We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to stay”
Review of Iskeroon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iskeroon
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we stayed in the self-catering studio for a week - it was very peaceful and we had a wonderful time exploring the area. The studio is well-equipped and extremely comfortable and our hosts were very friendly and helpful, booking us a trip to Skellig (well worth it). Well-worth a visit - an excellent base from which to explore Kerry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Iskeroon is in a fabouous location just off the ring of Kerry. It is a steep drive down from the main road but the directions we had from the owners were good and it was easy to find and certainly worth the trip. Our room was really lovely, tastefully decorated, spacious and spotless. When planning our trip to Kerry our aim was to get away from everything and Iskeroon is the perfect place for this with beautiful scenery and lovely walks to the nearby beaches. Breakfast was nice with good quality ingredients. I like the idea of veering away from the "full irish breakfast" and having breakfast on your own rather than in breakfast room but I think that if you are staying for a few days items should be replenished (without having to ask) and varied a little but this was only a very small thing as you really come to Iskeroon for the location and the tranquility and it takes your breath away!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to get a reservation for 2 nights at Iskeroon this May. We were greeted by wonderful Geraldine who provided us with farm fresh eggs from her beautiful hens. The property is located above the ocean in a gorgeous and rugged part of the Ring of Kerry. There are walking trails to nearby beaches and parks. We stayed in the mountain room (upstairs apartment) which was darling and had everything we needed. The only downsides were the queen sized bed and one particularly stormy night when the rain was very loud on the rooftop. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Iskeroon is a tremendous base from which to explore the far western tip of the Inveragh peninsular. Once there, try to forget about your car and walk around the coastal path to the amazing Derryname beaches. Unforgettable and well worth the long drive down.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in August. Although not blessed with great weather we still had a really good time. The breakfasts are very good in a lovely room with a super view. David and Geraldine are fine hosts. Yes, it is a long way down the hill and if you don't like driving go for self catering or use the small kitchens in the rooms. You can't get seclusion without a bit of a drive! We eat out 2 of the 5 days and the drive is really not that much of an issue. There is good food around 7 miles away in Waterville. The walks near the house are great and there is perfectly acceptable pub approx 15 mins walk away.
The room we stayed in had everything we needed and was very comfortable; we did not have a sea view but not a great issue as all you had to do was walk outside. Towels changed every day if you want (and pillow cases!)
We would definitely stay again. And yes if David was prepared to cook dinner for his B & B guests I am sure that there would be takers!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Iskeroon is in a fabulous and isolated location, down at the end of a long and winding road. Since the B&B no longer has rooms in the main house, we stayed in the "cottages," which are not free standing buildings but a room/bathroom with a small kitchenette. The rooms were tastefully and comfortably decorated. While the rooms in the main house used to have sea views, unfortunately the cottage building (3 rooms) only has one room that faces the sea and ours was not one of them.
David, one of the owners, was friendly and charming. We were greeted with brownies and milk--very cute.
The location is both one of its greatest assets and also a curse. I would recommend self-catering if you don't want to make the long and winding drive back up to the main road. It would be a huge asset if the B&B decided to start serving dinner. (The breakfast was nice but not super impressive compared to other B&Bs we stayed in our trip.)
Also, the walls are thin-- we could certainly hear our neighbors next door and below us. It was not really an issue for us, but FYI.
Very nice hike leading off from the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My wife and I just returned from 10 days of driving through southern Ireland, during which we stayed at 7 different locations. We love to get off the tourist track, see nature and eat locally grown food. We chose Iskeroon based on Trip Advisor comments, and because we wanted to go to the Skelligs to see Puffins. Both experiences were outstanding! Geraldine lined up the boat trip for us, and David prepared wonderful breakfasts. The accommodations were first class. And we luckily had sunny weather for the boat trip to the Skelligs. Everything written about the small windy lane down to Iskeroon is true. It's a place that you might want to take some food and stay off the road for a day or two, as they have excellent self-catering accommodations and great views. And the walk to the local pub/bar is quite magical - through wooded glens and over hills (ie. not a stroll along the beach). We were lucky, and spoiled, by the weather, though. We also had a full moon shining in our balcony door at night. The trip to the Skelligs when the Puffins are there is just incredible.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNewnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
4.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
140 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
An Gleantain
#6 of 6 in Caherdaniel
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wave Crest Caravan & Camping Park
0.0 mi away
The Olde Forge
The Olde Forge
#3 of 5 in Caherdaniel
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iskeroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iskeroon

Property: Iskeroon
Address: Caherdaniel | Derrynane Beg, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iskeroon's two suites and studio apartment offer superb accommodation in an unbeatable location, set in 4 acres of sub-tropical gardens which lead down to a private pier and the crystal clear waters of Derrynane Harbour. Derrynane and the nearby village of Caherdaniel are rightly regarded as the prettiest and most special parts of the Ring of Kerry. Iskeroon is within walking distance of a superb Blue Flag beach, Derrynane National Park and the harbour from which a boat leaves for the Skellig Islands, as well as a great pub. Iskeroon offers a superb base from which to explore the Iveragh, Beara and Dingle Peninsulas, Valentia Island and the magnificent National Park in Killarney."You can 'do' the Ring of Kerry a thousand times and Iskeroon will never reveal itself. Iskeroon's worldly brand of adorableness and utterly secluded seafront location ensure that it never wants for business. It's the kind of place where people have standing reservations for the same room for the same dates year after year. An hour from Kenmare, in what connoisseurs of the Ring consider the prettiest pocket of the Iveragh Peninsula....The Irish are exceptionally well traveled in their own country, and everyone I talked to who knew Iskeroon said it has the best views their land has to offer....Iskeroon is a romantic, elemental wind-tossed place that makes it easy to fall in love." Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing