We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$175
eDreamsUS$175
PricelineUS$175
Agoda.comUS$176
TripadvisorUS$167
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
72
82
39
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
82
39
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small cozy atmosphere arctic svalbard trips hostel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We, as a group of photographers, had just finished spending twelve days quite far north of 78ºN chasing polar bears, arctic foxes, walrus, noting the loss millions of sea birds from previous photographs and living aboard a ship. The food was quite sumptuous and the crew was great tome with. We just needed a great meal to sit down to, savor the food, drink and conversation without the constant swaying and rocking of ship. We got all of that Mary-Ann's Polarigg restaurant. We ordered three reindeer fillets and one Arctic Trout. The sauce that came with the reindeer was fabulous and the reindeers not the typical venison. I was aged and prepared properly. Our server most gracious and more than willing to pour the wine as it was required. I actually felt like we were in Paris as she was always aware of our needs for a refill our wine or water. She was also maintaining a watch on three other tables in her section of the dining room. The dining room, We are almost out of normal travels being at 78ºN and they try to maintain the ambience of two areas of the dining room. The forest or the view of the mountains. We chose the mountains as it was nice to not watch the waves that we saw and felts for tweklve days. Dessert: We ordered two Ice creams with a warm compote of fresh berries that were terrific and really hit the spot. We ordered an Italian Masi Compofiori that maintained its flavor and bouquet throughout the meal. It was 2275, right as we expected and would return again when we return to Longyearbyen

Room tip: We were there to evaluate the restaurant, not the hotel. It does not appear to have the character of the restaurant.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 943RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Mary-Ann's has a real sense of faded glory. Tucked away near the centre of Longyearbyen it has all the makings of an eclectic, fun and welcoming place to stay.

Sadly, it isn't.

As we arrived, there was no word of welcome. No smile. Nothing. And this continued through our stay.

It felt like a place that desperately needed it's soul back but instead it had lost its mojo. And didn't seem to care.

It doesn't feel like it will take much to make it a great place. But right now it isn't.

That said, the water was piping hot.

Cone on. Get your act together. Get your mojo back. Smile. Be welcoming. And at least pretend to care.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ajtbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Did not stay at the hotel, but went to the restaurant on recommendation from our own hotel. And it was not a let down. Had cod cheeks for starter and then a seal stake - medium rare. A once in a lifetime experience. And the ambience in the large conservatory is quite unique with the late evening sun outside. Highly recommended if you find yourself in Longyearbyen.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Agust_Hjortur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

After watching the BBC TV series ‘Life on the edge’ I was sold on the idea of staying at Mary-Anne’s for my 3 day trip to Svalbard.

I booked a single room with shared bathroom, which was small but comfortable, although lacking any in room facilities such as TV, tea and coffee making facilities, glasses/cups or a fridge for that matter. There is a TV room and there was also wifi throughout the hotel including my room which was a little patchy but ok. There are numerous bathrooms including one with a huge bath making for a pleasant soak after a day on the snow.

Vinterhagen restaurant serves breakfast which is a cold buffet for 140 NOK. Dinner is also served and the menu was limited to seafood or the steak which was ok if not a little expensive. The bar has a good selection of drinks and pints of Mack beer were 59 NOK, pretty good for Norway.

The airport bus stops at the hotel first after leaving the airport and last pick up on the way back. Return ticket was 120 NOK. If leaving for OSL around lunchtime, prepare for long security queues, there is a deluge of flights coming and going around the same time. Likewise you will face long waits in OSL going through immigrations and security if transferring.

Location is a little out of the Main Street, but can be reached in 7-10 minute walk. There is Co-op supermarket there, so you can stock up on supplies, plus a few restaurants, bars and shops.

This type of hotel isn’t normally my choice of establishment but overall I enjoyed my authentic stay. I recommend this hotel for those looking to save money and soak up the querkiness of the place.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank littletokyo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Staying at Mary-Anns Polarrigg is highly recommended. It is very ‘authentic’, but what it lacks in luxury, it compensates ten fold on the warm, cosy, and relaxed atmosphere and central location.

The concept is to use old mining barracks, and have them serve as a hotel. It is well carried out, it is very laid back. It is clean and absolutely worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank RovingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews