We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot place in a cold climate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hot place in a cold climate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived after midnight and were only staying for one night. We arrived alongside a whole busload of people off the same plane and we were very impressed with how effeciently they processed everyone.
We were staying in the Annex which was new and modern and had a lovely comfortable double bed, only problem was the heat, the bathroom had underfloor heating and the room was also heated, so the first thing we had to do was open all the windows (we also turned heating off) but it probably took 2 hours to cool down and feel like the Arctic an dwe no doubt contributed to the melting ice. We took advantage of the wifi worked well and enjoyed a good breakfast before going out walking. Although we had cleared out room and left luggage with Gadventure, we forgot to check out, despite it being well after 11 before we handed the key back there was no issue.
We also liked the fact that dspite being checked out they gave us free coffee in the afternoon. So while a little expensive the hotel in our view was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    264
    126
    26
    13
See reviews for
61
220
75
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is an upper class one, rooms are very well equipped, bath is new, everything works well, including the WIFi in the rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. It has a nice bar with very polite and friendly staff. For example, when I ordered a coffee today it was for free.
From my view, the hotel has everything one needs. Maybe the breakfast could be a bit better but it is really ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here the night before my Arctic cruise. The room was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, providing me a map of town and suggesting good areas to walk to. The hotel is very close to the Svalbard museum and the main street of town with shops. I had dinner in the pub inside the hotel, and it was very good food. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were here for one night as part of a cruise group. Everything was handled well by the hotel. Our room was pretty good, the food was also good and we had a friendly pub lunch watching the Wimbledon final on arrival.

I really don't like the so-called tradition of removing shoes on entering. I don't think it's very hygenic, makes the lobby smell and it's a hassle as well. It seems to be in practice all over Longyerbyen and I think it's probably more to save on cleaning than a serious tradition. But no other complaints about this hotel, especially given its location.

Room Tip: Try avoid the apartment rooms - in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I've stayed here twice...in 2007 and in June 2013. Both times were prior to cruises around Svalbard. So, the rooms may not be the best and it's looking old but it's a unique place in the world. The dining room has a very good buffet breakfast and the view is spectacular. The excellent museum is just down the hill. The lobby is dark and has maybe 8 lounge chairs...a wonderful place to watch the world go by but especially to take a nap. The hotel bar has excellent soup and sandwiches for a fast lunch before the trip to the airport. I agree with the comments about the apartment...was assigned to the annex in 2007 and couldn't wait to get out.

Room Tip: request a room in the main hotel...try to avoid the annex...and enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights before an arctic cruise on Ms Expedition. Massively expensive and very shabby and felt a bit grubby - I was in the annex in a self catering apartment (which I hadn't actually wanted) which had a set of bunk beds squeezed into a room literally 4ft by 8ft and the hardest mattress I have endured in a long time and I never even slept in a bunk bed as child for goodess sake - I certainly didn't want to as an adult paying over 200 pounds a night!! The room was like a dormitory, and looked like it was last decorated 30 years ago, the final insult being that despite 24 hour daylight there were no blackout curtains and the cheap fabric curtains that were there (in a less than attractive shade of orange) were totally see-through so I couldn't sleep anyway. The only good thing was the omelette I had in the pub, which was delicious and served by a friendly and courteous barman. Even if you are going on a cruise and are going to be picked up from this hotel, stay somewhere else - it's only 10 minutes stroll from one end of town to the other, so it's not a big deal to walk down there in the morning

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel built for the Olympics in Lillehamer replaced to Longyearbyen. Certainly not the most luxurieus Radisson, but hey, this is about the closest you can get to the North Pole. In Longyearbyen the Rica hotel and certainly Basecamp are better. But Radisson has a good souvenir shop. And a nice pub. But the pubfood was a problem. In three days we had to return four meals because of dried out fries, cold fries or a horrible fish burger (with fish pudding instead of a burger, barf!). After sending it back to the kitchen we got something better.
The hotel breakfast was very good, though.

The rooms were a bit like a barrack, but clean and comfy. Free and fast wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing