We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel - ok”
Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spitsbergen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historical hotel - ok”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We only spent one night at the hotel before a cruise. The room was fine - a little over average - and the hotel was very cosy and full of history. The restaurant and food was very good and the staff friendly. But 60 Nkr for two small Cokes? Well, this is Norway :-)
The hotel was too far from the "cirt centre".
Remember to take off your shoes when entering the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonehovedet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    146
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
135
36
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stubbekøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We only spent one night at the hotel before a cruise. The room was fine - a little over average - and the hotel was very cosy and full of history. The restaurant and food was very good and the staff friendly. But 60 Nkr for two small Cokes? Well, this is Norway :-)
Remember to take off your shoes when entering the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boch_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Remember to bring your favourite slippers. At Svalbard we don't wear outdoor shoes inside this hotel. Everything clean from entrance, reception, bar, restaurant and all bedroom facilities. Helpful employees. Food excellent and the waiter and the butler Lea, were very professional.
Nice view in front and at the back. Mountains and wild life at back and Longyearbyen in front.
You can even have your gym in seperate gymnastics room which is well equipped. Even a solarium if needed (put Norwegion krone in automat). My group liked this hotel as well. I'll be back!

Room Tip: The very best rooms are the smal suites - theme rooms. 1st and 2nd floor have best view - but rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights either side of a cruise and while rooms were comfy, on the first night we got next to no sleep due to buses at the front of the hotel dropping off and picking up passengers every hour, on the hour. If you do want a quieter evening then go for a room at the back, but you'll get no view over the valley there.

On the way back, despite requesting at check out before we left and checking it would be fine, we arrived back at the hotel at 8am after disembarking and the room still wasn't clean and ready for us until nearly 3pm. That's a lot of time sitting in the lounge waiting when getting some sleep and a soak in a bath would have been nice. Also worth keeping in mind that this is where one of the tour groups meet before boarding the boat so the lounge was full of other non-guests taking up the majority of space.

Additionally, the hotel is right on the very edge of town up a steep hill, it's a fine walk into town on a nice day, but it's about 30mins in the freezing cold and sleet and taxis are about 70 NOK (£8) for the quick trip in.

Room Tip: Only selected rooms have baths instead of showers so if this is important, request it early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent one night here before embarking on a cruise. The check in was very quick. The room and bathroom were clean and warm. There is a lift so you can get your luggage up easily. The hotel has a luggage room so you can leave stuff while you wander round town after checking out.
The views from the dining room are wonderful and there are a range of comfortable lounges.
We only ate breakfast here, but there was plenty of choice and enough to keep anyone going for hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in two hotels in Longyearbyen, the Spitsbergen and the Radisson Blu. The Spitsbergen is more traditional, and has some nice comfy sofas and a billiards table. There's free coffee in the lounge and a good lift. The Spitsbergen is further away from the airport and 'town' centre than the Radisson, and a shade cheaper. Our room was not as big as in the Radisson, but was large enough for a night.

The phone system wasn't working when we sayed so we didn't get our alarm call, and there was a noisy fan or heater which operated throughout the night. Also our bathroom door kept banging open (we were in room 302) and the TV (if you need one) is tiny. There's WiFi.

Anyway, nice hotel, and it doesn't have the 'please leave your guns in reception' sign in the lobby that the Radisson has - but it's not without a few faults.

Room Tip: Room 302 seems to have a few glitches....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed for one night before boarding a cruiseship. The scenery is amazing. The hotel has a homely feel&is comfortable&cosy. The staff are lovely,very friendly. The rooms have free wifi which is quick&efficient. Very clean&not overly priced for this area of the world. Would definitely recommend this great hotel&would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Property: Spitsbergen Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern comfort in historic surroundings, Spitsbergen Hotel offers a unique Svalbard experience. Situated on "The Hill", it gives you great views of Longyearbyen, the Lars- and Longyear glacier. The hotel was constructed in 1947, but has been extensively refurbished over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing