We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
Garden Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Cottage
Garden Cottage Cottage with vegetable beds and view over harbour Garden Cottage View from terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Garden Cottage
Garden Cottage Cottage with vegetable beds and view over harbour
Garden Cottage View from terrace
Garden cottage - Living Room at dusk
Garden Cottage Hall to Living Room
Garden Cottage Bedroom 1
double bedroom 1
Late evening view across the harbour
Parknasilla Golf Course - 30 minutes drive, near Sneem
Derrynane Beach, one of several nearby
View across the harbour with Pier Cottage in the distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BoardingP...
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas of Ireland. It was comfortable and quiet. The property was beautiful and the cottage was in great shape. The price was very reasonable. A great place to come back to after our days of exploring. The website is incredibly thorough with tips on what to bring and a long list of activities in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (9 nights) and we would return in a heartbeat. We felt welcome and were well taken care of. Although it is necessary to hire a car when staying in this part of Ireland, I was surprised at how quickly we became comfortable driving on left, even though we'd never done it before. If it's your first time driving on the left, i definitely suggest renting an automatic transmission. We give this property an A+!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property managers and proprietor were easily available and very responsive to our needs.
Liked least: The weather was a little rainier than we would have liked for part of our trip.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for this very positive review and for your brilliant vocal/guitar contribution to the live music evening at 'The Blind Piper' pub! S.A.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjabush
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for Mum's 90th”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

There is a double room and a single room downstairs, then a clever twin bed conversion upstairs, which has its own en-suite facilities. The kitchen is well equipped with fridge, freezer, oven and hob, plus the sink. A private terrace and back garden look down through a tree lined slope down to the water. A 2 minute walk gets you to Jane's bakery and shop. Kathryn, the housekeeper in the main house keeps everything in good order. The TV gets Irish broadcast TV, plus UK Freeview and a DVD player.
It is a lovely place - warm and friendly, in a quiet location, but within easy car reach of natural and historical sites. Gerrit of Kerry Experience Tours (also found on this site) will do a wonderful tour. Jane's food is great. Brendan in the nearby shop/petrol station is taciturn, but helpful. The Blind Piper pub is a near drive, doing fantastic food and often a local band with traditional Irish folk music.
Westcove is a great place for a rest, but also as a base for seeing more of Kerry, with its beaches, colourful hedgerows, sea, lakes and stark mountain landscapes.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole mixture
Liked least: Nothing disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnydanc...
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect, peaceful experience of real Ireland.”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We took Mum for her 90th birthday celebration to stay in Garden Cottage. Joy (Mum) knew the big house from staying there quite a few years back, and was thrilled to see how the conversion has transformed the old building that was there. It was comfortable and well-equipped; the views are amazing and the unusual Soay sheep graze peacefully, practically on the doorstep. The rooms are well-designed - if you have children/teenagers, they would absolutely love the attic room, which has its own ensuite and a little window nook at floor level, where they can read or look out, or maybe even build a den! The owners were at Westcove house while we were there, and were so kind and helpful. You can order a very reasonably priced meal from the lovely Katherine, or there's a good array of equipment in the kitchen, I managed to produce some creditable meals. We didn't find any downsides, but you do need to understand that this is a very rural community, so you do need to plan for food and shopping - you can't pop out to Tesco's at 10 pm! The local shop for basics is open until 8, and Jane has the bakery next door, and if you ask her will have some lovely almond croissants warming in time for breakfast. There's no need to buy mineral water - the water from the tap is the sweetest I've ever tasted. The highlights for me were the beautiful beach at Carroll's Cove, and the wonderful evening meal and Irish band at the nearby Blind Piper Pub. A wonderful place to stay, especially to experience the real Ireland; and the scenery is out of this world.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating breakfast looking out over the bay
Liked least: Erm. The one day's heavy rain we had.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon R
Lake Ridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming beyond measure”
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was my second trip to Westcove in the past 3 years where I stayed in the Garden Cottage. It is one of the most idyllic vacation spots I've ever experienced and the Garden Cottage is a treasure. Not only are you in the stunningly beautiful County Kerry but the cottage looks over the bay at Westcover. Watching the sunsets from the patio raise glorious to a new level. The countryside is so beautiful and the cottage reflects this but also adds every modern convenience you'd desire. Heated tile floors, full kitchen with a double over and dishwasher, washing machine & dryer, along with 3 bedrooms and two baths. The cottage renovation was of the highest quality, so you have the charm of the Irish countryside with the luxury of a modern hotel suite. I've been there with friends who stayed in the other properties which are just as delightful. Don't miss the neighboring bakery at the top of the hill for morning pastries. And the nearby beach and grounds at Caherdaniel are just about my favorite spot on the planet. There can be no better home away from home than the Garden Cottage at Westcove for the ultimate vacation in the Irish countryside. I will be back again for a third time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: A bit of a drive from the airport at Cork.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing