come back again. The staff are very helpful and friendly, in particular Katherine and Susannah who were extremely helpful and accommodating. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thanks so much Danica, for taking the time to submit this lovely review..do hope the wedding went well...all a bit hectic this time, so do come again one day so you can really enjoy the lovely surrounding area!
S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenfinn
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family took over the Westcove House, Stables and Cottage with a total of 21 people. The setting was beautiful and very excluded on the Ring of Kerry. We had homemade pastries from Jane on the property most days. The almond croissants were amazing. The house was comfortable, but could use updating. I would call the property rustic and eccelictic but not necessarily luxury. It is a great for large groups.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for submitting this mostly positive review...just to let you know we are aware of the need to renew some of the carpets and soft furnishing and intend doing so this coming winter...but it is proving hard to source classical subtle designs to go with all our beautiful old art work and antique painted furniture...everything is so 'modern' these days, but be assured it will all be updated by your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOLVV
Kerry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“wedding at Westcove”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband and I recently got married at Westcove House. It exceeded our expectations and we had a fantastic weekend and wedding to remember. We cannot thank Suzanne, Catherine and all the team at Westcove who helped to make our special day such an amazing experience and a fantastic time was spent with family and close friends. We would highly recommend this property for someone looking for a venue for any special occasion. The setting is just stunning and is so unique. Our only regret is we had to leave. We look forward to making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you so much Mary and Vince for this lovely review...I gather the weather was kind, that even in November you were able to celebrate with a brilliant firework display over the bay! - Susannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing