We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biggleswade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stratton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Biggleswade
Biggleswade
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

For a great night out, get down to Stratton House Hotel. Good selection of real ales and a relaxed atmosphere. Great food, best in town by far.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beau59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    50
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
48
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RIngwood, Hants.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We booked this hotel because we were going to see the Shuttleworth collection concert air show, which was wonderful, by the way.

We left the hotel with very mixed feelings. When we arrived, there was no-one on reception, and it took several spates of ringing and a determined walkabout to get any assistance. The room was clean but basic, with a plastic shower that was fixed and too short for me at 5' 8, let alone my 6'2 husband, there wasn't any ordinary coffee, only decaffeinated. However, the room was light, large and adequate.

The dining room was quite pleasant. The menu was ok, with items like roast pork, rissotto, pasta, fish and chips, steak. I didn't see one item that I don't cook at home. However, when it came, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cooking, for example, my mushroom risotto had a medley of different mushrooms and a lovely salad with it.

In the morning, when we went in to breakfast, not one free table was laid up, and all were covered with dirty plates where people had been eating. It took a couple of minutes standing there before we just sat at a table,and eventually someone came to serve us. We were half way through our cereals when another waitress asked us to move - we didn't, but another poor man who was asked at the same time obliged, and went mid mouthful, trailing his coffee pot, cereal et al. I couldn't see any reason for the move beyond everyone beeing crammed into a tiny section of the smallish dining room. However, when asked for more coffee (the coffee brought to us was stone cold), the staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful, and then only brought hot milk for one. It could be that they were unusually busy with the air show and couldn't cope with the numbers, but I get the general feeling that no-one is in charge and that the staff havn't been trained at all, which is a shame because they were all lovely. The breakfast was hot, plentiful and well cooked.

We too couldn't park in the car park, but parked in the short stay park literally adjoining the hotel. One staff member said that she's been working six years with all the staff park there until 2 or 3 in the morning sometimes, without ever having been fined or locked in. We were fine.

Looking round Biggleswade, I should say that this is probably the best hotel there, and maybe I am expecting too much of a reasonable hotel, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodwalkerMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed her for one night for a birthday celebration. Previously we stayed at the nearby Crown Hotel (see seperate review) and I can safely say the Stratton House knocks spots off of it. Very friendly staff who made check in and check out effortless. There is a lovely bar area complete with an aray of Real Ales, the bar staff are very helpful and friendly. After normal trading hours the bar is closed to the public, yet remains open for hotel guests should you desire "afters". Rooms are newly refurbished and modern, and a nice bathroom complete with shower.
We didn't eat at the hotel and therefore cannot comment on the food.

Should we be in the area again, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SoulfulMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We were booked to stay at the Crown Hotel down the road, but after some farcical service there, we decided to stay at Stratton House instead (see my separate review of the Crown).

The rooms at Stratton House were great, the staff very friendly, and the food was lovely. The breakfast (included in the price) was particularly nice (and large).

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UkMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

This has to be one of the most helpful hotels I know. I stayed a couple of times recently whilst sorting out a funeral, accompanied by variable numbers of family members with awkward dietary needs and needing to be fed at odd times to fit in with trains, etc. Kim and her staff could not have made us feel more welcome, with a genuine concern that made a horrible time a lot easier.

With very little notice the kitchen staff laid on some of the best gluten-free and vegan food my lot can remember having at a hotel and all with no fuss. Somehow they had even managed to pop out and buy dairy-free margarine in time for breakfast. My family can be a pain to feed at the best of times and I am grateful that the Stratton House looked after us so well.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank buildmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This is a pub/restaurant/hotel that is very good in all areas. Real ale is available at the bar and the food is of a good standard for such establishments. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. It isn't cheap but the accomodation is very good.

My only complaint would be that the car park is a little but small but you should be able to find alternative parking enarby if that is a problem.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonDaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Just returned from a stay at the Stratton House Hotel, and it does everything it claims to do - comfortable room, friendly, prompt service, and even accomodated us with breakfast an hour earlier on a sunday so we could get to a swimming gala - full english, cooked on demand - none of your cold croissants!
Bagan

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank tomtom22london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggleswade
7.7 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,823 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
12.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Property: Stratton House Hotel
Address: London Road, Biggleswade SG18 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Biggleswade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Biggleswade
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Stratton Hotel Biggleswade
Stratton House Hotel Biggleswade, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing