We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for people who like walking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Lincs, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“for people who like walking!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single room before going on a cruise - I booked the guesthouse as it was the cheapest option available. The aiport bus dropped me off outside and it was a lovely view of a glacier and mountains. However, it was a 20 min walk to the centre of town and 30 min back as it was uphill on the way back. This is fine as long as you are aware.
Although I'd booked as a single, i was actually in a twin room so had plenty of room. The radiator for heating was very fast - I hadn't put it on on the first day but it didn't take long to heat the room up when I came back. The bed was comfy and obviously the room was quiet! One thing to remember is that you should take your shoes off in the doorway of the guesthouse, so having slippers to walk around in might help if you have a long stay.
The guesthouse had a large kitchen so I walked down to the supermarket and then used the kitchen to cook some of my meals. Breakfast was included in the price though and was fine - breads/toast, eggs, cereals and meats - but you had to leave your building to go to the main one for breakfast. The showers were clean and had hot water. I also booked an excursion through the reception which worked fine. There was a computer with internet connection you could use for free at reception. I would stay here again as the walking wasn't a problem for me, but a taxi costs a lot so stay in the town centre if you don't want to walk!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    130
    48
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
81
53
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is not really a cheap place. It's the cheapest in town but definitely not cheap. This is still 100 dollar per night hotel. Considering the quality of the hotel and room, I will not consider this place cheap.

I stayed in this hotel for a night because I needed a place while waiting for my early morning flight. The location of this hotel is ridiculous, at least 20 minutes to the town and you'd really have to do it to get some food. The hotel room was so basic and no en-suite bathroom.

So, I wouldn't recommend this hotel but probably this could be your money saving option for Longyearbyen stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I pasta couple of nights in July at the Spitsbergen guesthouse, using different rooms there during my stays. Both the old and newly renovated buildings are nice and offer clean and functional rooms. toilets and common areas were clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly. the only downside is the 10 min walk to the "city" but this is not such a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I spent 3 nights there.
However the overal quality was mediocre not to say spartan I was amazed by the location of the hotel.
It is on the outskirts of one of most remote cities in the world. From my room there was a view on glacier and old mines on the hill sides. It was just mazing.
I did not have high expectations for this place but my overall experience there was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We did a 5-day trip dogsledding to the east coast of Spitzbergen and after having spent 4 days in a tent (without shower, without WC !!!) really we enjoyed the cleanliness, silence and warmth of this guesthouse. Reception staff is really kind and helpful. They also allow you to leave your things there for some days without charging you.
Really you can meet lot of people all around the world here.
Breakfast with a wide choice of food and beverage. Highly recommended if you don't want to stay in a "common" hotel.
The guesthouse is far away from the center of Longyearbyen, but we enjoyed a lot walking to and fro
on the snow :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were in Longyearbyen from March 5-7,so spent 2 nights in this guesthouse.

I must say though it is located quite out of town, airport bus shuttle will still take you straight to the door. I think this guesthouse belongs to the same group as Raddisson and Spitsbergen Hotel, just targeting the low budget travellers' market, but the service and quality is still quite super!

Rooms are nice and clean, shared kitchen is always clean.
The reception is very helpful! Also you can just sign up for snowmobile tour there, the tour company also belongs to Spitsbergen Travel group.

One thing worth mentioning is the brillant breakfast!! Abosutely wonderful! Cant believe I can have watermelon in winter in such a north place!

The distance from town center is around 30 min walk in winter, not very difficult! or you can take a taxi for 70NOK single way.

Would recommend to those who will go there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Soleil_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My partner and I just returned from Svalbard and had an amazing holiday in Longyearbyen. We were offered a very warm and friendly welcome in Spitsbergen Guesthouse. We were truly impressed by the landscape, the artic climate, the beautiful nature around the isle. For a budget holiday on Svalbard, this is a excelllent choice. The rooms are nice and comfortable, toilet en shower are clean and the service and breakfast are very good. The town is a 20-minute walk from the guesthouse. With 895 NOK a night this is the cheapest choice on Svalbard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slangenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
1.2 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coal Miners’ Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coal Miners’ Cabins

Property: Coal Miners’ Cabins
Address: Nybyen, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Spitsbergen Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coal Miners’ Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coal Miners' Cabins offers reasonably priced accommodation, located in the upper part of the Longyear valley and within reach of mountains and glaciers. The place is an excellent starting point for hiking, skiing and snowmobile trips. Coal Miners' Cabins is the place to stay for those who want to get the real experience of the mining period on Svalbard. Coal Miners' Cabins is located in Nybyen, Longyearbyen's small "suburb" is within walking distance from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coal Miners’ Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Guesthouse Hotel Longyearbyen
Coal Miners’ Cabins Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing