We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice days in the summertime”
Review of Guest House 102

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guest House 102
Certificate of Excellence
Roedovre, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some nice days in the summertime”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice cosy atmosphere in the hostel.
"All" residents had a fine time in the kitchen doing there stew and shearing a glass between the guests.
Only place i have visited where one could where riffle, sunglasses and camara at midnight at the restaurant. Though to handle in the riffle in before getting a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Funckrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Google Translation
Tahnks.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    84
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
49
120
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, København, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent a week in Longyearbyen and enjoyed our stay at the guest house very much. The weather was NOT permitting much outdoor activity.

Even so, the atmosphere of our accommodation and hospitality of our host made our stay memorable and we are returning in the hope that we can explore the surroundings more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MilleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Thank you for the rate.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

This is separate buildings of the old mining accommodation. The blinds don't keep out the midnight sun so you have to sleep with a teeshirt tied over your eyes. At midnight a large french group arrived home and proceeded to party in the kitchen and corridor areas for a few hours. Because there is no reception you can't complain after evening. You are at the mercy of groups who can't behave themselves. Stay at Spitzbergen hotel instead as this place is silly. Also when I arrived the first time at midnight from flight my pick up key said building 7 which did not exist and I was walking around in the cold trying to work out which building I was in. Only a passing former staff member helped me out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabretoothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Unfortunately, it refers to Spitsbergen Guesthouse.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Guesthouse 102 represents great value for money anywhere in the world, especially considering that you are in Norway. The owner is friendly and helpful and gave good sightseeing advice. A nice breakfast was also provided (included in the price). Everything was very clean, with a relaxing TV room where you could enjoy a cold beer. Recommended to all.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank tom_brownage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Thank you.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

100+ Euros for no shower or toilet on the room. Simple rooms, nothing fancy. No free internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Try another Place, but thank you for staying With us and time for the feedback.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The Guesthouse 102 is - as it seems - Longyearbyen's cheapest accomodation option. While the rooms - at best spartiate doubles with a wash basin, a small table and not much more - are okay, they are certainly not worth the money. At least not anywhere else in the world. But this is Spitsbergen. Nevertheless, some more competition in the budget segment would certainly not be bad for tourists.

The situation in Nyben, at the very end of Longyearbyen, is definitely not the best unless you want to eat at Huset every night. It is a good 30 minutes walk into town. However, most travel agencies will pick you up if you book their excursions, and the 102 rents mountain bikes at NOK100 - a not so bad alternative to get around.

Breakfast was acceptable, but again more youth hostel than hotel like. The lady at the reception was nice and helpful, even not very talkative.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the place if it cost a third of its price, and given the generally high price level at Longyearbyen, I recommend it again, but without big enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Issyk-Kul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse102, Front Office Manager at Guest House 102, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Thank you.
Olena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longyearbyen
1.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.9 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barentsburg Hotel
Barentsburg Hotel
#1 of 2 in Barentsburg
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House 102? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House 102

Property: Guest House 102
Address: Nybyen | pb 163, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House 102 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse 102 is a budget accommodation located in Nybyen, about 2 km from the center of Longyearcity. From 1946 till 2001 the guesthouse was the home of the minors. In 1999 barrack 102 became a Guesthouse 102. The Guesthouse 102 has 61 beds (single rooms, double rooms and 4 person quads). We offer lodging with character, casual atmosphere, history and soul. The standard is simple but pleasant «Welcome to Guesthouse 102, your home away from home». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Guest House 102 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gjestehuset 102 (Guest House 102) Hotel Longyearbyen
Guest House 102 Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing