We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You deserve a special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You deserve a special experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you are in the group of people (like me) who travel to far-away places that do not offer the usual vacation experiences, if you like the midnight sun or the northern lights Svalbard is the place to go. Then why check in to a hotel that looks like every other hotel in the world? Mary-Ann offers a unique experience, with a lovely winter garden, an outdoor hot pool where you're allowed to take a bath without clothes, but can wear a swim suit if you like. The places around you can visit are plenty, just check a Svalbard website. The friendly people at the Polarrigg will also help you. I will certainly return as soon as I can. I stayed there last week for the second time, and it won't be the last.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a hotel standard or rather save money for trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knutsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    47
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
16
28
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
halmstad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A very unusual place, located in a industry area of longyearbyen.not in the absolute center, but everything is close here. The hotel looks like it is made from driftwood and has lots of mining merorabilia inside. The owner mary ann is quite eccentric but friendly.Standard rooms are very tiny with bunk beds of ok standard. The hotel is totally ok if you dont expect 5-star accomodation. Stay away from breakfast though,which is bad value for the money. Add a few bucks and walk over to sas radisson for a very nice buffe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halmstadbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå, Sverige
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at Gruveriggen (same buidling as the reception) for a week in April. Had av very good stay. The staff is friendly and service-minded and it has a good location! It is not the typical hotel - if you are looking for that, stay somewhere else... it has a very homey feeling with a common kitchen and a big living room. Shared barthrooms worked just fine with hot water 24/7.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Polarriggen for four nights in August 2011. We found it to be a fantastic experience and exceeded our expectations, so much in fact that I'm staying there again in March 2012. We found the staff extremely helpful and courteous, they booked excursions for us and made our stay most enjoyable. The rooms are indeed small but full of character. The shared bathrooms are not a problem as you're able to lock the bathroom door to use it privately. The breakfasts were very good, there's a cold buffet with cheese, meats, salad etc together with omelettes which were very good. We'd eat breakfast whilst watching the two Arctic foxes awaiting their food that the staff gave them. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings but will try it in March. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere different to stay in Svalbard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Despite having shared bathrooms I would still return. There are many bathrooms and sharing turned out not to be an issue. The hotel is very different with lots of old mining gear as it used to be miners' quarters. The main bar and restaurant are very bright and airy, serving excellent food, including vegetarian. Reasonable prices too.
Lots of lounging and chatting areas...and good views of arctic foxes!
It is slightly out of town, but only a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElwynRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is an interesting place to stay and not your usual hotel. The location is also quite good and to get to the town center you can just cross the bridge spanning across the tundra. In the winter Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is a good place to stay but in the summer more places are open and some may offer better value.

The bunks are all standard sizes which were previously used to accommodate miners. However, the room is indeed quite small and some guests may complain. The toilets and showers are shared by all. I did encounter a minor problem with one of the boilers running out of hot water. The boilers were pretty big, so I am not sure why. The lack of ventilation seems to be the other problem with the toilets so I think installing some air deodorizers will certainly make the place more pleasant. Some amenities in the polarrigg can be rather basic so functional seems to be the theme here. The kitchen for guests is also quite small and it could really use some updating on the kitchen appliances especially the microwave.

See all the photos we took at http://www.globe-nomads.com/2011/05/review-of-mary-ann%e2%80%99s-polarrig-svalbard-norway.html

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We choose the Polarrig after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews and we loved it! It is a bit out from the touristy centre of town, but that gives you a chance to explore some of the more practical parts that keep Longyearbyen ticking over. We stopped over at both ends of a GAP Arctic Expedition and enjoyed it very much - but then we don't like big impersonal chain hotels. We splashed out a bit and stayed in one of the rooms in the cabin by the entrance. These have an ensuite shower and toilet, so no need to share. Not the largest I've ever seen but clean, comfortable, homely and functioning.
Apart from the interesting decor - fancy breakfast in a mock coal mine?, what really made it for us was the food in the evening. The menu looked good, with a selection of local foods and more 'international' dishes. The prices compared well with other eateries in the town. Not everything was available, but those that we and our new friends tried were excellent. The fish is particularly good.
And there were Arctic foxes playing nearby!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatleyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary-Ann's Polarrigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary-Ann's Polarrigg

Property: Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Address: Skjaeringa | Postboks 17, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary-Ann's Polarrigg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us up north at Mary-Ann`s Polarrigg, a somewhat different Hotel/Rig in Longyearbyen. Here at Mary-Ann`s we have a relaxed and homey environment that will suite everybody.Stay as the miners did back in the days in our authentic Miners Rig, or if you prefer Hotel standard you can try our Luxury Rig instead.In the day time we can assist in booking of trips from our local tour operators or if you just want a day of relaxation in our onsite spa that is also possible. For groups we can also offer a fully equipped conference room.In the evening you can try food from our delicious menu in our Vinterhagen Restaurant where we serve both Thai food and traditional Norwegian and Arctic food.Come join us for an experience of a lifetime here at Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Mary-Ann's Polarrigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary-Ann`s Polarrigg Hotel Longyearbyen
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing