We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great view but some had a view of the parking lot berm. They stored our luggage while we waited for our Hurtigruten MS Fram tour to begin. They let us sit in the dining room while waiting before and after the cruise. Once again they stored again while waiting for our ride to the airport. I think they are missing out by not having snacks for sale...we creating would have bought them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    284
    134
    27
    17
See reviews for
65
236
80
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but had a good buffet lunch one Sunday. They offered a broad selection of food - salads, meat, vegetables, and desert. Friends also enjoyed the shops in the hotel and the selection of polar merchandise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here as a special treat for myself to see in the New Year. I've been to Svalbard before, but never during 24 hour darkness. It's spooky and at the same time excellent, in a truly odd way.
If you want to feel like Amundsen or Scott of the (Ant)Arctic, this is the place to go. One of my favourite memories of being there is the sign inside the boot room: I won't spoil the surprise for when you go.

Room Tip: WiFi works occasionally, as does TV service. In -40 temperatures, getting out and about is something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This may be the only place in town. Our reservations were part of a package along with a trip to Salvard. Everything in the room was adequate. The food was adequate. Take your own if you want decaf coffee, though, they don't have the stuff. They also only provide soap, no hand lotion or shampoo. Also no wash clothes so take your own if you want one of those. Also there is no help with your luggage and only stairs so be sure to request a room on level with reception if you need it. There are no black out curtains so the rooms are quite light all night: take your own sleep mask if you need it dark to sleep. However, the bed was good and the room warm enough. The staff is very pleasant. We stayed one night and had one dinner. The location is great, about 5 minutes to the airport by bus or taxi. The town is, as expected, tiny so everything is close and in walking distance. This hotel doesn't live up to the Radisson Blu name but then being in Longyearbyen, Svalbard is really what it is all about and it beats being in a tent.

Room Tip: Request to be on level with reception if you have mobility issues: no lift and no assistance with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is I assume the largest in town located at the Fjord end of town adjacent to Spitzbergen Travel and near the excellent Svalbard Museum. Our room was on the 1st level, one level below the reception are. No lifts, no porters, no assistance. The room was large and well appointed though we had keep our curtains closed as we faced the front door of the hotel and the outdoor smoking area. The room was quite warm, the room aircon could not be adjusted. Toiletries were not provided but could be requested at reception. A bathmat for the shower/bath needed also to be requested. There are a number of eating options within the hotel but as this is Norway most are quite exorbitant. The Barentz Pub at the front of the hotel is the most reasonably priced. The breakfast had a good selection of both hot and cold selections. The breakfast room, which is also the main restaurant, has magnificent views over the Fjord and the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: There are no lifts and no assistance is offerred with luggage so if you have heavy luggage avoid roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me and my best friend have spent 4 days and 3 nights in Longyearbyen. I knew little about the place, so I didn't come with any expectations. I like to start things with a blank card. Even if I wanted to be naughty and pick on something, I simply couldn't.
The location is amazing and as soon as you enter (we got there by 3am or so) you are welcomed with a professional and warm way by the reception. The check-in is kept simple, but factual. We met most of the receptionist and they are all great, but Sara goes over and beyond. We clicked instantly. I can say I felt like home.
Our room was a twin room, tidy, spacious enough. The beds are very comfortable. I usually have trouble falling asleep at new places, but I fell asleep instantly and woke up super-rested.
We went for breakfast, which consistently offered a wide selection of cold cuts, pastries, cheeses, eggs, muesli, etc. Tasty and fresh. Quick and smiley waitresses and self service.
Rumor has it that they will renovate the rooms soon, because they are dated. I think they serve their purpose and you are not coming to Svalbard to have long baths in marble and gold tubs nor ask for odd stuff.
Me and my friend were both happy with the dinner we chose at their restaurant. The bar next to the entrance is always buzzing and all bartenders are great at their job, making fantastic cocktails or help you out with this or that if you haven't planned ahead, like us. Many of the guests are travelling through, or have booked an excursion in advance, etc.
We would love to come back anytime. From the bottom of my heart I recommend this place to stay and feel good at.

Room Tip: If you explain what you prefer, I'm sure they will accommodate your needs just right. If they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I normally love Radisson hotels, but on this occasion I was very disappointed and certainly wished I had booked at the Hotel Longyearbyen. Our twin room turned out to be an 'apartment' in a building away from the main hotel and there was no lift to take us to the second floor -- with a lot of heavy bags. The first thing we saw when we opened the door were two bunks! (Too old for bunks). A trundle bed was later supplied. Other unsatisfactory facilities included curtains that in no way blocked out the midnight sun, a pokey bathroom and an overheated room. The staff explained that this annexe to the hotel was due to be renovated, but that didn't make us feel any better. The breakfast the following morning was fine, but the hotel was obviously very full because we were hard pressed to find a clean table. The reception staff were polite and apologetic and took account of our unhappiness and disappointment when the time came to pay the bill. Beautiful views, but all the views in the Arctic are beautiful!

Room Tip: Make sure you're booked in the main hotel rather than an apartment in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longyearbyen
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barentsburg Hotel
Barentsburg Hotel
#1 of 2 in Barentsburg
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing