We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the edge of town”
Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spitsbergen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Checked in at 1am and greeted warmly. Take shoes off as you enter as everywhere in Longyearbyen. Public areas welcoming and homely with an individual feel. It is warm and breakfast was good. Rooms simple and bed OK but couldn't get any hot water from the shower. It would be really good to have blackout curtains as I found it hard to sleep in 24h daylight. I'd go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Spitsbergen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights over the Easter break. Food was great, especially at the restaurant (venison steak was our favourite meal). Beds were comfortable, showers were hot. The only negative was that there were no BLOCK OUT curtains (so light 24 hours a day).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna121299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel during winter holidays and we got a nice room. The sevice was good and the food excellent, though dinner was a bit expensive. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed the city and trips to the surrounding areas. It is a good tradition to take off your shoes when entering the hotel. We did not see the northern lights, but the staff at the reseption give you a call if you sign a list of people interesting in seeing the northern lights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels. Everything is so immaculate. I stayed in the suite and everything was simply awesome and perfect. Hey, the lady manning the reception (her name was Mia, if I'm not wrong) was pleasant and bartender (a part-time magician) was kind of cute...

Room Tip: Take the suite...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DatoMaximusWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the first time on my first trip to Svalbard in March 2004,and I was very surprised by the good service and luxury this hotel has to offer!.And in August 2013,I saw that it was all still the same!.
The rooms are classical furnitured,and on the walls you see historical photos.
The rooms have great comfort,and all in all you experience a very relaxed and cozy atmosphere in this hotel.
The staff are friendly and service minded,and the restaurant in the hotel have a good variety of dishes.
I would be happy to stay here again!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely hotel Decor and food especially good. Staff generally work very hard to be helpful and provide an excellent standard of service. the hotel was warm and comfortable.Bus from the airport calls at the hotel and various trips can be arranged to be collected from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sealoveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Finding such a lovely hotel in such a remote setting was a surprise. Decor and food especially good. Staff generally work very hard to be helpful and provide an excellent standard of service. Bus from the airport calls at the hotel and various trips can be arranged to be collected from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 5 in Longyearbyen
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 5 in Longyearbyen
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £157 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern comfort in historic surroundings, Spitsbergen Hotel offers a unique Svalbard experience. Situated on "The Hill", it gives you great views of Longyearbyen, the Lars- and Longyear glacier. The hotel was constructed in 1947, but has been extensively refurbished over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing