We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Longyearbyen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in May 2012. Rooms are pretty basic, had the usual bathroom test in figuring out, how to turn on the shower - once again I passed after a while. In May you have daylight 24 hours a day, but the curtains worked very well during nighttime, keeping the daylight out.
The breakfast is very, very good at Radisson Blu Polar! And the staff at the front desk are very helpful.
We had sun - and we had snow, quite windy and temperatures between - 7 and 0 in mid May.
Went for a dogsled ride for four hours, great fun! - and a long snow scooter trip to the russian settlement Barentsburg, quite an experience to end up in "Little Russia" after riding a couple of hours, when you are visiting the most northern part of Norway.
To or three days are more than enough in Svalbard - not much to do up there - besides snowscootering and dogsleding, and the main town of Longyearbyen has a population of around 1600 inhabitants, so in about two hours you have seen it all, including the shops.
Taxes are very low in Svalbard, so considering, that Norway usually are a very expensive country to visit, this is the cheapest part of Norway I ever visited, especially cigarettes an liquor are very cheap after Norwegian (Nordic) standards.
And remember gloves, huts and warm clothing. When you are doing the snowscootering and the dogsleding, the operators provide you with warm boots, clothes, gloves and huts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Blu Polar hotel for three nights in a week break to Longyearbyen, to experience Svalbard. The room was large enough and we had a view to the parking area. The hotel is perfectly located and within walking distance to some bars and restaurants and boutiques in the walking street. I just would add better curtains to block more light because if you are sensible to light it will be difficult to fall asleep during the period with sun 24 hours daily, but the beds are amazing comfy so you will sleep like a baby. Very nice breakfast in the mornings, and also good food for lunch in the restaurant. The hotel has a small Pub/Bar that is very nice to get some drinks or beers after the excursions and to get some food as well, the burger and the pizzas were very nice.

The staff is very helpful and polite, you can also send a postcard from the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room have view to the sea and the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JorgeKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the Blu Polar Hotel on a work-related trip in June 2011. I had a very nice experience. My room was fairly large and had a view of the courtyard. The curtains were sufficient to block out most (though not all) of the light, which was important given that the sun never set! Easy walk from the hotel to Svalbard's bars and shops. Service was efficient, and the view from the restaurant was outstanding.

If I return to Svalbard, i will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Purchased a winter weekend special of 3 nights at this hotel and were very favourably impressed! The accommodation was more than adequate for two, maintained at high standard of cleanliness. how the cleaners worked around our piles of gear and clothing I don't know, but each time we returned it looked great. Plummeting temperatures and snow outside, but very warm inside. Remembered to bring our slippers to wear when we took our shoes off at the door - which appears to be a norm up there! Breakfast was fantastic and the desk service was extremely helpful. Enjoyed free wifi with appropriate codes given at front office. Great holiday! I will return!

Room Tip: Ask!! Heaters are sometimes too efficient, but can be turned off and windows opened to allow for fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimosa_arabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a supirior room with beatiful look over the fjord.
Excellent food from a very limted menu. The food is flown in deepfrozen yearround.
Attentive (a little too much) service.
Godd rooms with adquate space and free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: A superior, which has a much beter view and only cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaioDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here for one night before joining MS Fram on a cruise around Spitsbergen.

As we arrived we were told we had to take our shoes off, an amusing sight! About 50 of us all arrived together but checkin was very quick and efficient. The hotel was full the night we stayed. The room was fine, clean and well equiped, had a very good nights sleep.

Had a meal in the restaurant and could not fault it, good choice and good service. There is a nice view across the fjord and as we had 24 hour daylight it was very relaxing.

Buffet breakfast was good and a good selection considering we were so far from the mainland and everything is shipped in. We also had lunch and this was also a buffet with a good selection. Staff were continually replenishing the buffet counter.

The hotel is right at the end of the main street and everything is all very close, but nothing is too far away as we walked around most of the town. The gallery and museum are well worth a visit. A pretty unique place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is in a prime location in Longyearbyen, Clean, nicely appointed, friendly staff and excellent breakfast buffet. Staff was most helpful in booking a dog sled adventure and airport transport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleetcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £96 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing