We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, comfortable, cozy, affordable”
Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spitsbergen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
UAE
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“friendly, comfortable, cozy, affordable”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

It's a bit of a walk into town but it is more then worth it! The staff is super nice and helpful. The free internet in the lobby is a nice thing to have. There was free coffee and tea all day long and in the afternoons also free make-your-own-waffles behind the lobby bar. Great place to stay before heading out to explore the area or while exploring since they are offering many trips, organized through the hotel as well. Breakfast was good food but average service which is fine if you are like me and don't really want people around you this early in the morning. The room I was in had a good size and was nice and warm with a well equipped bathroom. The view up the valley is great and when walking further up the road at off peak hours you have a chance of seeing a polar fox up close! Great hotel to stay when in Longyearbyen!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biene1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    161
    49
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
145
40
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Hi,
we stayed one night at this hotel before taking an explorer cruise around Svalbard.
Hotel is located just outside the downtown at the top of a hill, but accessible in ten minutes walk. Our room was not very spacious but clean and well-equipped,so as the bathroom.
Buffet breakfast anonymus.In the evening we had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel, menù is not particularly various but good food altought quite expensive, as everything in the Arctic area! Friendly staff, expecially the waiter who offered us the table with the best view on the sea.
In the lobby there is a small and well-stocked store.
After the cruise we can say the extraordinary beauty of the Archipelago is the effort and money we spent on this severe place out the world.
Puffin58

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Paid about 200 USD per night. The rooms are ok, about 15-17 sqm. bathrooms with tub. Nice view of the city from one side of the hotel. (request a room overlooking the city) Breakfast was so so, Bread, Cereals, eggs/bacon/sausages, some vegetables and fruit...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed at the Spitsbergen Hotel for two nights - one before and one after a cruise on the Prince Albert II. The hotel is located about 10 minutes up the hill from the center of town. Originally the quarters and entertainment venue for a mining company, it has been expanded and upgraded over the years. We enjoyed our stay; it was comfortable, with a welcoming staff, a cozy bar, good food (including afternoon waffle snacks), and had plenty of common rooms to lounge or play cards in, plus free internet. The rooms were not fancy, but comfortable and the bathrooms were quite nice, complete with bathtubs and nice towels.

Upon arrival and departure it is very easy to take the airport bus which stops at the hotel for 50 NOK pp. Or they will arrange a cab for you, which is a bit cheaper if you have four people. In Spitsbergen tradition, everyone takes off their shoes at the door and walks around in socks or slippers which adds to the feeling of coziness.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Paid about 200 USD per night. The rooms are ok, about 15-17 sqm. bathrooms with tub. Nice view of the city from one side of the hotel. (request a room overlooking the city) Breakfast was so so, Bread, Cereals, eggs/bacon/sausages, some vegetables and fruit...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Arrived with SK on Longyearbyens airport in the afetrnoon.
A local bus meets all arrivals, infact two by day and delivers all the pax where they want to go in Longyearbyen. So no chance to miss your place.
The location is a bit out of town, up the valley, but with nice views.
Weather was superb during my stay, everything in walking distance.
The hotel has a long history and was built by one of the mining companies.
Some furniture like at a old style grand hotel, but not from a bad point of view.
Everything well maintained and refurbished from time to time.
Free coffee and waffles in the afternoon, warm welcomed.
No time to wait during check in, friendly staff.
My room with a perfect view into the valley, wodden floor, a large comfy bed and two chairs.
The bathroom with a bathtub also spacious and clean.
Everything there for breakfast what I need, buffet style.
Also no time to wait during checkout, the bus picks you up directly at the hotel.
Real recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

The Rica Spitsbergen used to be for staff & guests of the local mining company. It retains a cosy 1930's clubhouse feel. The rooms are comfortable & the restaurant serves good food. All this & you are nearer the North Pole than anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.4 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Property: Spitsbergen Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern comfort in historic surroundings, Spitsbergen Hotel offers a unique Svalbard experience. Situated on "The Hill", it gives you great views of Longyearbyen, the Lars- and Longyear glacier. The hotel was constructed in 1947, but has been extensively refurbished over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing