We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spirit of Svalbard”
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Basecamp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Everyone who worked here was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and included goblets of black currants and make-your-own waffles. The beds (twin and bunk) were comfortable, and the triple room was spacious and had appealing décor. The downtown location was excellent, right between a good restaurant (Kroa) and Svalbar, a nice place for a light (i.e., cheaper) meal. The sitting area by the front desk has coffee, tea, and biscuits, and is a comfortable place to read and to meet fellow travelers.

Note that although Basecamp Spitsbergen has other facilities, Trapper’s Hotel is its only location in Longyearbyen and most locals refer to it as Basecamp.

Trapper’s Hotel reflects Svalbard’s history of explorers and trappers: lots of sealskin seat covers, a stuffed arctic fox, and a polar bear rug hanging on the wall. If that bothers you, Svalbard might not be the best destination.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank orangerook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel suits its location to a tee! It is completely different from anywhere else you might ever stay. My room was as small as it could be, yet it was perfect for a single traveller, and the type of place you meet other interesting fellow travellers. It was also very warm, as are all buildings in Longyearbyen with their common central heating system. Keeping the window open solved that problem, with no fear of noise from such a quiet environment. Breakfast is lovely, with a waffle maker for guests to use. Room keys are attached to a doggy bone chew, so no fear of bringing it home by mistake. There was a lovely resident German Shepherd dog by his kennel outside the front-I guess it's not a good idea to flash the koom key bone in front of him or he might play "fetch". A great little hotel in a fascinating destination!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you have the misfortune, as I did, of only being in Longyearbyen for a couple of nights, make this your hotel. What might seem kitchy at first is actually an incredibly well maintained and beautifully decorated hotel in a place where both are a rarity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hmm, I wrote a nice and long review of the hotel, and I lost it due to time-out. :-(

Anyhow, this is by far the best hotel we have stayed anywhere in the world, and I do mean it.

We also stayed at Radisson Blu Polar hotel, but there is no comparison to this one. This one beats Radisson Blu in all accounts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank man0haran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was here in may for two nights at the beginning and end of a dogsledding trip with Basecamp Spitsbergen. Booked the accommodation through the tour operator. Was not really sure what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived early afternoon with the morning Norwegian flight and took the bus to the hotel. Cosy reception area with coffee and tea available all day and lot's of wood everywhere. We're given keys to our room straightaway and we're lucky as we got a big room with two additional bedroom at the back of the property. As stated in the other reviews, beds are bunk bed style with one 'lits jumeaux' double for couples that don't mind snuggling up. Bathroom basic but OK and nice amenities. Decoration In room was really nice and, would it not have been such nice weather outside, we would probably have been in the room reading a book and looking outside to the mountains the whole afternoon.

Outside of the Lobby and the Breakfast room, the other public space is the bar/lounge on the top floor where you can look outside through the glass roof (nice in winter with Nordic lights I think) which was comfy as well. Did not spend too much time here.

In the evening we had dinner at the Kroa restaurant that is linked to the hotel, there was a local wedding going on with a lot of singing. Food was good, beer tasted great and the overall atmosphere was really nice. Would recommend for dinner.

Breakfast next day was good: they had a waffle machine (like any other hotel in Norway, why does the rest of the world not start copying this!)and the other offering was good.. also had a couple of more experimental local delicacies.

So all in all: Really nice place to stay. We also visited some of the other hotels and as you're going to spend a fortune on a hotel here anyway, you might as well make it something special. You'll find that in this hotel. A lot of the other hotels seemed like the standard hotels that you find everywhere else.

Room Tip: make sure to request room with bathroom (from the floorplan we noticed that not all rooms had this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampSpitsbergen, Manager at Basecamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi, hope your travel home safe!
Thank you for your kind words and well described review. We hope that this will bring more guests to our hotel.
And it's no better way to start your day than with fresh fried waffles!

We would just like to give others some information about our bathrooms if this has been unclear at some point, there is bathrooms with showers in all of our rooms.

We hope you will one day return to us at Trappers Hotel and Longyearbyen
Its been a pleasure having you here!

Best regards Sandra Hällsten, Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Authentic and fun place in Longyearbyen. Rooms are basic with bunk beds ( except a nice double bed in room 16), very friendly staff, good advise for excursions and excellent breakfast buffet. Good location and outstanding service, the reception staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Trappers has the rustic charm of a historic trappers lodge but with service and amenities for a modern traveler. Good-sized room for 3, nice shower with good water pressure, very friendly and accommodating staff, delicious and filling breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.4 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gjestehuset 102
Gjestehuset 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: Main street of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Trapper's Hotel)
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £119 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Hotel is situated right at the heart of Longyearbyen, among restaurants, pubs, shops and bank. It is absolutely Longyearbyen's most amazing hotel; decorated in traditional trapper's style with driftwood, sealskins, pictures and objects that illustrate the past and current trappers' life in the Arctic. Despite its rusticity, Basecamp Hotel offers high quality accommodation with unique style! Basecamp Hotel is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions to Isfjord Radio, Trapper’s Station and Nordenskiöld Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing