We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derrynane Bay House”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derrynane Bay House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Derrynane Bay House”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I agree with all the previous reviews of the Derrynane Bay House that gave it the highest rating. My daughter and I just walked the Ring of Kerry, staying at wonderful B&Bs along the way. Our overnight at the Derrynane Bay House couldn't have been more perfect. Not only did the accommodations provide us with the rest and relaxation needed after many hours hiking, but talking with Monica and Donal Hunt, our hosts, was one of the highlights of the entire week. They are delightful folks, who shared their insights into life in Ireland, specifically Country Kerry, making us determined to return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surprise Az
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at fourteen different B&B's during our walking holiday in Ireland. The Derrynane Bay House is lovely, the area is beautiful and private and there are no better hosts then Monica and Donal. Donal dropped us off at the Blind Piper for dinner and picked us up as well. We had been walking a lot of miles and we were really tired. Our biggest surprise was the breakfast menu and presentation. Not only was the food excellent but it was so pretty on the plate we took pictures of it. We had Irish brown bread at every place we stayed. Monica's was one of the best and she was willing to share her recipe. I've made it three times since I've been home and have enjoyed every bite. YUM!!! I think ten stars would be a better rating!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trailtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are planning on going to Kerry or even just to Ireland, don't miss this wonderful Bed and Breakfast which has become our home away from home in Ireland. It is in a stunning location between high mountains suitable for walking and a turquoise sea and white sandy beaches - a location that is also perfect for touring the Ring of Kerry. The house is lovely, beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean and the food is delicious. Donal and Monica are the perfect hosts and will help you, whatever your need or query. There is plenty to see and do in the surroundings of Caherdaniel and Derrynane, for adults and children alike, and the local pub, the Blind Piper, has tasty food and good music. The scenery is magical all day long, but especially by dusk when the sea turns to silver and the fairies are almost visible ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The hosts, Monica and Donal, are lovely people. We had a choice of rooms and chose the upstairs room with a magnificent view. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable too! The private bathroom, also immaculately clean, had a great shower with excellent water pressure. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was delicious. The house overlooks magnificent Derrynane Bay and is quiet and peaceful. Being just 1km from Caherdaniel, it is close to everything but far enough away to be away from the noise and traffic. This is the perfect spot on the Ring of Kerry to use as a base to see all that the region has to offer.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were super tired after having gotten lost on our third day of hiking along the Ring of Kerry, but our host, Monica, welcomed us and gave us tea and showed us to our beautiful rooms. In the morning, classical music soothed our nerves and we were given a lovely breakfast with fresh OJ and wonderful choices of cheese and breads. The only downside was that we were a kilometer plus from the town where we went in to eat (Blind Piper) at night.

Room Tip: Not much of a choice, given the limited number of rooms, but all are good I believe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This little b&b is off the beaten path (well, sorta, once the tour buses zoom past...you are out in the rural quiet area of the ring of Kerry). We had a nice quiet stay. Only one place open for dinner in the little village of Caherdaniel (The Blind Piper pub).... So we really go to see another, quieter, rural part of west Ireland. The b&b is comfortable, and the view from the living room and breakfast area not to be beat. Breakfast and the French coffee press quite nice! The wifi does turn off mid evening....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

You'd have to go a long way to find a b+b of this quality. Our vist this July was the third time we've stayed. Monica and Donal are wonderful hosts who offer superb quality of service and assistance in this lovely house in such a beautiful setting in such a convienient location. Breakfast choices were plentiful and varied - Heather and Tess spoiled for choice - as was I. Will definitely be back again, highly recommended. Steve.

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
10.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,063 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
245 reviews
11.8 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
155 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrynane Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrynane Bay House

Property: Derrynane Bay House
Address: N70 | Derrynane Bay, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Derrynane Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing