We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel with great views from the restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spitsbergen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Rykkinn
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with great views from the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We chose historic Spitsbergen Hotel because of its location and connection with our COOP membership card. The hotel lies a few hundred meters from the town center, but because if its setting on a hillside, you have beautiful views from the panorama windows in the restaurant. There are several rooms near the lobby with cozy seating groups, and between 4 and 6 p.m. most guests gather here to have coffee/tea and self-made waffles with jam or goat cheese. Here you have a chance to chat with the other guests and perhaps share ideas and experiences. There is a pool table in the one lounge.

From the moment you walk into the hotel, you feel as though you have come to a very different place indeed. Everyone has to remove their boots/shoes, put them in the shelves, and walk in their socks or slippers while in the hotel! The double-room we had was roomy, and well equipped.

The breakfast selection was impressive, considering all food has to be shipped in by plane or boat. We ate one dinner - on the national holiday - at the hotel. It was tasty, but perhaps more sparse than expected.

All-in-all, we were very pleased with our hotel and will certainly come back the next time we travel to Svalbard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    142
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
130
36
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Well, after having spent the previous night at Mary's in Longybearen (see previous review), we then had to move to our new hotel, the Spitsbergen Hotel. A fine place indeed. No wonder Prince Harry came here. We stowed our kit bags here here and moved on up to our rooms. Nice rooms. Spacious with good shower/bathroom facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view was pretty good. All in all, a fairly well decked out room. However, for me, the rest of hotel was more appealing. The staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful. For example, I had inadvertently pressed down too hard on the toilet button and sent it flying into the the cistern. Perplexed, I sought out help and through a series of hand gestures (don't ask), I managed to enlist the help of a Thai (yes, Thai) hotel maid who came into the bathroom and duly showed me how useless a plumber I would never become. She duly fixed the problem in a flash. I thanked her profusely. The reception staff are friendly, efficient and happy to help. My favourite bit, however, is the bar/lounge area. It feels like you are in an old library or study. The seats are warm and inviting as you eye the dark wooden shelves containing books and even old paraphernalia such as an antiquated telefax machine. There is a fireplace and the hotel is generous enough to have created a little coffee nook where you can also make yourself a waffle or 12...for free. Nice. There is also a dining area further down the hall and there is even a billiard table (not pool/snooker). The hotel is possibly a little pricey but then that is to be expected in these parts. Moreover, I had just trekked to the North Pole...so that wasn't going to bother me.
#Northwhat #North Pole

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank s1edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

A very pleasent hotel stay (four nights) in Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen. The old lodging for coalmine company's staff is developed to a very charming hotel full of history.
Even with accomodation suited or disabled (fully wheelchair accessible), in fact a nice junior suite with a big and practical bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klickolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My stay was wonderful at this lovely hotel, the only reason I didn't give it a full 5 was because the location, it's tucked away from the centre and in the snowy conditions at the time, this was not perfect.
However, being tucked away at the back of town can be a plus, the view from my room was beautiful, on a clear night the stars would be sparkling clear and if there were traces of the northern lights you wouldn't get much light pollution from the main part of town.

Room was nice, mini bar (pricey but hey, it is a mini bar AND it's Svalbard) nice little bathroom, could hear conversations from other bathrooms from the shower drain but ah, small point.

Bed was comfy and the armchair beside the window was a perfect spot to sit and watch the sky.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Good standard modern hotel with excellent service, very friendly and helpful. We stayed at other hotels during our trip and while Spitsbergen was, literally, only 2/3 the price of Basecamp Trappers, the service quality was better, the views better, the situation quieter (no noisy discos till 3am just outside!) and the restaurant, while not cheap at £70 per head, was excellent quality. Comparing this hotel with those in Longyearbyen or Tromso it represents great value. Only possible downside is that it's a five minute walk from the shops rather than being next to them. Guess is that most folk who come to Svalbard come for an activity holiday so 5 mins walking is negligible (especially when compared to the 30 day 550km ski expedition you can do!)
Also the hotel was able to arrange full day trips at less than one day's notice for us... As well as extend our stay by 4 days when we decided to stay longer. Can't ask for much more from any hotel tbh.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best I think. Bath or spa are worth it for the tiny xtra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenløse
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in Longyearbyen to participate in the half-marathon and this hotel is located right next to Svalbardhallen where the run kicks off. Not that distances matter much within the town limits....
I once stayed at the Radisson hotel and the difference between the two hotels is negligible. Our room was quite small but had two separate beds, a desk and chair and two armchairs. The bathroom was also small but efficient - and everything was clean and well-kept and the room had a fine view over the town and one mountainside.
It should be said that Svalbard is a rough place so there is generally not much in terms of ceremony about the place, so all buildings appear to be 'efficient'.
The hotel had a friendly and cosy atmosphere and that goes for the restaurant as well which is quite large and holds a spectacular view of Longyearbyen.
We were told that the hotel was originally built as the white-collar mess hall or canteen for the Store Norske mining company (white-collar worker in Norwegian = funktionær - hence 'Funken').
It is situated on a hill-top at the far end of the town from the fjord and commands a spectacular view.
Breakfast was a treat - large selection of items, friendly and informal staff - and the view!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils Holm Jørge... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel last month the night before we boarded a boat for a 7 night arctic cruise. we had been in Scandinavia for 3 weeks before this and coming from Australia both my husband and i had a large suitcase and a smaller 'carry on' one each. as our boat was small we only wanted to take the 2 smaller suitcases on board. however we were not coming back to stay at this hotel and thought they may not keep our larger luggage for us while we were at sea. we thought we might as well ask and their response - no problem off course we'll keep it for you! they have a luggage room downstairs and after giving you the key you store the luggage (or sports equipment etc) yourself, return the key to them and that's it. they take no responsibility for it and any guest is welcolm to leave their luggage there (if travelling elsewhere in Spitsbergen) but this was fine by us. it made it so much easier for us and when we saw the size of our cabin on our arctic adventure cruise we blessed the Spitsbergen hotel again. coming back one week later, we got the key and then our luggage,used their internet to print our boarding passes (for free) and could even have helped ourselves to the free tea and coffee if we felt so inclined. nothing was too much trouble for them and we had only been guests for the one night a week ago. it seems that a lot of guests leave excess luggage with them before heading out to any number of adventures that Spitsbergen/the arctic offers.
this hotel also offers free waffles in the afternoon and a good buffet breakfast. as you enter the hotel you leave your footwear downstairs before entering the main part of the hotel. this did not cause any problems and as Scandinavian hotels are too heated if anything our feet were still warm! they will loan you slip-ons if asked (i think).
one thing to note with Scandinavian hotels - not just this one but also those we had stayed in at Bergen and Oslo (and all at least 4 stars) 'free toiletries' - that is, the hotel supplied small bottles of shampoo,conditioner,body lotion and even a shower cap are not to be found! in the shower and by the hand basin there is a pump pack (attached to the wall) of the 'all over body wash/shampoo' and for a disposable showercap i had to ask reception (who located one after a little looking). after staying in Asian hotels where there are multiple 'free' body products supplied this came as rather a surprise. as well as cost saving by the hotels i assume the idea is in keeping with the recycling/no waste/green ideas that are prevalent in Scandinavia.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
1.3 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Property: Spitsbergen Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern comfort in historic surroundings, Spitsbergen Hotel offers a unique Svalbard experience. Situated on "The Hill", it gives you great views of Longyearbyen, the Lars- and Longyear glacier. The hotel was constructed in 1947, but has been extensively refurbished over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing