We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarriff Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scarriff Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Caherdaniel B&B and Inns
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Scariff in has a great mountain top view overlooking the ocean. The rooms are small and the beds are average at best. Nevertheless, the view makes up for any shortcomings that the inn has. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    8
    12
    24
See reviews for
21
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Scariff Inn is a gem of a hotel sitting on the most magnificent spot in all of Kerry. The owners and staff are most accommodating and the food is absolutely delicious. My family and I stayed at the Scariff for 6 days and each day we sampled another new dish ranging from fresh stone crabs to chicken curry to chicken fingers for the kids. Every meal was better than the precious one. The view of Atlantic ocean is breathtaking and there is a road that leads down to the ocean where we were ably swim. The trip was a great experience for the family and many memories were made.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galwaypole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stopped here by chance, half waya round the Ring of Kerry. The signs says the best views in Ireland and they are correct. The car park is below the building, off the main road, with a separate entrance to the bedrooms. The room clean and tidy, size ok. Bathroom fine, shower only.
Internal stairs takes you to the bar and restaurants. Staff friendly and service prompt. Menu a good mixture. Food very tasty, including the special bread and butter pudding.
Waking up to the beautiful views was fantastic. Breakfast normal choice for Ireland the salmon very tasty. Personal service by the owner, nice lady. Extra drink and toast offered.
All for €35, fantastic.
Below the Scarriff Inn is a harbour and the Mass Walk to the nearby Abbey Island an easy way to walk off the breakfast. Although the path used by the locals years ago to attend church it may not be suitable for all.
A B&B to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HadsDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stopped in for lunch and a pint. Extremely nice folks and delicious vegetable soup and carrot cake. The bread pudding was lovely as well. You cannot beat the view!

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaanne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Visited this pub for lunch as part of a tour group. I'm not sure it was the same restaurant others are talking about, because the food we had was pretty good. They had a cafeteria style buffet line set up, with fresh sandwiches, various desserts and sides, and hot dishes like stew and shepherd's pie on request. The hot dishes were a little pricey, but sandwiches and the like were very reasonable. I had a ham and cheese sandwich which was pretty good, and a slice of carrot cake which was really nice. My husband had the shepherd's pie which he really enjoyed. We did have to wait a few minutes for ice to be brought out for our iced tea. Based on my experience I would eat here again.

We did not stay at the hotel and I cannot comment regarding the service there.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

The location of this old fashioned guest house is a great plus. Unfortunately the standard is poor and I would recommend to choose another place to stay. They do serve food, but the staff is not very hospitable. At least the grand views somewhat make up for this.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likesnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Ordered 2 adult main courses and 2 kids portions ,almost enedible and charged over the odds.Friendly staff but not a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linegunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
4.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
An Gleantain
#6 of 6 in Caherdaniel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarriff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarriff Inn

Property: Scarriff Inn
Address: Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Scarriff Hotel Caherdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing