We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Think Twice, Book this now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Svalbard Husky

Svalbard Husky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Svalbard Husky offers guided tours and dog sledding in the beautiful nature the Arctic Archipelago Svalbard. Experience the magnificent arctic nature while driving your on pack of dogs in front of the sledge. See the reindeers, polar foxes and now and then the polar bear in its natural environment. No matter what type of tour you decide for, we can promise you that Svalbard will give you wildlife experiences that you will never forget. Svalbard Husky Holds the Eco label of "Eco-Lighthouse"
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't Think Twice, Book this now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were looking for something to do in Longyearbyen for a morning before we departed on our expedition cruise and when we found Svalbard Husky during our research we were initially hesitant due to the cost involved. But we are so pleased we went ahead and booked – what an amazing experience it was! If you have come all this way you HAVE to give this a go. We loved how hands on the morning was from meeting the dogs, loading them into the trailer, harnessing the dogs onto the sleds then heading out onto the mountains. The dogs could not have been more willing or eager to pull us through the breath-taking landscape – the views were magic and the ride was exhilarating! My husband and I shared a sled and each had a turn “driving” and being “passenger”. The guide was in the lead and we were with a group with about 4 other sleds as well. The dogs (mainly) follow in a row behind the leader. There doesn’t appear to be any particular path we followed, just let the dogs run free across the mountain with us controlling the speed with the sled. A great thrill, and a really well run authentic experience – not a “tourist” attraction. If we are lucky enough to find ourselves in Longyearbyen again it will be the first thing we book.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ozkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    44
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Surprisingly non aggressive and friendly and very lovely dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The preparation for the dog sledging, getting to know the dogs, the trip itself and the feeding afterwards was a nice complete package of interesting moments. The dogs here are so friendly that you can wonder how it is possible. Great guide, lovely little trip up the valley. Go for Svalbard Husky!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Not Just a Sled Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We're so glad we booked our dog sled ride with Svalbard Husky, it's so much more than a sled ride. We were picked up from our hotel and transferred to their base in Longyearbyen to be kitted out in snow suits, boots and warm hat and gloves. We were driven by 4x4 to the kennels outside Longyearbyen where we were allowed to get to know the dogs, they are a pack of softies. we were given some basic instructions on how to control the sled and were then shown how to harness the dogs, who gladly assist their novice handlers by lifting their legs in to the harness. Once all the dogs were ready the anchors were removed and off we went up one of Longyeardalen's peaceful side valleys.
There had been a fair amount of snow overnight and the ride out is gradually uphill, so be prepared for a bit of exercise to help the dogs up the steeper sections. Otherwise it is a very relaxing couple of hours, especially for my wife who was sat comfortably, and safely, in the sled.
Coming back down the valley was even more fun, just having to brake to keep the dogs from overtaking the sled in front.
When we got back to the kennels we unharnessed the dogs and took them back to their kennels, don't worry if you can't remember which one, they can. Be prepared to have your stomach churned with their high protein food, which you are encouraged to help with, but the dogs are again well behaved at feeding time.
Our journey back to Longyearbyen in the 4x4 was quite exiciting, and if you ask your guide nicely they'll stop at one of Longyearbyen's fames Polar Bear warning signs to allow you to have your Kodak moment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we did a dog sledding trip but this time we had to prepare our own sledge which was really nice as you got to know the dogs a bit. Our guide Thomas was really nice and knew a lot about the dogs. The tour was four hours in total and if we could do it again we would do a full day trip. They also had five puppies while we were there, so cute!! This was a great trip and the organization is professional and the dogs are treated well!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic experience but a coffee would have been welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I took part in the Svalbard Husky dogsled trip. we did enjoy the whole experience. it was fun harnessing the dogs then feeding them when we returned from the trip. The only grumble we have is that refreshments arent offered. Just a coffee would have been appreciated,and would have been well deserved after such a busy few hours! Thank you to our guide Thomas who was lovely.( he was very patient when i let go of the sled accidentally!)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pippa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Svalbard Husky also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Spitsbergen, Svalbard
 

Been to Svalbard Husky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing