We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Sectacular View in Ireland”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derrynane Bay House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Derrynane Bay B&B (not to be confused with the Derrynane hotel) has one of the most spectacular locations in Kerry. It is located just minutes from the beach. While we were there we had the beach all to ourselves. Our Hosts Monica and Donal could not have been nicer. From the friendly greeting when we first arrived to setting out our breakfast for an early departure, they were always attentive to our needs. The rooms were impeccably clean. Everyday after we set out on our adventure, the room was tidied and the bathroom cleaned. Breakfast always included home made bread and was delicious. We were usually so full we skipped lunch. I have traveled extensively and I must say the people of Ireland are some of the most friendly and gracious people I have ever met. If I am lucky enough to go back to Ireland I will definately stay at the Derrynane Bay B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Derrynane Bay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Our stay here on April 9 and 10 was everything we had hoped for. The owners are lovely people who gave us a great deal of information on the area. Our breakfast was delicious (ridiculously good homemade bread -- we hogged a bunch of it). I'm a tad (actually, very) picky about cleanliness and felt totally comfortable there, as though we were staying with a friend who's a meticulous housekeeper. We stayed in the upstairs room with the view over the bay (Atlantic waters crashing against the sand, sheep dotting green pastures, rocky hillsides...absolutely gorgeous). The bathroom that went with our room was in fact fully private, by the way. I saw both top-floor rooms, and each has its own bathroom. This was the first time my husband and I had ever been in Ireland. We had such a good time that we're planning a much longer trip there this summer with the hopes of touring as much of Ireland as possible. One of our stops along the way will definitely include a return stay here. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoeninDeutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

On our recent family holiday on the Ring of Kerry we stayed at Derrynane Bay House for a 3 day break , located in what must be the most beautiful part of Ireland. We were given a choice of rooms and opted to take the upstairs accommodation which comprised of a superior room with its own private bathroom with it’s stunning views over Derrynane Bay and the adjoining large family en-suite room which had two double beds and 1 single bed - ideal for our 3 teenagers. The accommodation was brilliant, perfect for our family, and the best power showers anywhere on our trip. We were given all the information regarding daily outings by our hosts and we needed all of our three days to experience the many attractions in the area. Comfort, cleanliness and good food are their obvious priorities here and the owners are to be commended for achieving this.
An excellent breakfast was served each morning with a range of choices from their menu and we dined at the nearby Blind Piper pub each evening for very good bar food.
A perfect break, in spite of the weather!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Great place to stay. The friendly hosts are welcoming you. Good location to visit Derrynane house, the beach and doing the mass trail. Good for walkers, too. Each room has its own private bathroom. Spectacular view over the bay from the breakfast table.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

My husband and I happened across this place after stopping by a pub in Caherdaniel. Definitely a great stop during our 8 days in Ireland! This B&B had a clean room, GREAT view of the ocean/bay (we had the 2nd floor room), wonderful breakfast (and great coffee!), and great hospitality. Donal and Monica were extremely helpful and had great suggestions about what to see around the area. They were wonderful hosts! One thing, the room with the view (on 2nd floor) has a shared bathroom with another room - but while were were there, we had the 2nd floor to ourselves. By the way, the bathroom was EXTREMELY SPOTLESSLY clean. So nice...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jihyun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

What can we say, in a word - exceptional! We were given a spacious comfortable room decorated in warm subtle colours with king sized bed and having every facility you get in any hotel.
Power showers with unlimited hot water ( the best we've encountered so far on ou holiday), spotlessly clean and a wide choice from their breakfast menu to boot!
Far and above our expectations for a b&b , for the attention to detail, the breakfast, the high quality of furnishings, oh so comfortable bed, the energy and enthusiasm shown by the owners in ensuring everyone who stays here is regarded as special.
We are already planning our return next year. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sue8clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

After a good walk, we walked the Kerry Way, you need three things. A warm welcome, a nice clean room and a good shower. We got all three at Derrynane Bay House and more. The breakfast was excellent with magnificent views over the bay. Next day we got dropped of at the village so we didn't have to walk along the main route. Top class B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank es_meijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
9.8 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,109 reviews
10.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
158 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
269 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrynane Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrynane Bay House

Address: N70 | Derrynane Bay, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Price Range: £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Derrynane Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing