We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$175
eDreamsUS$175
PricelineUS$175
Agoda.comUS$176
TripadvisorUS$167
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
72
82
39
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
82
39
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small cozy atmosphere arctic svalbard trips hostel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I stayed at Mary-Ann´s for ca 1 week during the summer of 2016 and I can very warmly recommend the place. Mary-Ann did everything in her power to help out people, and during the brief time I stayed there, she managed to help many people to get a roof over their heads in the hectic high-season when lodging was hard to find in Longyearbyen.

The rooms were rather noisy and the walls so thin that it was actually difficult to get some sleep but the atmosphere was very cosy. Free internet but with no or very limited availability in areas outside the cosy common-place. The breakfast can not be said to be worth the price and was a rather sad, but typical Norwegian, sight. The food in the restaurant, while exceptionally tasty and definitely professionally made, would probably have been even tastier if other things than whale and seal-meat had been on the meny, but that's of course only my personal view.

If you have problems sleeping in a brightly "lit" room during the night, there are sadly no possibilities to make the rooms dark during night which might be problem for some people during the midnight-sun period.

All in all, if you're looking for a reasonably priced place close to the "city centre" I can definitely recommend Mary-Ann´s and I would not hesitate to choose the same lodging again in the future.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oikopleura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

For the price offered..you get a tiny room with a very small bed. that's it. Absolutely nothing more. No bathroom(only on corridor), no tv, no wifi in the room. Of course you hear everything from the corridor as well.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TDED
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stayed two nights, separated by 12 days. Different rooms but both clean and comfy. Wifi worked well in both rooms. The bathrooms were basic but adequate with hot water. Towels are provided but apart from shower gel there are no other toiletries. The curtains in the first room could have been darker but in the second room, no problem with the light. Only complaint was both rooms were too hot. Breakfast was simple but adequate and a joy to eat in the dining room watching the birds and raiindeer. Lots of history on the walls and some quirky objects and photos to amuse you. For the price I prefer to stay there, rather than the other rather anonymous hotels in Longyearbyen.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I've been here 4 nights ( 20/24 july/2016).
Position: about 300 mt distance from the center.
Rooms: clean, comfortable bed.

Point of weakness: bathroom: very very small, we did not have the towels changed for 4 days straight. But you could expect it ( maybe not in a Hotel)
Starting 23th, lunch time, hot water went off, we had to stay 24hours without it.
They said that it was a "central" problem, not their fault. Problems can obviously happen, but i would have expected at least a little discount ( I paid 1.130 Euro), they just said: not our fault, that's it.
Considering that the average temperature was 4 degrees, we had to take 2 showers with freezing water, after a long day hiking.
This is NOT the way you treat customers.
Not recommended.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank juliancarax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Clean and tidy room but very basic. No WiFi and TV in the room. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.
The breakfast was also basic but nothing to complain about.
Value for the money? Questionable...

Room tip: Costly compared to the standard but that goes for many things in Spitsbergen.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 343andersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews