We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Simple, but yet nice accomodation. If you are not bothered by walking some steps to get to the city center, this place is perfect for people who'd rather spend their money on activites than accomodation. The rooms are simple but very clean, the same with the washing rooms. We even had our own sink in our room, which was really convenient. There was also a small but very clean kitchen that could be us by the guests.

Breakfast was included - simple but more than sufficient. People at the reception were very kind and helpful.

Since we were on Svalbard during the midnight sun season, we could have wished for darker curtains, but the sleeping masks did their job as well ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sink, than you will be a bit more independent from the bathrooms in rush hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilleAnnelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    130
    48
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
81
53
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taarnby, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have stayed at this place several times on my vacations on Svalbard,and I find this place very good to the low price on the rooms.
The rooms are very clean and quiet,and the bathrooms on the Guesthouse is also well kept and cleaned.
The breakfast is ok,and is like what I have experienced on other Guesthouses I have stayed at.
I have met many different people here,and it is a great place to Network and meet other people with the same interest for the Arctic nature.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have arrived at 4 am to the hotel, but did not stay as my tour would start at 8 am. Since it is not 24 hours light at summer, I preferred to walk around. But, be careful. The reception is closed after 7pm. If you have reservation after it, they leave the key for you. If not, you should leave your bag outside.
I have stayed one night after Pyramiden tour. There are different buildings to stay. My room was very clean and next to shared bathroom. Bathroom was so clean. The view from window was wonderful.
Only problem is the location. It is 20 min walk from city center. There is no public transport. You should walk, hitchhike or take an expensive taxi.
I recommend it for a basic stay. You can spend your extra money for tours and nice meals of whale, reindeer and seal !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cuneyt360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The guest house is located a bit away from the city center (20-30 min walk). The rooms are completely the category. Both the rooms and the bathrooms (5 showers per floor) are very clean and cleaned regularly. The staff is very friendly, accommodating, helpful and professional at all times. The breakfast was very good and was certainly plentiful. It is possible to book the tours directly at the front desk (the guest house belongs to "Spitsbergen Travel"), some travel agencies in the city center are a lot cheaper. The staff at the reception speak fluent Norwegian, Swedish, English and German. This hotel is characterized by very good, almost family atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matmas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We needed one night's stay in Lonyearbyen before picking up an arctic cruise. The Radisson was fully booked and as we were arriving late (gone midnight) and leaving that morning, we decided this would do. And to be fair, it did do.

Room was adequate, the included breakfast was good and there was an option to use the bread meats and cheeses to make yourself a picnic lunch (at a reasonable cost). The reception staff were helpful.

As many others have already covered the rooms are in separate buildings from hotel reception, being converted mining accom. Shared showers and toilets on each floor.

The hotel has a cupboard where you can leave baggage. It isn't locked but it is near reception and we left a bag for 11 days without any issue. A nice option bearing in mind the ship cabins are always quite small.

Cheap isn't a word used easily in Longyearbyen (think A$ 9 - 10 for a flat white coffee) but this is probably the lowest cost hotel in town ... or I should say out of town. As others have said 20 mins downhill to the town. a 25 - 30 min walk uphill from the museum.

Understand what this place is and if you are happy with that, have no hesitation in booking it. But if you want a little more luxury and/or convenience of being in town, you are going to have to invest more NOK.

Room Tip: TIP - Curtains were a bit thin and first time you experience no night can be a little disconcerting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

we thought we were staying in the Radisson so were disappointed to find ourselves here. whilst being clean, warm and comfortable, it is basic at best with 2 shared shower/loos per floor and its a long way from town with a big hill! felt like being back at college which is not what i want at my age! ok for one night before joining a ship but wouldnt want to stay here for a holiday. friendly and helpful staff and basic breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As others have said here and elsewhere, with the correct expectations, your stay here should be fine. It is certainly the best value for your money in an expensive destination, and economically probably the only option for many considering how quickly a trip to Svalbard can add up. The hotel itself is basically hostel style, with daily room cleaning. The rooms are sparse, but clean, and are all one would need if you are doing what you should and filling your days with exploring Spitsbergen. The walls are quite thin, so it is easy to hear people walking in the hallways and opening/closing doors. Bathrooms and showers are shared as noted, as are the kitchen (a bonus if you want to cook a few meals from food purchased at the supermarket to avoid costly restaurant meals) and the laundry room (also a bonus to save on some packing). Breakfast is basic, but substantial enough to start off your day.
Regarding the distance to the “city”, it is indeed a bit of a walk, but if you are in Spitsbergen I imagine you are up for a little walking. Also, all additional planned excursions would offer transportation to/from the hotel. If you want to have dinner in the city after your day out, they would also be happy to drop you there which would mean only the walk back to the hotel.
Unfortunately during our stay, some of the above noted small inconveniences turned extremely bad as we had the misfortune of having a youth tour group in house during several days of our stay. The hotel turned into a different, almost unbearable world. The noise into the early morning hours of students talking extremely loudly and hopping from room to room impeded our sleep for the next day’s activities, and required our needing to intervene to quiet the group down. The shared bathrooms were quickly degraded to the point of truly being insanitary and were avoided at all costs. Our first response from reception in regards to the group was that they had had several complaints as well the last time they had stayed. The second visit resulted in the receptionist visiting the group and asking them to be more considerate of other guests. Our final interaction with the hotel regarding the group was when I stepped in to ask them to clear their breakfast tables as expected of all guests, for which the receptionist graciously provided free wifi access. I do feel that the hotel had the responsibility to address these issues with the adult group leaders, as the group and their actions resulted in a most unpleasant stay for several days, and am disappointed that the hotel did not do more. The time at the hotel when the group was there and after they left were like night and day, but if I do go back to Spitsbergen as I hope, I would seriously need to think about whether or not to stay here knowing that such a situation could happen again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCLozaern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
1.2 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coal Miners’ Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coal Miners’ Cabins

Property: Coal Miners’ Cabins
Address: Nybyen, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Spitsbergen Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coal Miners’ Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coal Miners' Cabins offers reasonably priced accommodation, located in the upper part of the Longyear valley and within reach of mountains and glaciers. The place is an excellent starting point for hiking, skiing and snowmobile trips. Coal Miners' Cabins is the place to stay for those who want to get the real experience of the mining period on Svalbard. Coal Miners' Cabins is located in Nybyen, Longyearbyen's small "suburb" is within walking distance from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coal Miners’ Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Guesthouse Hotel Longyearbyen
Coal Miners’ Cabins Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing