We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left my heart in Longyearbyen”
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basecamp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Trapper's Hotel, Longyearbyen, is by far the most exotic, unique and vibrating place I've ever visited. The combination of a particularily knowledgeable staff, great atmosphere and stunningly authentic "trapper's lodge"-style rooms made my four days at Spitsbergen highly memorable. I stayed from 30 December until 3 January, and had the wonderful opportunity of experiencing an authentic Spitsbergian new years eve, in all its hospitality and joy, to which the Trapper's Hotel was a perfect backdrop. The hotel facilitates for and offers dog sledding, snowmobile trips and longer expeditions, and much more. Definitely the most yolo'ish hotel I've ever been to. Go and be thrilled!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EirikWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel was exactly how we imagined a perfect Svalbard hotel to be. Warm and cozy interiors, friendly staff and all day access to coffee.

We stayed in the suite, room 1, which has six beds in two rooms and a loft. None of the beds are double, but they are all fairly wide. The view was great and the hotel was a perfect base for snowmobile-, or dog sledding trips. Don't forget your drivers license if you're going snow mobiling!

The only thing that stuck out was the design of the bath rooms. With worn photo wallpaper these were a bit odd to the rest of the interior design. Having said that, the bathrooms were still clean and modern.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreasTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We got delayed on the way to Svalbard; had planned a couple activities and they were all flexible in moving the dates. But not this hotel - they were greedy and wanted full payment for all nights, no matter if we were there or not. Consider twice before booking Trappers hotel who stick to their very harsh rules.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Middelaged2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampSP, Manager at Basecamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Sir / Madam

We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service – especially when we actually are really flexible with our accommodation and trips. Up here on Spitsbergen there can be bad weather or you might get delayed flights and for any these types of reasons we will always arrange the trip in best possible way for our guests. Sometimes this means changing the dates and sometimes it means changing the activities but most of our customers are really happy with the flexibility we have. In this case I think it was not really clear why you wanted to change the dates for your holiday, and thus our receptionist had to stick to our general terms and conditions. We are really sorry that this caused you inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to the High Arctic. Basecamp Trapper's Hotel is really unique in that it is built of wood to resemble a trapper's hut. Inside it is very cosy decorated in an eclectic settlement style. The friendly staff aims to please. We arranged through the staff a dogsled ride followed by a dinner of reindeer stew served in a hut lighted by candles. Talk about Arctic atmosphere! Breakfast in the hotel dining room was excellent and varied. I think it is the perfect place to stay in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Wow, what an amazing little place. It was quite expensive, but so unique, it was worth every penny. The staff were delightful and very helpful. We had a large cabin at the end of the corridor which meant we had an amazing very of two glaciers from our sitting area (unfortunately, someone else is building alongside them soon and that perfect view will be lost), very sad. The restaurant that is joined to the hotel by a door (Kroa) was very good and it was wonderful to be able to go to dinner in your socks!! Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxury_Traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Trappers is a fun and welcoming place to stay in Svalbard. It's cosy and the free tea, coffee and chocolate available all day is a great great.

Trappers is attached to a great bar (kroa) that serves the cheapest beer in Norway and some traditional food, including Whale, Seal and Reindeer.

Yes it is expensive, the most expensive hotel we've stayed in at over £250 a night but its comparative to the rest of accommodation on Svalbard. We had a room on the ground floor next to the door which prompted worry about noise but no need. The rooms are small but cosy and the blackout blinds hide the midnight sun. Breakfast is amazing!

We went to Huset restaurant and did their tasting menu with wine menu which was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place is unique and very special! Although I am a stylish person (actually I was at the wrong destination up here so close to the North Pole, hehe but I was just curious to look around how things are here so far up north).
The interior of this hotel is VERY special and beautiful, if you are into woodden constructions. I loved it, and it fascinated me a lot... The lady at check in handed me over my room key, which was hang on a bone which you usually give to a dog ;-) Then she asked me kindly (in the lobby!!) to take off my shoes, because this is a policy of the hotel. Never did so before in all my life in a hotel lobby, but here it was great fun. The receptionist escorted me to my room number 4. It was veeeery beautiful in its woodden simplicity. Woodden floor. Woodden beds. Woodden walls. Woodden ceilings. It is VERY cosy in those rooms, and that is the way a stay should be in Longyearbyen! Special! Unique!
The lobby is very nicely done - simple but very tasteful! The ladies who are cleaning (the place is very well kept!) are from.... Thailand, and while they are cleaning they listen to soft Thai music. I loved that, it gives it a REAL cosmopolitan touch! Funny, isn't it? There is quite a large Thai community living im Svalbard... Bathrooms are small and basic, but with exciting photo wallpapers showing snow and ice scenes of the islands here! Well done!
Breakfast is served in a most charming room (also here a lot of wood around - very special, because here on the islands you can not even find one single tree...).
All in all it is rather a lodge than a hotel. It is simple, but very, very special. If I ever came back here I would not have to think even a minute where to stay. ONLY HERE! I loved it, it impressed me. It is not perfect, but gives you the best impression of what about life is here in the Arctic.
Central and very good location in the middle of Longyearbyen.
Prices are high, but that's Norway. And Svalbard is even much more expensive than Norway mainland...

Room Tip: I saw many rooms - they are all quite small but veeeeery special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.1 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.4 mi away
Funken Lodge
Funken Lodge
#3 of 4 in Longyearbyen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gjestehuset 102
Gjestehuset 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: Main street of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Trapper's Hotel)
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £154 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Hotel is situated right at the heart of Longyearbyen, among restaurants, pubs, shops and bank. It is absolutely Longyearbyen's most amazing hotel; decorated in traditional trapper's style with driftwood, sealskins, pictures and objects that illustrate the past and current trappers' life in the Arctic. Despite its rusticity, Basecamp Hotel offers high quality accommodation with unique style! Basecamp Hotel is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions to Isfjord Radio, Trapper’s Station and Nordenskiöld Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing