We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Nearby Hotels
US$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
40
56
33
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
56
33
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallshared bathroomoriginal placenice living roommeet other travellersstay somewhere elsegreat atmospheresingle roomstayed one nightarctic circleplace to stayin townpolar bearensuitesummersealhallway
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at Gruveriggen (same buidling as the reception) for a week in April. Had av very good stay. The staff is friendly and service-minded and it has a good location! It is not the typical hotel - if you are looking for that, stay somewhere else... it has a very homey feeling with a common kitchen and a big living room. Shared barthrooms worked just fine with hot water 24/7.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Polarriggen for four nights in August 2011. We found it to be a fantastic experience and exceeded our expectations, so much in fact that I'm staying there again in March 2012. We found the staff extremely helpful and courteous, they booked excursions for us and made our stay most enjoyable. The rooms are indeed small but full of character. The shared bathrooms are not a problem as you're able to lock the bathroom door to use it privately. The breakfasts were very good, there's a cold buffet with cheese, meats, salad etc together with omelettes which were very good. We'd eat breakfast whilst watching the two Arctic foxes awaiting their food that the staff gave them. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings but will try it in March. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere different to stay in Svalbard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Despite having shared bathrooms I would still return. There are many bathrooms and sharing turned out not to be an issue. The hotel is very different with lots of old mining gear as it used to be miners' quarters. The main bar and restaurant are very bright and airy, serving excellent food, including vegetarian. Reasonable prices too.
Lots of lounging and chatting areas...and good views of arctic foxes!
It is slightly out of town, but only a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElwynRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is an interesting place to stay and not your usual hotel. The location is also quite good and to get to the town center you can just cross the bridge spanning across the tundra. In the winter Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is a good place to stay but in the summer more places are open and some may offer better value.

The bunks are all standard sizes which were previously used to accommodate miners. However, the room is indeed quite small and some guests may complain. The toilets and showers are shared by all. I did encounter a minor problem with one of the boilers running out of hot water. The boilers were pretty big, so I am not sure why. The lack of ventilation seems to be the other problem with the toilets so I think installing some air deodorizers will certainly make the place more pleasant. Some amenities in the polarrigg can be rather basic so functional seems to be the theme here. The kitchen for guests is also quite small and it could really use some updating on the kitchen appliances especially the microwave.

See all the photos we took at http://www.globe-nomads.com/2011/05/review-of-mary-ann%e2%80%99s-polarrig-svalbard-norway.html

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We choose the Polarrig after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews and we loved it! It is a bit out from the touristy centre of town, but that gives you a chance to explore some of the more practical parts that keep Longyearbyen ticking over. We stopped over at both ends of a GAP Arctic Expedition and enjoyed it very much - but then we don't like big impersonal chain hotels. We splashed out a bit and stayed in one of the rooms in the cabin by the entrance. These have an ensuite shower and toilet, so no need to share. Not the largest I've ever seen but clean, comfortable, homely and functioning.
Apart from the interesting decor - fancy breakfast in a mock coal mine?, what really made it for us was the food in the evening. The menu looked good, with a selection of local foods and more 'international' dishes. The prices compared well with other eateries in the town. Not everything was available, but those that we and our new friends tried were excellent. The fish is particularly good.
And there were Arctic foxes playing nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatleyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews