We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote but really?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were travelling to Longyearbyen to pick up a cruise and spent a night at the Radisson Blu in June. We arrived on the late flight and check in at 2.39am was OK and we quickly were able to get to our room for a much needed sleep.
The room was basic and quite small, we struggled to fit two bags in it. What really got me was the thin curtains which didn't block out any light and made sleeping difficult. Surely an investment in some thicker drapes would pay some dividend in the summer and also provide extra insulation in the colder months?
The rooms were warm and the beds were comfortable (perhaps we were just tired) so with masks we slept well. The water was hot in the morning but there was not much supplied in the way of toiletries. A bath mat would have been nice. I can understand that sacrifices need to be made due to the remote location but surely basics are not negotiable at this price.
Breakfast was quite good, a tasty selection of hot and cold dishes but the room was crowded and tables hard to come by. The wait staff were efficient and helpful and the view more than compensated for any clutter.
When we checked out after a mere 9 hours we felt that we didn't get a lot for the price but the Radisson is probably the best option in town.
A few simple touches would improve the experience; remote is not an excuse for some of the tired rooms and furnishings but good food and comfortable beds disguise some of the sins.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Spit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great view but some had a view of the parking lot berm. They stored our luggage while we waited for our Hurtigruten MS Fram tour to begin. They let us sit in the dining room while waiting before and after the cruise. Once again they stored again while waiting for our ride to the airport. I think they are missing out by not having snacks for sale...we creating would have bought them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but had a good buffet lunch one Sunday. They offered a broad selection of food - salads, meat, vegetables, and desert. Friends also enjoyed the shops in the hotel and the selection of polar merchandise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here as a special treat for myself to see in the New Year. I've been to Svalbard before, but never during 24 hour darkness. It's spooky and at the same time excellent, in a truly odd way.
If you want to feel like Amundsen or Scott of the (Ant)Arctic, this is the place to go. One of my favourite memories of being there is the sign inside the boot room: I won't spoil the surprise for when you go.

Room Tip: WiFi works occasionally, as does TV service. In -40 temperatures, getting out and about is something...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This may be the only place in town. Our reservations were part of a package along with a trip to Salvard. Everything in the room was adequate. The food was adequate. Take your own if you want decaf coffee, though, they don't have the stuff. They also only provide soap, no hand lotion or shampoo. Also no wash clothes so take your own if you want one of those. Also there is no help with your luggage and only stairs so be sure to request a room on level with reception if you need it. There are no black out curtains so the rooms are quite light all night: take your own sleep mask if you need it dark to sleep. However, the bed was good and the room warm enough. The staff is very pleasant. We stayed one night and had one dinner. The location is great, about 5 minutes to the airport by bus or taxi. The town is, as expected, tiny so everything is close and in walking distance. This hotel doesn't live up to the Radisson Blu name but then being in Longyearbyen, Svalbard is really what it is all about and it beats being in a tent.

Room Tip: Request to be on level with reception if you have mobility issues: no lift and no assistance with yo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhotographVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is I assume the largest in town located at the Fjord end of town adjacent to Spitzbergen Travel and near the excellent Svalbard Museum. Our room was on the 1st level, one level below the reception are. No lifts, no porters, no assistance. The room was large and well appointed though we had keep our curtains closed as we faced the front door of the hotel and the outdoor smoking area. The room was quite warm, the room aircon could not be adjusted. Toiletries were not provided but could be requested at reception. A bathmat for the shower/bath needed also to be requested. There are a number of eating options within the hotel but as this is Norway most are quite exorbitant. The Barentz Pub at the front of the hotel is the most reasonably priced. The breakfast had a good selection of both hot and cold selections. The breakfast room, which is also the main restaurant, has magnificent views over the Fjord and the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: There are no lifts and no assistance is offerred with luggage so if you have heavy luggage avoid roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me and my best friend have spent 4 days and 3 nights in Longyearbyen. I knew little about the place, so I didn't come with any expectations. I like to start things with a blank card. Even if I wanted to be naughty and pick on something, I simply couldn't.
The location is amazing and as soon as you enter (we got there by 3am or so) you are welcomed with a professional and warm way by the reception. The check-in is kept simple, but factual. We met most of the receptionist and they are all great, but Sara goes over and beyond. We clicked instantly. I can say I felt like home.
Our room was a twin room, tidy, spacious enough. The beds are very comfortable. I usually have trouble falling asleep at new places, but I fell asleep instantly and woke up super-rested.
We went for breakfast, which consistently offered a wide selection of cold cuts, pastries, cheeses, eggs, muesli, etc. Tasty and fresh. Quick and smiley waitresses and self service.
Rumor has it that they will renovate the rooms soon, because they are dated. I think they serve their purpose and you are not coming to Svalbard to have long baths in marble and gold tubs nor ask for odd stuff.
Me and my friend were both happy with the dinner we chose at their restaurant. The bar next to the entrance is always buzzing and all bartenders are great at their job, making fantastic cocktails or help you out with this or that if you haven't planned ahead, like us. Many of the guests are travelling through, or have booked an excursion in advance, etc.
We would love to come back anytime. From the bottom of my heart I recommend this place to stay and feel good at.

Room Tip: If you explain what you prefer, I'm sure they will accommodate your needs just right. If they ha...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hotaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
350 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 5 in Longyearbyen
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 5 in Longyearbyen
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: £158 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing