We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice apartment”
Review of Svalbard Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longyearbyen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Svalbard Lodge
Reviewed 1 August 2014

i recently stayed here for three nights (before and after a Svalbard circumnavigation expedition). It was great for two couples, since we were able to cook for ourselves and do laundry. Everything was nearby. When we returned from our trip we were able to get an early check in (we got in to Longyearbyen at 8a) so this was especially helpful. The apartments (we were in two different ones) were clean, up to date, and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Svalbard Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Two couples traveled together and this was perfect for us.. it was actually cheaper for us to rent a two bedroom apartment than two separate rooms in a hotel in town. There is a small but very adequate kitchen making breakfast quick and affordable. We had a lovely view of reindeer on the mountain side as we recapped our day's experiences together in the living room. There was even a free washing machine right in the bathroom! A definite value!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CLH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked through Svalbardbooking our accommodation : Svalbard Lodge plus 2 trips: husky trip on wheels and boat trip to Esjmark glacier and Barendsburg. All were arranged fantastic. Based on previous reviews we asked the family appartment, not directly above the Svalbar. Appartment was great and no noise during the night. All facilities were available, incl great shower, dishwasher and washmachine. Only small comment: in case you come in Summer with 24hrs sunlight, one of the bedrooms need more dark curtains, or you need to bring your eye patch/blinder to sleep.
For non dog lovers, the husky trip seemed to be a challenge, but those dogs are so nice. It became one of our best experiences ever. Boat trip was fabulous as well. Approaching the Glacier was as entering a freezer, but beautiful and the history of Barendsburg, from Dutch found to Russian enclave at Norwegian Svalbard was an experience as well. We will the luckiest people with excellent weather, which made our trip FANTASTIC

Room Tip: Not above Svalbar, as that can be noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked the Svalbard Lodge since it has good features like separate bedrooms, shower, free wifi and kitchen. Upon arrival, the apartment was very clean and ready to use. Apart from the sometimes not working wifi, we didn't find any negative points.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This lodge was fine for the basics. We had a family of 7, so the two bedrooms worked out fine. It was not fancy by any means and there was no ambiance, just a basic dormitory-style apartment. After checking out the lodge next door (where Kroa Restaurant is located), we would definitely switch to that lodge the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelobachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arrived here at 1 a.m & left at 11a.m. the same day. We needed accommodation for one night for 4 of us before joining a cruise ship & this was a suitable & good value option. The apartment was clean, the beds comfortable & the shower was hot & powerful. The decor was basic but for us it didn't matter. We were on the opposite side from the bar & had no noise at all.
The hotel had contacted us to ask for a time of arrival but failed to mention that we had to collect the keys from the Svarlbard Hotel just a short walk away. Other guests told us this & we found the keys in an envelope on the reception desk. I only saw a staff member when dropping the keys off the next day. We also only found out on arrival that breakfast has to be booked by 4 p.m. the previous day if required. However there is a supermarket very close by & also a great cafe where we had brunch.
So it was excellent & good value for our very brief stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ama473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Large amount of space though many little details were lacking. We were on the 3rd floor and the music from 1st floor bar was vibrating stuff on shelves...bring earplugs is right. Trappers Hotel next door had better decor and personal touches.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 5 in Longyearbyen
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svalbard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svalbard Lodge

Address: Pb 548, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Longyearbyen
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Svalbard Lodge Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing