We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spitsbergen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located on a hill, this hotel has a lot of history. A well stocked library will satisfy any curious traveller and the bar is equally well stocked. The restaurant was surprisingly good. Rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. The town is walking distance.
Everything is expensive---but that is true of Norway !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellappa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    144
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
134
36
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is located on a hill in Longyearbyen Valley, only a few minutes’ walk from the “center” of town.
The check-in was quick, and so was the check-out. The reception area at the first floor was combined with a kind of souvenir and a limited convenience store with necessities for the environment.

From the old wing it is a nice view of Longyearbyen and the fjord, though my experience was that the single rooms in the wing was rather small and simple.
I was offered a double room in the new wing, which felt more comfortable. The room had all expected features, including a “mini-bar”. The bathroom had a bathtub and soap in dispensers.

The service-minded receptionist could book tours, and also the other staff could advise on places worth visiting.

A gym room at the ground floor had the necessary variety of equipment for basic exercising, and a sauna, The hotel has a very nice lounge and sitting area with a library and self-service coffee and tea, in addition to a bar. The breakfast had a good selection of self-serviced cold and warm dishes, and yoghurt with the essential supplements (muesli and nuts). Though the restaurant was rather filled up at times, it was never hectic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is by no means "posh" nor was that our expectations. It has twin beds in the rooms and a nice bathroom. The buffet breakfast is very nice and so is the bar. The small gift shop has a few items that are by no means overpriced for Norway. By the way, everything in Norway is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
223 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Spitsbergen Hotel two nights and found it to be comfortable and a pleasant hotel to stay at. Useful to us were the nice sitting areas with a complementary coffee machine. There is not much to do in Longyearbyen, Norway and visits to what is in town do not occupy one for the entire day. So having a comfortable place to return to is appreciated. We had dinner one night in the restaurant which had nice views, good food from a very limited menu, but is high priced. The second night we had a hamburger platter in one of the sitting areas as quite a few other guests did as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
399 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our arctic tour company booked us into this hotel for 1 night prior to embarkation. We had a
reservation for a "double room" at a cost of about $300. What we got was a room with two twin
beds, not what we requested. The beds look like they were decorated in the '50's, as did the
rest of the room. The bath was fine, the only modern part of our accommodation, but it included
some bonus hair (prior guests, housekeeping staff, ...?) Free WiFi was supposed to be part of the deal, but the front desk did not provide an access code. Breakfast was average. The restaurant
was trying for a fancy, French vibe and it had an extensive wine collection. We didn't dine there so I can't tell if it lived up to appearances. If I travel to Lonyyearbyen again, I'd try the newer Svalbard Hotel, or the Radisson Blu.

Room Tip: I expect that rooms on higher floors are quieter than the first floor room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night before heading off around Spitsbergen on a polar bear search . We arrived after midnight .....and it was sunny and warm ! Check in was very efficient and friendly and the room comfortable but too warm . The curtains didn't keep the light out too well but we slept soundly - with the window open to reduce the temperature ( couldn't lower the radiators ) Breakfast was plentiful and there was more than enough to choose from .......windows in the dining room were also wide open to keep a pleasant temperature . We thought it was expensive but everywhere and everything in Norway is expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hylas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The 'Funktionaer' (spelling?) or Funken is located approx 1 km uphill from the cafe's and central shopping so plan your walks accordingly particularly if there is slush around. The bus transfer from the airport will drop you at any of the hotels but check that you have enough time to get through checkin on your way out as it is a small airport and it can get very busy. Funken is the upmarket hotel in town and we had a great room overlooking the wilderness so no need to draw curtains. 24 hr sun so daylight all the time. Great meals although soya milk seems too low a priority to oat milk and rice milk which means you need to go downtown to buy your own if you want it. Outlooks from the dining room were great. Food also plentiful (buffet). Plenty of common areas to be 'there' but enough nooks and crannies to not be in each others laps. Free afternoon waffles and coffee a great idea. But can ruin dinner if you are not careful. Good room although not overly quiet. Standard protocol of taking off your outdoor shoes and leaving them downstairs at the main entrance means that you are walking atound in socks or you need to remember where the indoor pair are. Reception upstairs on the first floor (main floor) conveniently located but means that you are going through it each time you move to the common areas. Some reception staff were more interested in internal discussions than clients and not overly friendly. Others were great. This left us both with mixed impressions of this hotel compared to the others we stayed at on Svalbard.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the valley are also overlooked by residents. Rooms looking into the mountain ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Property: Spitsbergen Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern comfort in historic surroundings, Spitsbergen Hotel offers a unique Svalbard experience. Situated on "The Hill", it gives you great views of Longyearbyen, the Lars- and Longyear glacier. The hotel was constructed in 1947, but has been extensively refurbished over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing