We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, especially after just have been evacuated...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel, especially after just have been evacuated...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here after being evacuated from a ship that had some trouble and arriving at 3 pm after having been on a Russian tugboat outside in the Polar night, so anything warm and save scores 5 stars from our point of view. But seriously, it is a good, clean hotel, rooms clean and spacious. Personnel could have been a little more service oriented and less stiff, but it is ok. You don't have much other choice anyway :), there is only one other hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    259
    125
    24
    13
See reviews for
61
214
75
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The rooms have most likely seen it best days, however it’s ok.
The hotel got a fantastic restaurant. Had the “Taste of Artic”, or something like that, and it was outstanding. It also has a decent variety of cognac, beer and wine.
Furthermore, one of the most popular pubs (from my understanding) is also located inside the hotel. Good food, shows football (if you ask them to put on) and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vTRAVELv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOLOS-GREECE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

i stayed from 15 april for 7 nights.
generally the hotel is good but not 4 stars.
the location is very good. the panorama restaurant has
wonderful panoramic view.
rooms quite large but furniture like from ikea in rose co.
lor. bathrooms with tube but somehow old modish,
not very pleasant.
i forgot to say beds very comfortable.
breakfast room it self big but not warm.
cheapy tables without tablecloths or something else
was fom me unconfortable.only a candle on the table.
personal friendly and helpful
after two days iwent to the reception to pay my bill.
my credit card was empty and i wanted to pay cash in
euros ,1192 e. the receptionist told me it is very expensive
to pay in euros and not in kronen and i should pay...believe it or not
1600 euros .because it is a far remote contry and...
i said ihave not this amount and it was told me i should go
to another chepier hostel.
after that i phoned home to charge my credit card and
paye to this way
a couple of days later i asked in the night service a young man
who was wery pleasant and friedly about what happened to me.
he said that he couldnt believe ,i should pay 30 per cent more
but he said that may be aditticional charge of 2-3 percent
could be added.
radisson should answer what happens
any way they made my vacational not very pleasnt

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOS_GR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is close with main street and you can just book your trip adventure at reception ,and they have own restaurant ,bar it's really nice and convenient. They have sauna in down stairs and a souvenir shop near the reception. The most important thing is the breakfast is REALLY good , you can see a lot of different norway food there ,and taste really fresh.

Room Tip: If you living near the stair ,when somebody thought it you can feel little shaking and little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 國項
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Pros:
Location is good, right at the start of the high street an dear all shops;
Good four star facilities;
Nice bar;
No alternatives for the same hotel standard in town;

Cons:
Dated, beige and depressing;
Nowhere near Radisson standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
374 reviews
358 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have made many good experiences at Radissons or other Rezidor Hotels, in particular the new properties outside of Scandinavia, but my stay at the Radisson Spitsbergen was a disgrace to the whole group and to the island of Spitsbergen. The hotel seems like a sinking ship without a captain. The General Manager is never available, nor any other manager on duty. This would have been helpful as I was threatened with violence by a mad migrant waiter at the hotel bar. Particularly worrying in a place where alcohol is served aplenty, and many people carry guns (have to be left outside). The food waiting times can be anywhere between 30 to 90 minutes. The quality of the food is terrible. They even ran out of basics like Diet Coke and Spaghetti Bolognese. The interior is faded. The carpets are so electrically static that one's hair is constantly raised and one gets an electric shock whenever touching metal. The shower is so maldesigned and hard to get going that one in our group resorted to taking a bath. There is no gym and only an ugly old sauna, although outside temperatures are cold and prices are high. If this is the top property in Spitsbergen, better stay away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadsund, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I visit Spitsbrgen several times each year, and usualy stay at Raddisson Polar Hotel, because location in town is perfect for me... The room I book is big, so I can establish a mini showroom, and invite my customers to meetings at my room, and it´s very convenient for my customers and me...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ika Astono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing