We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, free wifi en nespresso coffee”
Review of Svalbard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Svalbard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed over for 5 nights, really nice hotel, friendly and helpfull staff en excellent breakfast just across the street. Much more intimate than the Radison Blu. You can have nice dinner as well in restaurant Kroa just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, with same view towards the center. the third floot has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I were surprised that we had to go through passport control at Tromso Airport to fly to Spitsbergen, but we were delighted that we booked the Svalbard Hotel. It is centrally located and relatively new (and clean).

The staff--especially Torill--were friendly and very helpful with booking activities. We chose a mountain hike (around $70 per person at current exchange rates), a PolarCirkel (Zodiac-like fast boat) 8-hour trip to Van Post Glacier (about $150) and a fossil hike ($70) in the snow.

Breakfast was across the street, but that was no problem. The hotel is close to all the shops, the super market and the so-so restaurants that seem to specialize in $30 hamburgers.

Most of the hotels in Longyearbyen charge between $250-300 per night, so the Svalbard Hotel was a bargain.

Room Tip: In June, the sun never goes down, so be prepared to sleep for just a few hours before starting the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip. On arrival, the receptionist issued a personal keycode that allowed entry to the hotel front door and my room. Good idea as it means not having to carry keys, which those here for skiing holidays very happy with. The rooms are clean and have great big pictures of the local flora and fauna on the walls. The whole place feels fresh and looked after. The wi-fi is unusually seamless with no problems connecting almost immediately. You have to go to the "Svalbar" for breakfast, which is just a short 2 minute walk. The breakfast itself was fine but it felt strange eating breakfast in a bar which had been full of party-goers the night before. Overall, a nice wee hotel but remember that you have to leave your boots in the foyer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a small cosy and intimate hotel with very modern room that gives you just the right mood for your visit at Svalbard.
High standard bathroom as well.

The reception is only open at daytime and the breakfast is just over the street.
The staff is very friendly like all other people you meet up there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great location in the middle of the village and a short walk to everywhere. Very modern room and bathroom. Nice place to have coffee and biscuits whenever you like. I went down early in the morning and sat around in my pyjames (sorry to all the other guests who saw me!)

Breakfast across the road is very reasonable.

Free wi-fi.

Service by all the receptionists was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

New hotel with nice size Scandinavian style (light!) rooms, very centrally located - we walked everywhere! Nice little corner with free coffee and cookies right next to the reception.

The hotel does not have a 24 hour reception, but the staff were there when we needed it and very helpful.

The price is influenced by the fact that there are not a whole lot of accommodations to choose from in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cece1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We were lucky enought to try this hotel just as it opened in March 2011, and believe this is certainly going to be a hit amongst mid-budget travellers. We all know that staying in Svalbard is expensive, and it feels a bit of a waste to spend lots of money on accomodation when you spend most of the day out on excursions anyway. That is why they have built this place. There is no restaurant on site, but just across the road is "Kroa", a great place for lunch or dinner. Breakfast which is included in the room, is served at Icebar, 100 meters down the road, on ground floor of the sister place Svalbard Lodge. Svalbard Lodge is a self-catering apartment style lodging, where you can prepare your own food, or have breakfast downstairs at Icebar. I have stayed there before, and the apartments are really nice and roomy. Breakfast is unfortunately the only drawback about Svalbard Hotel. Things like milk, juice, ham and cheese is not kept cold, so if you arrive just before breakfast closing, you'll find that most is very warm and sweaty. Also the scrambled eggs are not of the standard I would prefer. But all of these things can be fixed if focused on - like cooling arrangements.... The service of hotel manager, Marcela is fantastic. She greets you like you were coming to stay with her at home, and she does everything in her power to help out with any question or problem you may have. The rooms are decorated in a warm and cozy style - quite different from most other hotels with wooden walls, colored in grey, LED lighting all over the hotel, and fantastic photo wall paper in all rooms. All rooms have different wallpaper photos from Svalbard. The bathroom has a shower or bathtub, so make sure you specify your preference when making a booking. The lobby area is overlooking the main street of Longyearbyen and "Kroa" restaurant at Basecamp, so the location couldn't be better. Since there is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, the location is very nice an quiet. A good nights sleep is what you want after being outdoors all day and enjoying a fantastic dinner at one of restaurants afterwards. The hotel door is closed all the time and you'll need your hotel room key code to enter the hotel. Makes the place feel very secure.The dining in Longyearbyen is overall fantastic and clearly above average for a small place like this! "Huset" is by far the most classy and gourmet style restaurant in town. They also arrange visits to their fantastic wine cellar, and their staff show geniune interest and lots of knowledge about food and wine. Lots of history around the place and they have created an intimate atmosphere in their newly redecorated restaurant. Check it out! Or else "Kroa" is my favourite dining option - check out their chocolate fondant!!!!!!!!!!! You won't find it better anywhere!
All in all I'd doubt you'll find better value for money in Longyearbyen than Svalbard Hotel at the moment - at least if you're looking for hotel style accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.5 mi away
Funken Lodge
Funken Lodge
#3 of 4 in Longyearbyen
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gjestehuset 102
Gjestehuset 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svalbard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svalbard Hotel

Address: Postboks 538, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £133 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Svalbard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svalbard Hotel consists of three separate buildings; The new main building, opened in February 2016, offers 22 double rooms inkl 2 handicap friendly rooms and 2 family rooms, 3 superior double rooms, 5 Delux double rooms and 1 Polar bear suite. The second building, located right across the street, is the previous main building with 17 double rooms, including 2 handicap-friendly rooms. This part of the hotel also offers conference facilities for small groups. In the new building, we have a wine bar with quality wines from all over the world, beer from the local Svalbard Brewery and the new Restaurant at Svalbard hotel offers a soup buffet-lunch, and an Asian-nordic inspired a la carte at night. The third building - Svalbard Lodge, offers 10 apartments located just about 50 meters from Svalbard hotel. The apartments have fully equipped kitchens, washing machine and all the necessities you might need for a longer stay or to live a normal family life on you vacation. Both the Hotel and Lodge are situated in the heart of Longyearbyen, only a few meters from various restaurants, bars, shopping center and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Svalbard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svalbard Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing