We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Ireland to wake up to.”
Review of Scarriff Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scarriff Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Caherdaniel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stopped here by chance, half waya round the Ring of Kerry. The signs says the best views in Ireland and they are correct. The car park is below the building, off the main road, with a separate entrance to the bedrooms. The room clean and tidy, size ok. Bathroom fine, shower only.
Internal stairs takes you to the bar and restaurants. Staff friendly and service prompt. Menu a good mixture. Food very tasty, including the special bread and butter pudding.
Waking up to the beautiful views was fantastic. Breakfast normal choice for Ireland the salmon very tasty. Personal service by the owner, nice lady. Extra drink and toast offered.
All for €35, fantastic.
Below the Scarriff Inn is a harbour and the Mass Walk to the nearby Abbey Island an easy way to walk off the breakfast. Although the path used by the locals years ago to attend church it may not be suitable for all.
A B&B to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HadsDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Scarriff Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stopped in for lunch and a pint. Extremely nice folks and delicious vegetable soup and carrot cake. The bread pudding was lovely as well. You cannot beat the view!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank andreaanne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Visited this pub for lunch as part of a tour group. I'm not sure it was the same restaurant others are talking about, because the food we had was pretty good. They had a cafeteria style buffet line set up, with fresh sandwiches, various desserts and sides, and hot dishes like stew and shepherd's pie on request. The hot dishes were a little pricey, but sandwiches and the like were very reasonable. I had a ham and cheese sandwich which was pretty good, and a slice of carrot cake which was really nice. My husband had the shepherd's pie which he really enjoyed. We did have to wait a few minutes for ice to be brought out for our iced tea. Based on my experience I would eat here again.

We did not stay at the hotel and I cannot comment regarding the service there.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The location of this old fashioned guest house is a great plus. Unfortunately the standard is poor and I would recommend to choose another place to stay. They do serve food, but the staff is not very hospitable. At least the grand views somewhat make up for this.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likesnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Ordered 2 adult main courses and 2 kids portions ,almost enedible and charged over the odds.Friendly staff but not a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank linegunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Though we were the only ones dining at the time, the restaurant served a very good early dinner, with equally good service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCCSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Go somewhere else. We a family of 5 were in an annex, an upstairs room which we were locked into, and had to wait for cleaners to try and get us out, it was a fire hazard. We were moved downstairs, to a room for 4. I supplied my own campbed, which I happened to have in the car, no linen was supplied, the shower door was off the hinges. On spending an hour in the bed I discovered that I was covered in flea bites, the fleas were caught in a glass and showed to the staff in reception, nobody cared and only refunded our first nights stay. I only remained there as we were attending a wedding nearby. They had tried to charge us 300 euro for two nights board and no breakfast, they then agreed to the price we had originally been quoted of 180 euro, we received half of this back. Sleeping in your car is the best option. Avoid this place at all costs. The views are fantastic but the place has'nt been properly looked after for years if ever and is a distant relic of the 70's. They are a disgrace.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aifricsadbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
4.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
159 reviews
4.6 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
269 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,110 reviews
23.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
5.7 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#4 of 13 in Waterville
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarriff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarriff Inn

Address: Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Scarriff Hotel Caherdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing