We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Galvins Cottage

Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Spectacular sea view Cosy & relaxing, get to read those several books reserved for the holidays
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Spectacular sea view
Cosy & relaxing, get to read those several books reserved for the holidays
Fully equipped kitchen to cook your favourite dishes
Peaceful sleep with spectacular sea view from the bedroom
Traditional bedsteads inkeeping with cottage ambience
Magical view out the bay from all rooms
Enjoy the view for breakfast, soak up the calm atmosphere, relax with your favourite book
Ocean view from Galvins
Derrynane Beach voted No.2  in Tripadvisor 'Traveler's Choice 'Top 10 Beaches — Ireland' 2016
Spectacular Derrynane Bay & Harbour as seen from the Ring of Kerry
Situated on the Wild Atlantic Way
Gaze at the stars, area designated as an Amazing Dark Sky Reserve for its pristine skies
Safe Swimming in Derrynane  Blue Flag Beach or long romantic walks, the choice is yours!
Surf the broad Atlantic
Safe swimming in local smaller beach
One of the many Local Kerry Way walking trails, through forest, coastline and hills
Spoilt for choice: Home baking for breakfast, walking, cycling, history
Rib trips, one of the many activities the area has to offer
Changing colours of the Ring of Kerry landscape
Music at the Blind Piper, Caherdaniel where excellent food is served also
Bathroom with overhead electric shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jats01
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I will start with the negatives. The accommodation is very compact, although the lounge seats 4 ( 2 seater sofa & 2 chairs), if the weather isn't being kind it is impossible for all to see the tiny TV screen without re jigging them. Only a few channels are received and a bit wobbly. The DVD player didn't work for us. Jospehine came to visit late on night half way through our stay to remind us that we had to pay for electricity and heating, and to leave the money on the table from the meter readings, this wasn't mentioned when booking ( we did receiver a chocolate gift though, nice touch). The shower, although hot, was very close to the wall and you had to bend backwards to get your head wet due to the position. Double check before you arrive at the cottage where to pick keys up, I only checked once we arrived in Caherdaniel, only to find out they were in the previous village, a 40min round trip back in the direction we came from!
Now the positives. This place is great, a peaceful location, away from the road on the hillside. Beautiful views from the cottage, you will never get bored of looking out to sea, it is stunning. The area is amazing, been quite a few places and the Kerry ring coast line is by far up there in the breathtaking scenery. My youngest son took part in a kids club at Derrynane sea sports, loved it, and open all weather, although only during holidays I think. O'Carrols is less than 10mins walk away, food good, nice bar. For the price we paid I would definitely recommend, and visit again if we were back in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lounge seating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for posting a review your family holiday at Galvins Cottage. We are very pleased that you all had an enjoyable holiday experience and especially that your son liked the sea sports. Thank you for highlighting the views & scenery for which the area is renowned plus the peace & quiet. However because the cottage is a genuine traditional one there are limitations on space. My apologies for the TV reception and the DVD player, both matters of which I was unaware and are now sorted. I am sorry about the timing of my visit. I make a point of meeting all guests personally to welcome them as soon as possible after their arrival, but unfortunately due to circumstances beyond my control I was unable to make it earlier on this occasion. The extra payment for utilities is mentioned on the website but I now realise may not be immediately visible when making a booking something I will redress. As always guests who plan a return visit are most welcome so we hope you manage to do so sometime in the future.
Thank you again,
Josephine & the O?Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and views”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at Galvins cottage mid August with my wife and 2 young children. The location for exploring the peninsula and beyond was great, and there are also plenty of things to do locally - we visited Derrynane beach several times, rain or shine. Food at The Blind Piper pub was really good, and we also visited The Vintage Tea Rooms, their home made curry and pizzas also recommended.
Josephine came to see us soon after we arrived and went through things about the house and local area. She recommended the fairy trail at Derrynane House Gardens, which if you have small children, is an absolute winner.
Electric and gas is an extra cost at the house, which we weren't aware of (booked through Holiday Lettings site), but Josephine kindly waived this due a couple of issues with the dishwasher (which was actually working) and washing machine (which had a fault but was fixed within 24 hours).
The main gripe I had was the fact I needed to do a thorough sweep and mop of the floors. No big deal, but with children crawling around I noticed the dust and dirt maybe more than others. A decent mat to wipe feet at the front door would help. Also the towels were slightly damp so needed a good airing before use.
Best feature by far is the wonderful views from the cottage, and we took every opportunity to eat outside at the rustic table and soak it up. And Josephine's home made banana loaf was delicious, so kind of her to bring it round for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give a detailed review of your holiday at Galvins Cottage. We are very pleased you discovered the beauty of the area in which its located together with the many attractions there are to explore. Our sincere apologies about the floor & the towels. We do appreciate the importance of cleanliness especially with children.
Thank you again,
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH1820
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish cottage with a spectacular view”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed a week at Galvin's Cottage and loved every minute. Josephine O'Neil is a gracious host and took the time to go over information about the surrounding area as soon as I got there. And later, stopped back with some honey from her farm! There is no other place like Caherdaniel and a stay Galvin's Cottage just makes it better. The first morning you sit outside and watch the sunrise...or the first evening you get a full moon and can watch it from the front yard...you'll see why.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the fireplace
Liked least: The shower took some getting used to
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for this excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted to hear you have such great memories to return home with. We are equally delighted that you plan to come back next year.
All the best,
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 May 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Galvins Cottage so much. Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of your holiday and for the reassurance about its location.
We really do hope you will be back soon.

Josephine & the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
County Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was cosy and the view spectacular.
Liked least: The fact we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
The O'Neill Family are especially pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in Galvins Cottage. It is good to know that you liked Derrynane Beach,the local restaurants and of course 'the night sky' We look forward to meeting you again when you pay a return visit. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated.
Josephine & The O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EmmieLou8...
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute cottage to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here for his birthday weekend. It was the perfect place to go and relax and unwind after Christmas.
It is a secluded, cosy little cottage on a hillside, overlooking the sea. It is basic and comfortable and in a good location, cloe to Caherdaniel Village and some amazing beaches.
I thought from the description that we could walk in & out of Caherdaniel at night time as it said it was only 1km away, but it is in fact about 3km away. Not a bad walk, but not safe to walk at night time. you can easily get a taxi from Freddies or the Blind Piper (definitely recommend going to Freddies, a great little spot with tonnes of character!! Freddie himself is brilliant).
I'll definitely come back again though, absolutely loved the surrounding area. The scenery is out of this world and utterly breath taking.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Galvins Cottage on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location,its atmosphere and surroundings. Apologies for stating the wrong distance to the village in the description, but we are happy that you found the taxi service good.
Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to meeting you again soon.
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulla K
Mariefred, Sweden
1 review
“We loved the place.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Galvin cottage was perfect, we loved the Place. The view over the ocean, the fireplace. the kitchen was well equiped. The beds were perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace
Liked least: bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your 2 week stay at Galvins Cottage so much and thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Thank you again and all the best.
Josephine & the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;