We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing beginning to a week on Svalbad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A disappointing beginning to a week on Svalbad”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I normally love Radisson hotels, but on this occasion I was very disappointed and certainly wished I had booked at the Hotel Longyearbyen. Our twin room turned out to be an 'apartment' in a building away from the main hotel and there was no lift to take us to the second floor -- with a lot of heavy bags. The first thing we saw when we opened the door were two bunks! (Too old for bunks). A trundle bed was later supplied. Other unsatisfactory facilities included curtains that in no way blocked out the midnight sun, a pokey bathroom and an overheated room. The staff explained that this annexe to the hotel was due to be renovated, but that didn't make us feel any better. The breakfast the following morning was fine, but the hotel was obviously very full because we were hard pressed to find a clean table. The reception staff were polite and apologetic and took account of our unhappiness and disappointment when the time came to pay the bill. Beautiful views, but all the views in the Arctic are beautiful!

Room Tip: Make sure you're booked in the main hotel rather than an apartment in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    268
    127
    27
    13
See reviews for
62
222
76
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is superb, the facilities are great and the staff are outstanding. Spitsbergen Travel excursions are located in the alternate wing of the hotel, for those looking to book experiences while in Svalbard. The Svalbard Museum is 3 minutes down the hill towards the water, in a stunning setting. The place is top notch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shuvo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed in hotel for 1 night before joining our expedition. We had a room in the annex which was enormous and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and despite being at 78 degrees north, free WI FI. Breakfast the following morning had a good choice and the view from the dining room was amazing.
Hotel did not had a specific lounge area but staff happy for you to sit on the settee's in the dining room whilst you were waiting to depart.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was a good standard radisson. It was interesting because you have to take off your shoes before you enter (which is to keep all the dirt and dust out).
We went with a 2 & 4 yr old.
Staff was nice, but uninformed about places to go and eat (most front desk staff seemed to be new).

We ate in the hotel for dinner as they isn't much else choice in town for kids. Dinner was ok. But where else do you get to eat reindeer and whale???
So that's a plus!
Breakfast was standard Breakfast.

Overall, nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I understand that Longyearbyen is a long way from anywhere, but there isn't really isn't an excuse for the shoddy rooms at this price. We had a little apartment type, 214 with small kitchen, which is useful if you are vegi, as most restaurants have a lot of meat on the menu. So i could at least make soup and a sandwich, which is also a lot cheaper than eating out. However, the bedroom had a double bunk bed set up, with a double on the bottom and single on the top. I have slept in these before & they are comfy, this one wasn't. it looked like a 1950's cot, wooden and rickety with wood all around it so getting in & out was hard, and i kept banging my head in the night. There is no lift, and though it's only 2 storeys most people have heavy bags, and are elderly going on cruises, so this really isn't acceptable. I stayed here, as thats where my cruise picked us up, but the town is so small, you could stay anywhere and walk here or get a cab with your bags. I will say that the complementary wifi and breakfast was very good, but this hotel is way overpriced.

Room Tip: some rooms have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

But also the most expensive one. Indeed the hotel is not to the usual standard of Radisson though you can't get any better. So a nice room with a comfortable bed and television, very clean bathroom with shower and bath and hairdryer. lot of space to relax and enjoy a complementary coffee or hot chocolate. Breakfast is excellent en you can have diner in a nice restaurant overlooking the Isafjord and mountains. Diner buffet was at 395NOK/p but with lot of local food. And you can have free Wifi. Staff was very friendly. Bus to the airport stops at the hotel. You can only check in between 13.00u and 15.00u. If you arrive earlier, you can leave your luggage in a luggage room, free of charge. But everyone can go in that room. We took the chance and left all my film equipment. But nothing happened.

Room Tip: We had room 118 and you had to go downstairs with your luggage. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 655oriste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

With only 2500 people living in Svalbard, we are glad that there is even a Radisson Blu hotel in this remote land.

Pros:

- The room had a fantastic view of the mountain and Svalbard museum;
-The rooms were clean and spacious - a bunk bed and a sofa bed; heavy curtains to block the light; able to open windows for fresh air;
- It was nice to have a mini kitchenette in our room as the price of the restaurants in the area are very expensive.
- Excellent location, short walk to post office, grocery store and Svalbard museum.
- Onsite travel agency for excursion bookings.
- Very nice breakfast buffet spread;
- Interesting dinner menu at Nansen restaurant; food was quite tasty and it opened till 10pm (while other restaurants within walking distance closed at 8pm);
-Staff was helpful.

Cons:
- Heavy room keys; leave it with front desk when on tour excursions;
-No elevators;
-Room show tiredness;
- Bring your own toiletries and bathroom amenities as only soap and towels were provided.


This is not the standard that you would normally expect from a Radisson Blu's properties. However, we are in the artic wilderness and it was perhaps the best hotel in Svalbard with comfortable and clean room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing