We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southill Tea Room

Southill Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The tea room used to be the Southill Post Office until it was closed down a few years ago. It is a jewel. We pride ourselves on home baked cakes and scones and hope that you enjoy them just as much as we do.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely tea rooms hidden away in the country. Small but perfectly formed with plenty of tables outside if the weather is good. The food is fabulous and plentiful. Scones in particular are delicious as are the cakes and sandwiches. Good selection available. Staff are all lovely, friendly and helpful. We usually visit at weekend for a light lunch at very reasonable price, but open all week except Mondays. Sweet little vintage style gifts and homeware also available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    49
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stumbled upon this tea room whilst out on a bummel on an old bicycle.
It was so fitting just to stop and savour the delights of a lovely garden with old fashioned plants. And of course a cup of tea and a ploughmans lunch.
Four types of cheese, some fruity onion relish, I believe to be local, a half of a soft baguette and coleslaw with salad. In a beautiful garden in the middle of nowhere. Almost like The Orchard in Grantchester, but more personal. And so nice I cycled another 20 miles to revisit here 4 days later, to have a cream tea. Delightful place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kennywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly spot in a beautiful village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for tea and cake and very much enjoyed both. It was nice to see a small local village business that appeared to be thriving with patrons both inside the cottage and in the garden. Will definitely return, maybe next time for the full afternoon tea.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank knigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Popped in for lunch.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Popped in for lunch, was worried as I had my little boy of two with me, but it was fine. Chocolate cake was delicious, I had pate and toast with a chutney, it was relaxed, friendly, tasty, village store is there too and a shop. Loved so much have booked afternoon tea for June. Everyone should go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

this is one of my favourite places to go to for lunch or afternoon tea .It is just a lovely little tea room that serves lovely snacks and great cakes . your tea is served in china tea pots with china cups and saucers and plates it takes me back to when we used to serve our own tea like this . If I have visitors and they have time I take them there they always enjoy it .In the summer you can sit out side in the garden and really relax it is lovely . You can book a table if you wish (we do)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank marcella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southill Tea Room also viewed

 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Southill Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing