We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean, efficient, great for no-frills travellers”
Review of Svalbard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Svalbard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New, clean, efficient, great for no-frills travellers”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

On the end of the main street of the tiny town - easy walk to the supermarket, post office, shops, restaurants, museums etc.

Great WiFi and good free breakfast buffet diagonally across the street at Svalbar, the restaurant/bar at their sister hotel. The Trappers Hotel is just opposite - they have an awesome restaurant called Kroa.

Front office was super nice and helpful - office hours 7.30am-8pm (not 4pm as a previous reviewer mentioned) which was sufficient for us.

Clean, simple rooms with keyless code entry. Airport bus stops two steps away, although if you're more than 2 people, a taxi is a better deal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank katie_elley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    134
    23
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
160
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
334 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Nice hotel located at the end of the main street.
Looks quite new, with big rooms. Very clean and a nice plce to stay for a weekend in Longyearbyen.
Front desk staff is friendly and helps with information.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Small itself however rooms are big enough and cosy by that. Very clean and comfortable. A big plus and great solution is heated floor in the bathroom. After all day outside in a snow and low temperature this is just amazing.
Staff very friendly, especially lovely and fully informed Swedish, blond Lady. Thank You for the answers for all my questions ;)
Yes for breakfast you have to go to the lace next to, which is around 30 seconds away so no big drama. You can do a nice cup of tea in the room or lovely nespresso coffee in the launch area.

I just would like to add that people who are complaining about not enough TV channels are massive losers! You are so pathetic that you should stay at home and never travel... or just go back to school to learn about the beautiful places in the World, how to read a book about it or just simply visit a museum. Go for a walk instead... sad!!!

Thank You Svalbard Hotel for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarolKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The small hotel is new, the rooms with bathrioom are fine, however, most of TV channels only in Norwegian (but who came to watch TV to Svalbard anyway...) and the location is just downtown. The minus is that there is no fridge in the room.

The abundant included breakfast is served in another building. Eat a lot, so you will survice to the evening.

In the dark time (Nov-Feb) the reception is opent only between 8 am - 4 pm, so take your chance to chat with the helpful personnel in the morning.

I think the price / quality is fine to the Svalbard context.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

On arrival reception was helpful, and the bedroom and en-suite bathroom very good, with an excellent view from the windows. The room was warm and comfortable, and well equipped and very clean. The hotel is relatively new and in a good central position within the small town. The only thing that let it down was breakfast. The selection was poor, and the quality not great, and if you are staying several days, it gets very monotonous. The hotel does not have a restaurant for other meals, or a bar, but alcoholic drinks available at a high price (as always in Norway). Overall, a lovely small hotel, let down by poor breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
355 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Svalbard is diffrent- Longyearbyen is Diffrent- Svalbard Hotel is a lovely place to use a a base for exploring the Town and sorroundings.. Situated on the mainstreet of Longyearbyen- you have everyting right at the doorstep- bares, cafe, shoppingcentre and Svalbardbutikken supermarket.
Even Svalbard is taxfree- do NOT expect anything to be cheap:-) It is not!

Rooms are quite comfortable and diffrent in its interior- brigt but warm colours- coffee&tea facilities, plenty of hot water and floor heating in bathroom (thanks)- beds are quite narrow designed for very tiny persons. Wifi works perfect. Breakfast is served in Svalbard-Bar 50 mtrs from the hotel, and I have no complaints, plenty to choose from. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed my stay here.

Svalbard is indeed a diffrent place- and not a cheap choice- but if you are looking for something completely diffrent and fantastic scenery- just go- its fab!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It is difficult to judge this hotel given we are on the polar circle. Instead I will list its advantages and disadvantages based on general hotel standards.

Advantages:
- central location
- new hotel, simple design
- very clean, the bathroom in particular
- friendly reception service
- Nespresso coffee machine available 24h at the reception
- free WiFi
- access with code, no keys


Disadvantages:
- no restaurant - for breakfast and any meal you need to go out
- no minibar - the drinks in your room are limited to tea/coffee and tap water. I could not even find any spoon despite coffee making facilities
- no safe
- no real wardrobe in case you would like to unpack: only 2 shelves and hangers are available
- no phone, you need to write to the receptionist or go there
- no queen beds, only twins pulled together
- 10 TV channels (half Norwegian, half English)
- reception open from 8 AM to 6 PM only

As I was leaving early in the morning I asked to exchange my breakfast for a breakfast box. The sandwich that was delivered was really delicious.

For your information, you will not have any view on the 1st floor and most probably not on the 2nd. I guess only those located on the 3rd will see the mountains.

The hotel happens to have a noisy neighborhood which I experienced on Saturday night. The red and white building on the left of the hotel had noisy tenants. When I was leaving at 6 AM on Sunday they were still on the balconies, sitting, smoking and shouting ...

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellersfromswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.4 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svalbard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svalbard Hotel

Property: Svalbard Hotel
Address: Postboks 538, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Svalbard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svalbard Hotel consists of three separate buildings; The new main building, opened in February 2016, offers 22 double rooms inkl 2 handicap friendly rooms and 2 family rooms, 3 superior double rooms, 5 Delux double rooms and 1 Polar bear suite. The second building, located right across the street, is the previous main building with 17 double rooms, including 2 handicap-friendly rooms. This part of the hotel also offers conference facilities for small groups. In the new building, we have a wine bar with quality wines from all over the world, beer from the local Svalbard Brewery and the new Restaurant at Svalbard hotel offers a soup buffet-lunch, and an Asian-nordic inspired a la carte at night. The third building - Svalbard Lodge, offers 10 apartments located just about 50 meters from Svalbard hotel. The apartments have fully equipped kitchens, washing machine and all the necessities you might need for a longer stay or to live a normal family life on you vacation. Both the Hotel and Lodge are situated in the heart of Longyearbyen, only a few meters from various restaurants, bars, shopping center and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Svalbard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svalbard Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing